We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real good value in SXM, but bad location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tamarind Hotel to your Saves list
Tamarind Hotel
Goldfinch Rd, Pt Blanche, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Philipsburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Real good value in SXM, but bad location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

If you are lucky, you get a room/apt with pool view. If you have less luck, you end up besides a rooster raising place. It is not to blame to the owners of the place, wich are very nice and helpfull. It is to blame to the inconsequent SXM government which do not allow roosterfights but allow to raise them on a small spot making it hardly to sleep in the second bedroom after 3o clock nighttime when more than 15 roosters start their morning concert.

The apt itself are clean but somehow rundown. A good thing is, that apt. are with their own parking lot. But be aware that the only road to the hotel can be blocked for hours. So if you are planing to use the rental car, you should ask if roads are open on arival and departure date. Otherwise you end up with a packed car, wich you can't leave alone for a second.

If it happend, that your car gets cleared, to not think, that police is doing any effort, even if stolen mobile phones are easily traceable.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul I, Manager at Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2015
In 2011 the current management company took over what was then a fading tamarind, now in 2015 the hotel as well as the area has so much more to offer, many rooms have been renovated and within 2 minutes walking distance there are now 3 supermarkets, within 10 minutes walk a Chinese restaurant and a very decent sea food orientated restaurant called Chesterfields. We consider the Tamarind to be in the higher end of the budget accommodation market. We are not pretending to be something we are not, what we offer is good decent, safe accommodation with free parking, free wifi, and 24hr desk and security. many of the apartments beside the chicken location have been fitted with hurricane proof windows which block out a lot of outside noise in 2015 we hope to complete all apartments with noise issues, so that this will no longer be an issue, we are always looking for new ways to improve our services and value customer feedback, both positive and negative.

Sincerely

Tamarind Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
15
11
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philipsburg, null, Netherlands Antilles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I stayed in the Tamarind Hotel for 6 weeks. Its a nice and cozy hotel, great for relaxing and enjoying the sun by the pool. The service was great and the rooms are cleaned properly. The ladies at the front desk were very friendly and helpful as well as the rest of the staff. An excellent hotel if you want to have a great vacation!

Keith

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The Tamarind is under new management which has resulted in many improvements- the grounds are improved with lots of new plants, trees and flowers, there is a handyman who lives on-site and responds to requests for any problems immediately- he works full-time, the apartments have been up-dated with new furniture where needed. The apartments are clean and well equiped, the staff friendly, the pool lovely. The prices are very reasonable. You are not on the beach so you really need to rent a car to get around the island.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper ask for an apt. away from the rosters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Our favore island St. Maarten. We go there at least once a year. recently our friends recommended Tamarind hotel for its great value. we stayed there few months ago and we had a great time. for the money you spend you get great return. the units are clean, stuff is very friendly, nice clean pool, and beautiful flowers everywhere. you can't get better place for what you paying for. we be back for sure. i would recommend Tamarind to all my friends .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I want to thank Paul Ingram and his wonderful staff for another great stay. We have been coming back to the the Tamarind for many many years and it's like visiting with family. A very comfortable and relaxing experience. Paul has recently taken over the management of the Tamarind and has been making significant improvements to the facilities. It's nice to see some TLC and updating being done to the grounds and units. We visit every February and it says something for the Tamarind that the friends we have made in past years are coming back again as well. I just got back yesterday and am missing my island family already... I am definitely looking forward to visiting again... B, London ON Canada

Room Tip: Basic, clean and friendly staff and management. The property behind the Tamarind raises fighting co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme, Connecticut, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had the pleasure of spending 8 days at the Tamarind Hotel and each day was nothing but fun from dawn to dusk. Every member of the staff we met where extremely pleasant and would gladly go out of their way to make our stay the best. Our room was very comfortable, immaculately clean and a pleasure to stay in. Paul, the managing director, has been lovingly upgrading the hotel and it is rapidly becoming something special. He is turning the grounds into botanical gardens with tropical plants to feast your eyes on. The Deli had excellent food to start off the day or enjoy for lunch. Each day we took the short walk into Phillipsburg to enjoy the boardwalk, beach and exceptional restaurants. We can't wait to return to St. Maarten and the Tamarind Hotel. We know it will once again be a very memorable vacation.
K and K, Old Lyme, CT

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed at the Tamarind for the month of January 2012. We had stayed for only one week last January. I can only use the comparison of two other properties we stayed at on St. Maarten for a month each time. We stayed at Great Bay Villas on Front St. twice and Ocean's on Front St. twice. I think the Tamarind is an older property but certainly taken care of properly. The unit we had was clean and neat. The price to stay a month with utilities was much less than anywhere else on the Dutch side. They have done much to make the grounds gardenlike since last year. The pool is very well maintained. The management staff is friendly and outgoing. If you are looking for new and luxury you probably will not be happy. Other reviews have mentioned roosters crowing, dogs barking, etc. The other properties we stayed at also had those island noises. Shut the windows in the bedroom and turn on the A/C.

Room Tip: All units are unique so hard to make recommendations on rooms. One-bedroom in front of building is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Hotel

Address: Goldfinch Rd, Pt Blanche, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Tamarind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.