We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservation not honored” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sea Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Sea Palace Hotel
Front St 147, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Philipsburg
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reservation not honored”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Inexplicably received an email informing me that the hotel was overbooked and they picked me as the one whose reservation they would not honor. As a "solution", they offered another hotel somewhere at twice the cost. Stay away from this place. Completely unethical.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We are very sorry and surprised to learn your reservation was not honored. We would like to understand exactly what occurred and would appreciate it if you could forward the particulars of your reservations (dates, booking source etc.) to kellert@defenderresorts.com. Please allow us the opportunity to determine the issue. We would also like to extend a special offer for future accommodations at the Sea Palace and will be happy to discuss that offer with you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    53
    32
    16
    16
See reviews for
27
55
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This place was ok, for the price. That's the good part. The Chinese restaurant is the worst I've ever been to and the owners are downright surly. This part of the island is dangerous after dark, so plan on staying inside. Day time is ok, but it's a dingy area. The boardwalk in front is deserted at night and most of the lights are out. Most of the open air restaurants are closed, but one can hear music and people in the dark inner spaces (scary). No place to park a car, so plan on walking through scary alleys if you rent one. The street in front of the hotel is a tourist strip for passengers from the ocean liners. At night It's scary also. 4-5 scummy legal brothels are nearby for locals and ship crews. All the violence one can expect goes on around them and is well documented. I'd never dream of coming to this hotel OR this part of the island again. If you feel you Must vacation on the island, stay inside one of the all inclusive resorts, just to stay safe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We are very sorry to see your opinion of Phillipsburg. The Sea Palace is one of in the largest cities in St. Maarten and it is rather metropolitan (by island standards). That means parking will be difficult. Most visitors staying in Phillipsburg rent cars for a couple of day trips because there is little parking. The cruise ships generally depart by dusk. And some of the shops and businesses close around 5. But there are many very nice restaurants open in the evening. Some of the open air restaurants on the boardwalk remain open until late in the evening and that depends upon the time of year, as one can expect from a tourist destination. The Sea Palace is privately held and some of our owners have come to the island annually for more than 20 years with confidence and enjoy the nightlife freely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I just returned from St. Maarten Sea Palace. The back of the hotel is right on the beach in Philipsburg. Why are you in the Caribbean?? I believe you are there for the weather, the water, the view, plus rest and relaxation. So overlook the room being below average. They have not been updated in years! They are renovating rooms now though. Lower floors seem to be updating first! Try to get a room on the lower levels.

As stated, I am not in the Caribbean for the room. I can live with the renovations. That said, THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO REASON WHY YOU HAVE A BED FROM THE 50’S. DAMN St. Maarten Sea Palace, FORGET THE RENOVATION AND BUY SOME BEDS!!!! Worst ever, like sleeping on a slab!!!

Minus the bed and that was a big minus. We enjoyed our stay and would return to the island again, though I would not stay there again until I hear the beds have been changed. LOL! The room itself was just okay, the water pressure could have been better.

Minus the bed! Do you think I liked the bed?? Minus the bed! The hotel is right on the beach, so you are one step away from the sand. The water was great, though I learned to swim on the New Jersey shore so the waves could have been bigger! There are plenty of places to eat and drink and we sampled several!!! The highlight was a restaurant called Chesterfields, which is on the opposite side of the beach, over the bridge near the yacht club. Listen, I don’t care what else you do, go to Chesterfields. The Rum Punch was the best/great! The food was very very good. Runner up and a must (do) is Dan's Chocolate Factory where we had chocolate martinis and chocolate shots in edible glasses, great!! There was no night life in Philipsburg at all. When the cruise ships leave, the place is shut down. If you're a party person, Philipsburg is not the spot. Taxi’s cost about $20 each way for basically anything else. Another highlight was Maho Beach, another must (do). It will speak for itself. Trust me!!!

Room Tip: Lower level rooms and ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your tips for the island and your stay at Sea Palace. We are very sorry that you weren’t a fan of the beds, but you were completely correct in your statement that we are renovating the resort extensively. By sharing your feedback it’s a great way for us to get to know from our valued guests what they are looking for as far as improvements. Since we are striving to rejuvenate our resort we will absolutely share your comments on the beds. Everyone at the resort and management has had your comments shared with them so that we can make your stay more enjoyable next time. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback as it is what we need to continue to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

As someone already said; not a Palace, but nice anyway..
After a room change we stayed in a 4th floor corner one bedroom apartment, which was large and clean. A wide balcony over Front Street, and a narrow balcony over the side alley. The location is perfect, the backside of the hotel right on the beach with reserved beds and umbrellas. Renovation was underway; good quality sliding doors had been installed to the balconies, and the outside was being painted. The interior of the rooms was somewhat dated, but otherwise fine.
The staff in the simple lobby was very helpful.
I would go there again...

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the beach side, having good balconies. Otherwise take one on Front Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your stay at Sea Palace! You are correct that we are renovating – our brand new sliding glass doors and windows were one of the things we are most excited about so we are thrilled to hear that you noticed and liked them! We hope to have you back in Sint Maarten at Sea Palace in the future! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from a week at St. Maarten Sea Palace. The hotel is right on busy Front Street in Philipsburg. As long as you're not expecting luxury accomodations, you will be alright. As others have said, the place is badly in need of renovation and you can clearly see that nothing has been done to it in years. Despite this, we enjoyed our weeks stay and would return to the island again, though would not stay here again until renovations have been completed, which could take years. The room itself was just okay... the worst thing was that the mattress was very uncomfortable. If the hotel would replace all the mattresses, that would go A LONG WAY in leaving a more favorable impression on its guests!! One thing I need on vacation is a comfortable nights sleep, and I did not get that at the Sea Palace. Another complaint is the water pressure in the shower. A must for me when on vacation is a nice relaxing shower every day. The water pressure at this hotel is terrible. Okay, now for the good... the hotel is right on the boardwalk so you walk right out to the beach. The water is absolutely perfect. No big waves, but not perfectly still either. Just the perfect amount of water movement (for me anyway!!) The water is clear and it was the perfect temperature, not too warm and not too cold. Lovely!! We enjoyed walking up and down the boardwalk seeing the sights every day. There were a good amount of places to eat and drink without having to venture too far away. A highlight was a restaurant called Chesterfields, which is on the opposite side of the boardwalk, over the bridge near the yacht club. Reasonable prices, great seafood, and the best Rum Punch I've ever had!! This place is a MUST try!! Another fun spot was Dan's Chocolate Factory, where we had chocolate martinis and chocolate shots in edible glasses. Excellent!! Taloula Mangos on the boardwalk is also excellent. One thing I must add is that the nightlife in Philipsburg is practically non-existent, so if you're a party person, this may not be the best place to stay. Everything shuts down around 10 pm and the boardwalk after that time is practically deserted. Don't know if that was only due to the time of year? Taxis cost about $20 each way to go to clubs, other beaches, anywhere really. Another highlight was Maho Beach, which is right near the airport so the airplanes fly in and out LOW, right over your head as you're sunbathing. Quite an experience!! Loved it. All in all the week was enjoyable. Go with an open mind and not too many expectations, and you will be content.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing all your feedback with us! We truly value the feedback and the time that you had to take away from your day to share your experience! As far as the renovations go, you are correct. Our resort was lacking some of the TLC it deserved and in 2013 we brought on a new management company and began the stages of completing extensive renovations – everything from the outside moving in is getting completely renovated over the next year. You mentioned the water pressure – that is an issue we have addressed by fixing the plumbing and getting all new bathroom fixtures.

We apologize that your stay with us fell within the time before our resort has been renovated, but we hope to have you back to stay with us again soon in our renovated resort! We also agree the planes are a great experience – thank you for sharing your travel tips for our future guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Sea Palace wasn't a luxury accomodation but it was very comfortable and perfect for our needs! The penthouse condo on the 7th floor easily accomodated all 6 of us. We had great views and plenty of space. The place was clean and while a bit dated, more than enough for us. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience! We are delighted to hear that it was a spacious and comfortable stay with us! We are in the process of renovating the entire resort so we hope that you have a return stay with us in the future when we promise you won’t feel that it is at all dated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Springs, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

please people do not go to sea palace just got back from 2 weeks of hell. we have been going st marrtin for 16 years abslutely the worst . room was never realy clean stove had to be replaced kepy getting shocked. noise from construction all day into night time .tv never worked properly.staff never very helpfull. no place safe to park your car. no laundry . no help finding one. PLEASE SPEND A FEW EXTRA DOLLARS STAY SOME WHERE ELSE . INTERVAL SHOULD STOP SELLING OR TALKING ABOUT THIS HELL HOLE.

Room Tip: do not go place sucks
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with the Sea Palace. We are currently under renovations that will make this the best of all resorts. We would like to extend an offer to return to the Sea Palace in the future. If you would be so kind as to send your reservation information to kellert@defenderresorts.com we would be more than happy to discuss accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Palace Hotel

Address: Front St 147, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Sea Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Palace Philipsburg
Hotel Sea Palace
Sea Palace Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.