We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sea Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Sea Palace Hotel
Front St 147, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Philipsburg
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Very dated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our room was at the front of the hotel and very noisy from the street below (Front Street) The hotel itself is in dire need of an update. Very dated, albeit kept clean. Friendly staff, but too many things were broken in our room to give it anymore than 2 stars, despite the front desk being told and a maintenance man appearing, nothing was a tally fixed. We'd to have the cistern lid off the toilet every time it was used to ensure we could reach in and ensure it refilled again. Also, shower was hit and miss. TV never worked the whole week. Handy location, just in need of a serious upgrade. Free wifi when it was working, albeit very slow.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Sea Palace. We apologize that you felt the resort was outdated – we couldn’t agree with you more – which is why it’s getting a complete upgrade! From the outside in we are remodeling the entire resort – including the plumbing that led to your shower issues. We hope that you will return and see the vast improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    60
    38
    19
    18
See reviews for
35
64
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just returned from a week's stay at the Sea Palace and had a great stay. The one bedroom accommodations had two full bathrooms plus a full well-stocked kitchen with all the things you would need including a blender, coffee maker, toaster, everything in great working order. The hotel is old/classic but all areas were kept clean and well-maintained. Joe, Lingbert, Calvin all will help you with whatever you need. Local buses were a quick 5 minute walk away. Always plenty of available chairs/umbrellas on the beach as well as beach towels. Great views from the balcony of the Bay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DefenderResorts, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your review! We are glad that you had an enjoyable vacation and hope that you will return in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Brilliant location! Sea view and balcony stunning.
Lots of space in units..... which we liked!
Bathrooms very old - but clean.

Communal areas - needs updating asap.

We did not like the fact that the resorts chairs was sold to cruise guests - especially on Christmas day.
We were bothered several times for our chairs ( by a rude and later that day a very drunk attendant). If one of us went to the apartment and the chair just "looks" empty (even if we left our resort towel on the chair) we were immediatlely confronted and the chair in dispute.
We could not leave our chairs....which is VERY UNFAIR to guests of the resort.
We felt that it was our privilege to come and go as we like.

Room Tip: We were in the penthouse and the view was absolutely magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our 2nd time here and we really enjoyed our stay. The place is old but very clean. The staff are wonderful and if you need anything, they are right there for you.

There is a Chinese restaurant there which ok. No pool but you are right on the beach and close to the restaurants. There is a bar right next door and the food is excellent. They are only open for breakfast and lunch. There is wi if if you need it in your room.
Greenhouse restaurant is down the street and food is excellent.
We would stay at the Sea Palace again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The staff was friendly, the place is a little old, but the room was clean, newer appliances. Right on the beach. They set up chairs and umbrellas every morning. Enjoyed sitting on the balcony over looking beach and watching the cruise ships come and go. Lots of shopping, alcohol and jewelry very inexpensive . I would go back again. If renting a car, rent a very small car, they don't have parking, but wasn't hard to find parking, let's just say was really glad we had a small car.

Room Tip: Any room facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Location is great near the middle of great bay at west end of the boardwalk in Philipsburg. Big rooms but get ocean view a couple of stories up. Parking is difficult to find. Rooms are spacious but generally average. Great place for families.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I just got back from St. Maarten and a week long stay at the Sea Palace in Philipsburg. We were given a condo overlooking the beach and it was the most amazing view! The beach along Great Bay is in my opinion the best strip of beach in St. Maarten. We spent a lot of time on our deck, because the view was so spectacular. We had a one bedroom condo that was a lock off. We kept the A/C on in this room and closed the curtains and slept better than we have in a very long time (super comfortable)! We had a rental car that was not the nicest car I have ever had, but ran fine. We had been told that parking near the Sea Palace was difficult. We however, did not experience any problems parking at any time. The condo's are older and a "little" run down (older TV and a few cracked tiles), but still very acceptable. All of the supplies we needed were in the condo. The location is ideal. Several restaurants and tons of shopping. The town is fairly quiet until a cruise ship comes in, then it's booming. I would highly recommend staying on the Dutch side. The French were not that friendly and they pay in Euros, not a good bang for the buck. The Dutch side uses US dollars and it's very simple to understand the exchange. Do bring cash because they prefer that and some places only take cash. PLEASE NOTE: if paying by credit card, they do not xxx out your credit card number, so we crossed out with a pen, part of the numbers for safety and everyone was fine with this. If you are going to a restaurant, NOTE: most of the restaurants will tack on an automatic 15% service fee, so keep a close eye on your bill. Some of the restaurants share this with the waiter and some don't so please ask. We tipped a few additional waiters that weren't given part of the fee. RENTAL CAR ADVICE: The people of St. Maarten are wild drivers. You will have mopeds, motorcycles and cars pass you from the left and right, so you need to be comprehensive while driving. Lot's of speed bumps. The roads are bad on the Dutch side, but improve on the French side. We found the people of St. Maarten to be really wonderful. We will be back again as soon as we can. We recommend the Sea Palace and the Restaurant in the Sea Palace (really good food). OVERALL EXPERIENCE WONDERFUL!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view... ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.4 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
0.4 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
2.9 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
#4 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
#4 of 15 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea View  Beach Hotel
Sea View Beach Hotel
#10 of 15 in Philipsburg
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Palace Hotel

Address: Front St 147, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sea Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Palace Philipsburg
Hotel Sea Palace
Sea Palace Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.