We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tamarind Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tamarind Hotel
Goldfinch Rd, Pt Blanche, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Philipsburg
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Had the pleasure of spending a wonderful seven days at the Tamarind Hotel this past June, 2013. Mr. Paul Ingram, Henne, Mary as well as the staff, made the stay comfortable and enjoyable. The grounds are well kept and maintained as if in a botanical garden with the flowers in full bloom upon my arrival. Rooms are clean compact and equipped with the essential needs to be able to cook for one self.

Paul has been working hard in upgrading the premises and they were renovating a couple of units while I was there, with new flooring as well as new electrical in the walls. The pool is maintained daily and is the hub of the complex being centrally located. While the hotel is not on one of the many beaches, it is withing walking distance to Philipsburg and the bay with a boardwalk and many of the wonderful restaurants serving fresh daily catches. One does not go to the islands to eat steak with all the great seafood available.

I had a rental car from ACE for about $120.00 for the week and spent about $40.00 on gas touring the whole island. It was small economy vehicle and I would not recommend anything larger due to roads and peoples driving habits on the island.

Will be returning in March of 2014 for a two week stay at the the Tamarind!
Janusz Janas, Austin, TX.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-5 did have some morning rooster activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
10
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We lived in SXM for 6 yrs. I spent the last month at the Tamarind with 3 children as a little vaca before leaving. My only regret is not doing it sooner.
It is a relaxed atmosphere. A real family place that didn't feel hotelish. More like a little community. We loved it. It is close enough to the action of town without being far enough away to have the peace.
The room was a 1 bed, basic but with everything you need. Clean and comfortable. The staff were easy going and helpful and friendly. My kids had a blast and loved having a pool. I can't think of anything negative. It was an awesome time. Thank you Tamarind staff for making our last month in SXM one we will never forget. Oner day we hope to be back and will be running to The Tamarind:)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just returned from a short break, 10 days, at The Tamarind, the booking was made at short notice and unfortunately the only room available was back onto the farm with the cockerel. However, this room, 12, must have better glazing than the others I've stayed in as I was not woken once by the cockerel. Barking dogs also seem to have lost their voices, even decided to use the balcony for a couple of really relaxing days, so peaceful. The improvement that Paul is putting in place are also making a difference. Hope to be back in St Maarten in November, and it will be to the Tamarind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here, due to an unexpected stay on St. Maarten, after our flight to Saba couldn't land there due to dangerous wind conditions. With the Regatta in town, we couldn't stay nearer the airport but we were very happy with this hotel. Small room with an even smaller bathroom, but also kitchenette, and everything was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. The grounds looked beautiful, but we didn't have much time to enjoy them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My third year at the Tamarind in a 1bdrm apt on the ground floor with a basically equiped kitchen.Some units are owned by individuals who rent them on long term basis ..monthly or more, or short term. Best deal is monthly. A few of us return every year so it is great to visit with familiar people around the pool. It is a quiet place as there is no restaurant or bar on site. There are neighbourhood dogs that do bark & roosters that crow in the early morning. Some people use machines that make white noise to help them sleep.
It is 5min walk to the pier where the cruise ships dock & another 15 to downtown Philipsburg where there is shopping, restaurants, swimming, & casinos. As there are many beaches, restaurants, grocery stores renting a car is a good idea. The staff, Paul & Henny will suggest rental agencies. They are very helpful & welcoming as are the security staff. I always feel safe there so I had no concerns as I travelled solo this year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at the Tamarind Hotel for the 2nd time from mid Jan to mid Mar 2012 & willL return again in Feb 2013 because it is very affordable especially on long term basis. It is not on the water but is within walking distance to Philipsburg -shopping,restaurants,beach. Location makes exploring the island easy. The grounds surrounding the pool have many lush & beautiful bushes, flowers, & trees. Staff are friendly & helpful. The one bdrm I stay in has a street outside & is a little noisy with morning traffic but other wise is quiet. The unit has fridge, microwave, hot plate & kitchen essentials. There are laundry facilities on site. If you need action this is not the place for you as it is quiet & relaxing. Looking forward to returning in Feb.

Room Tip: if stairs are difficult ask for a ground floor unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

I stood there a week ago and I stood there in a couple of months ago.

And the room #22 I got this time didn't worth the $95.00 where as I paid the same price and got a spacious room #35 if I remembered correctly. Could barely turn around in the bathroom, no microwave.

That room was worth $75.00 and not $95.00.

I love the location and atmosphere but that room was a disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Hotel

Address: Goldfinch Rd, Pt Blanche, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tamarind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.