We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tamarind Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Tamarind Hotel
Goldfinch Rd, Pt Blanche, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Philipsburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

I stood there a week ago and I stood there in a couple of months ago.

And the room #22 I got this time didn't worth the $95.00 where as I paid the same price and got a spacious room #35 if I remembered correctly. Could barely turn around in the bathroom, no microwave.

That room was worth $75.00 and not $95.00.

I love the location and atmosphere but that room was a disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    11
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
9
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sea Girt, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Tamarind Hotel gave myself and my two daughters a central location on the island of St. Martin. Its location allowed us easy access to explore what the island offers. We chose different beaches. rain forest walks, sightseeing and restaurants that offered excellent food and variety.Shopping with two daughters was enjoyable even for me. With a car rental we chose different destinations to explore and enjoy. The Tamarind was our base and afforded us the comforts of home. The pool with a beautiful perimeter of flowering plants, trees and gardens with singing birds delivered to us a tropical environment to rest when tired and exhausted. Our room was clean, beds and furniture were new and comfortable. The staff works tirelessly and makes the Hotel a pleasant and affordable stay.
The best is the sun and relaxation and the comfort knowing that the grounds, our room and accomdations were pleasant, rewarding and reliable. The management at this hotel deserves the credit and all the improvements speak for themselves. Your happy guest Chris Agoliati.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmitsburg, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Tamarind Hotel during my Easter vacation from school. It was an amazing trip and simply beautiful. The location of the Tamarind Hotel was excellent. It is a simple walk into the main town. The swimming pool was excellent and I loved spending my afternoons lounging by it. The weather was magnificent the whole time and we never had a bad day. Sleeping was not a problem. The beds were very comfortable and made it simple for an easy night sleep. The employees were very hospitable and made the trip very enjoyable. If we had questions about the area they were able to guide us in the correct direction. I hope my family and I can spend another break at the Tamarind Hotel.

Amy, Mount St. Mary's University

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

If you are lucky, you get a room/apt with pool view. If you have less luck, you end up besides a rooster raising place. It is not to blame to the owners of the place, wich are very nice and helpfull. It is to blame to the inconsequent SXM government which do not allow roosterfights but allow to raise them on a small spot making it hardly to sleep in the second bedroom after 3o clock nighttime when more than 15 roosters start their morning concert.

The apt itself are clean but somehow rundown. A good thing is, that apt. are with their own parking lot. But be aware that the only road to the hotel can be blocked for hours. So if you are planing to use the rental car, you should ask if roads are open on arival and departure date. Otherwise you end up with a packed car, wich you can't leave alone for a second.

If it happend, that your car gets cleared, to not think, that police is doing any effort, even if stolen mobile phones are easily traceable.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, null, Netherlands Antilles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I stayed in the Tamarind Hotel for 6 weeks. Its a nice and cozy hotel, great for relaxing and enjoying the sun by the pool. The service was great and the rooms are cleaned properly. The ladies at the front desk were very friendly and helpful as well as the rest of the staff. An excellent hotel if you want to have a great vacation!

Keith

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The Tamarind is under new management which has resulted in many improvements- the grounds are improved with lots of new plants, trees and flowers, there is a handyman who lives on-site and responds to requests for any problems immediately- he works full-time, the apartments have been up-dated with new furniture where needed. The apartments are clean and well equiped, the staff friendly, the pool lovely. The prices are very reasonable. You are not on the beach so you really need to rent a car to get around the island.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper ask for an apt. away from the rosters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Our favore island St. Maarten. We go there at least once a year. recently our friends recommended Tamarind hotel for its great value. we stayed there few months ago and we had a great time. for the money you spend you get great return. the units are clean, stuff is very friendly, nice clean pool, and beautiful flowers everywhere. you can't get better place for what you paying for. we be back for sure. i would recommend Tamarind to all my friends .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tamarind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Hotel

Also Known As:
Tamarind Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg
Address: Goldfinch Rd, Pt Blanche, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Tamarind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.