We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea View Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sea View Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Sea View Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Front Street #85C, P.O. Box 965, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast or Night!!
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Philipsburg
Goodyear, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great for the price and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is right along the boardwalk and the beach.
If you are not looking for a 5 + * hotel, this would be it. There are many choices for Restaurants within minutes of walking. My daughter and myself stayed here on a Scuba Diving Trip. Rooms are clean, air conditioned, the Breakfast is freshly cooked.
Again, don't look for a 5* place, this it is not, but they never pretend to be one either.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
11
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed at the seaview for three nights in a double room looking out at the bay,room was very nice ,very clean ,comfy clean bed and bathroom/shower large and clean.
good location in philipsburg as beach goes and shopping but at night the town is dead.
one minor problem ,I was on the second level where there was a table and chairs in the walkway
outside the rooms and people would sit there late at night and early in the morning talking loudly ,other than that i would stay again on my next trip to philipsburg.

Room Tip: room 60 was nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I could fairly give this a 1 star or a 5 star review, but 4 seems appropriate.
You enter through a simple narrow door from the street. The entire hotel is above a casino. The best way to get to the boardwalk/beach is to walk down the street from the front, then cut down an alley. They have a deal with the guy who rents beach chairs, so you don't have to pay the normal $8 or so they usually charge.
I didn't experience any problems with water pressure. However, my toilet did overflow. They had it fixed within an hour. Wifi is spotty in the rooms, but great in the lobby.
The room was simple, but nice, which is the way I like it. For reasons I can't explain, I got the best room in the house (at $90/night). Room 50: on a corner, with one window facing the beach and the other up the boardwalk. I left the windows open all night and listened to the surf (Philipsburg is pretty quiet once the cruise ships depart).
Holland House is a big step up, with a nice lobby, etc. - but it's 2.5 times as expensive.
I'm not sure which of the two I'll stay at next time, but this place was a great bargain.

Room Tip: Room 50 - corner facing the beach and boardwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here two nights--one before our cruise and another a week later. It is conveniently located with easy access to the beach, boardwalkand town. During the day it is noisy outside with people enjoying the beach and Caribbean music screaming from loudspeakers. By 6 pm the people are off the beach and by 9 pm the music is off. The $5 breakfast served in the morning is a good value. The bad is that the showers, particulary on the first stay, dribbled out warm water. There is no hair dryer (need to ask at the front desk), no shampoo, and no safe. We didn't use the TV or refrigerator. We paid $159 for each night for beach front but only got that one night. The second night we took an ocean view room so we could get into a room at their advertised check-in time. The beds aren't bad. Their are only 2 pillows. One room had bedside lights for reading and one room had only an overhead light. The ocean view rooms are down halls that can be noisy as other guests come and go from their rooms. On the other hand, our beach front room had someone sitting and talking at the table outside of our room early in the morning. The gate to the beach is locked about 6 pm. After that you need to walk down a dark side street to get to the front of the hotel. The hotel was clean. The front desk crew tried to be helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The building needs to be torn down and rebuilt. The bed was uncomfortable, the sink just dribbled lukewarm to cold water even though the faucet was open 100%. Same for the showwer. Our fridge didn't work and the staff did nothing when it was reported. We faced a wall with 20 AC units and was as loud as being on a tarmac. No safe, no shampoo, no ice. No threshold on the door became a concern when I saw what looked like rats running outside of the fence at the hotel. WiFi available in certain areas only. This hotel is appropriate for the Casino patrons who want to sleep it off - NOT for vacationers. Even though there was direct access to the beach and boardwalk, it is not worth staying there. There are others that provide the same access.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
196 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
493 helpful votes 493 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Located in zone where cruise ship passengers perambulate, Seaview fronts the beach, and provides guests beach chairs at no expense. Rooms are on second and third floors. Rates seem to vary, despite rate sheet taped up on cabinet behind desk, was quoted 69 usd (low season) for regular room and 75 usd for ocean view, a no brainer. Corner ocean view room at end of hallway where internet couldn't reach had windows with roll down metal covers, quiet sleeping condition as this place is a ghosttown after dark. Room was not especially big, bed springy, air conditioner pretty strong -- and don't turn it off unless you want to experience some strange smell. The place is old and although clean, no amount of scrubbing is going to get it looking or smelling good. Small TV, not the greatest picture, cable without premium channels. First impression of this hotel it appears old and rundown, but it is without real problems and the staff is helpful and a good location if this is where you need to be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castries, St. Lucia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed here from Nov 11-14, 2012.....the rooms at $75 per night in my opinion..only good if u just want to sleep and get out....but if you're also looking for comfort, the beachfront rooms are the way to go. I paid $87 per night but it is wayyy better than the cheaper rooms. They are more spacious and comfortable. The painting and layout is different. And of course, if you just want to relax on the balcony, you have a fabulous view to enjoy. Hearing the crashing of the waves at nights were the sweetest music to my ears. I am from the Caribbean myself and the beach is nothing new to me but these rooms are definitely the way to go. The hotel is right in the centre of everything but you are not disturbed by the noises on the streets from these rooms.

Dining is within close proximity, as well as shopping and of course, if you want to experience the French side of the island St. Martin , you can just hop on the public bus for a small fee of $2 and explore away. I loved these two islands and I will definitely be back! As for Seaview Hotel, that is my place to stay...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea View Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Beach Hotel

Address: Front Street #85C, P.O. Box 965, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea View Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea View Beach Hotel features beachfront rooms, which are all seconds away from a beautiful, white-sand beach, ocean view rooms and standard rooms, some of which give views of the capital, Philipsburg. The Hotel is located on the boardwalk in the heart of Philipsburg and is well-known for its world-renowned shopping, including many jewelry, souvenir and electronic stores. It is also within walking distance to four Casinos and many fabulous restaurants, fast-food outlets and the Cruise Ship Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sea View Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel And Casino
Seaview Hotel Philipsburg
Sea View Beach Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea View Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.