We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Keep Getting Better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tamarind Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tamarind Hotel
Goldfinch Rd, Pt Blanche, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Philipsburg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just Keep Getting Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just returned from a short break, 10 days, at The Tamarind, the booking was made at short notice and unfortunately the only room available was back onto the farm with the cockerel. However, this room, 12, must have better glazing than the others I've stayed in as I was not woken once by the cockerel. Barking dogs also seem to have lost their voices, even decided to use the balcony for a couple of really relaxing days, so peaceful. The improvement that Paul is putting in place are also making a difference. Hope to be back in St Maarten in November, and it will be to the Tamarind.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    12
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
10
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here, due to an unexpected stay on St. Maarten, after our flight to Saba couldn't land there due to dangerous wind conditions. With the Regatta in town, we couldn't stay nearer the airport but we were very happy with this hotel. Small room with an even smaller bathroom, but also kitchenette, and everything was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. The grounds looked beautiful, but we didn't have much time to enjoy them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My third year at the Tamarind in a 1bdrm apt on the ground floor with a basically equiped kitchen.Some units are owned by individuals who rent them on long term basis ..monthly or more, or short term. Best deal is monthly. A few of us return every year so it is great to visit with familiar people around the pool. It is a quiet place as there is no restaurant or bar on site. There are neighbourhood dogs that do bark & roosters that crow in the early morning. Some people use machines that make white noise to help them sleep.
It is 5min walk to the pier where the cruise ships dock & another 15 to downtown Philipsburg where there is shopping, restaurants, swimming, & casinos. As there are many beaches, restaurants, grocery stores renting a car is a good idea. The staff, Paul & Henny will suggest rental agencies. They are very helpful & welcoming as are the security staff. I always feel safe there so I had no concerns as I travelled solo this year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at the Tamarind Hotel for the 2nd time from mid Jan to mid Mar 2012 & willL return again in Feb 2013 because it is very affordable especially on long term basis. It is not on the water but is within walking distance to Philipsburg -shopping,restaurants,beach. Location makes exploring the island easy. The grounds surrounding the pool have many lush & beautiful bushes, flowers, & trees. Staff are friendly & helpful. The one bdrm I stay in has a street outside & is a little noisy with morning traffic but other wise is quiet. The unit has fridge, microwave, hot plate & kitchen essentials. There are laundry facilities on site. If you need action this is not the place for you as it is quiet & relaxing. Looking forward to returning in Feb.

Room Tip: if stairs are difficult ask for a ground floor unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

I stood there a week ago and I stood there in a couple of months ago.

And the room #22 I got this time didn't worth the $95.00 where as I paid the same price and got a spacious room #35 if I remembered correctly. Could barely turn around in the bathroom, no microwave.

That room was worth $75.00 and not $95.00.

I love the location and atmosphere but that room was a disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Girt, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Tamarind Hotel gave myself and my two daughters a central location on the island of St. Martin. Its location allowed us easy access to explore what the island offers. We chose different beaches. rain forest walks, sightseeing and restaurants that offered excellent food and variety.Shopping with two daughters was enjoyable even for me. With a car rental we chose different destinations to explore and enjoy. The Tamarind was our base and afforded us the comforts of home. The pool with a beautiful perimeter of flowering plants, trees and gardens with singing birds delivered to us a tropical environment to rest when tired and exhausted. Our room was clean, beds and furniture were new and comfortable. The staff works tirelessly and makes the Hotel a pleasant and affordable stay.
The best is the sun and relaxation and the comfort knowing that the grounds, our room and accomdations were pleasant, rewarding and reliable. The management at this hotel deserves the credit and all the improvements speak for themselves. Your happy guest Chris Agoliati.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmitsburg, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Tamarind Hotel during my Easter vacation from school. It was an amazing trip and simply beautiful. The location of the Tamarind Hotel was excellent. It is a simple walk into the main town. The swimming pool was excellent and I loved spending my afternoons lounging by it. The weather was magnificent the whole time and we never had a bad day. Sleeping was not a problem. The beds were very comfortable and made it simple for an easy night sleep. The employees were very hospitable and made the trip very enjoyable. If we had questions about the area they were able to guide us in the correct direction. I hope my family and I can spend another break at the Tamarind Hotel.

Amy, Mount St. Mary's University

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Hotel

Address: Goldfinch Rd, Pt Blanche, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 hotels in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tamarind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.