We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pirate Tours

Pirate Tours
Dock Maarten Marina | Juancho Yrausquin Blvd., Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
305-879-0941
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Departing from Dock Maarten Marina in Philipsburg, venture out into the beautiful Caribbean Sea and get scenic views of both the Dutch side (Sint Maarten) and French side of (Saint Maarten). Your trip begins by making its way past the Dutch side of the island, under the bridge and into the Simpson Bay Lagoon, the largest lagoon in the Caribbean. There you will see multi-million dollar yachts such as Victoria Secret's "Limitless" and the French Governor's family home. Exit the Lagoon on the French side of the island in the capital of Marigot and follow the coast line all the way to our first stop, "Tintamarre Island" where the myth of hidden treasures still exists. Explore Tintamarre, take beautiful photos as you walk along age old paths to see the historical slave walls built in the eighteen hundreds. Wander the pristine white sand beach while looking for hidden treasure; finders keepers...but don't tell anyone! The adventure continues with another gem only obtainable by boat, Pinel Island. Walk along this beautiful sand bar beach, sit down and relax in the crystal clear shallow water and have a drink. We'll treat you to lunch followed by the best snorkeling St.Martin has to offer! Get back in the boat and see the other side of the island where hidden behind the walls and gates of the French and Dutch Low Lands are the beautiful estate homes of the rich and famous. As the day winds down our last stop is at Sunset Beach Bar where you watch the planes come in overhead and then ride the oncoming waves of the Caribbean Sea back to Dock Maarten.
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I went on the Pirate Tour last week with Captain Tyrell. The tour was actually more than was advertised but that is only because of the captain we had running the show. Captain Tyrell gave us a full days worth of fun in just 6 hours. As the others said we cruised, we snorkeled, we drank, we ate a great lunch, snorkeled some more, cruised some more, saw hundreds of great land marks including La Samana, and then did what my wife will remember forever: Fed a huge school of Pampano in a most unusual way! I won't say anymore so as not to spoil it for others taking this tour but believe me it was outrageous! The value in having Captain Tyrell as your guide is the fact that this guy has lived in Sint Maarten for years and really know the island, its history, its physical makeup, and its people, and knows many of them personally. Pirates Tour is the island watertour to take and the one to take the next time you are in Sint Maarten.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    4
    1
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So rad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Went on the pirate tour last Thursday with 2 friends and my mom. We all had an amazing time! Captain Tyrell was so informative, told great stories and had a great sense of humor! He really made the tour an experience of a lifetime. He found a lost wedding ring at the bottom of the water....it was pretty incredible. We saw sea turtles, tons of beautiful fish and a couple of rogue iguanas chowing down on someone's lunch that they left in their bag on the beach! The coast guard showed up and decided to show off for us a little too! Haha...I highly recommend this tour to everyone. I promise that you will never forget it! The only regret we have was not getting a picture with all of us and Captain Tyrell. Guess that just gives us an excuse to go back!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We just returned from a cruise that included a stop in St. Maarten. However, the cruise did not offer anything close to this trip and we are so glad that we booked this independently. It was a full 6 hours out on the water with Capt Tyrell who was fun, knowledgeable about the island and gave us the ride of our lives on one of their 600hp fantastic speedboats! The tour included a lot of points of interest around both the Dutch and French sides of the island, a few snorkeling sites, a short beach break at the amazing Pinel Island, a great lunch at a Grand Case beach restaurant, a stop to feed the "pompano" fish while you are in the water......very cool but also soooo funny (sorry if I got the name of the fish wrong) and last but not least, stopped just off Sunset Beach where the planes come in to land right over your head! A HUGE thank you to Capt Tyrell for getting in the water and finding my wedding ring - I know I would not have found it myself! We will most definitely take another tour with Pirate Tours next time we are in St. Maarten and would highly recommend them to everyone! Thanks Capt Tyrell and Pirate Tours for an awesome day! See you next time!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“DO NOT MISS THIS!!! Best Tour We Have EVER Been On!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We cnanot express how amazing this tour is. We went to the dock in the morning and met the captain's of both boats. Both boats are large speed boast with quite a bit of engine power on the back of them. Our Captain was Jervais, and he was polite and wonderful, also really knew how to handle the boat. The boat held to perfect amount of people for a comfortable trip and we were on our way. They had great music playing, and had cold drinks all day!!! Yes they did include beer as well. We went to several private islands, swam with the turtles, hand lunch at Yellow Beach, went to another two island ans snorkled. It was truly a glorious day!! I cannot express how much you should go on this trip, DO NOT MISS THIS TOUR!!! IT'S THE BEST!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“August 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We took this tour on August 16, 2013. We had a fantastic time. It is a well timed tour that includes a great trip around the island with stops for snorkeling and side trips to the small islands. It is a great value and very relaxing. We will definitely do this again. I would recommend taking this tour early during your visit to the Island to get a good overview of the local history and the various beaches. We learned a lot from the Captain and crew.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate Tours also viewed

 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Pirate Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirate Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.