We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa to your Saves list
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Little Bay Rd, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
35% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Philipsburg
1 review
“wonderful vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

From the time we arrived we were greeted with a very friendly welcome. Although the resort was a bit smaller than what we were use to, it happened to work to our advantage. We met some wonderful people and the staff was always available to add that special touch. We were provided with whatever we needed. Vicky, Innocent and Alexandre were the first members of the staff to greet us. Vicky with her lovely smile, Innocent with a very special champagne toast and "WELCOME" and Alexandre who escorted us to our room and offered his services for whatever we needed. Also, a special thanks to Florita
who never missed a beat; she works hard to make sure everything is just right, Wendy who greeted us every morning with a beautiful, glowing smile, adding that special ray of
sunshine, Rolf and Cleopatra who made sure that we were truly satisfied during our stay and dear Ruby, who entertained us with his fantastic dancing, and made every bingo
game and spin the wheel a truly original and special experience. A sincere thanks to
every single person who made our vacation an unforgettable one. When it was time for
our vacation to end, we felt as if we were leaving behind a new found family. I hope we
can return very soon. Kudos for all that you do!

Room Tip: We stayed in an ocean view room, it was a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    1,007
    443
    222
    171
See reviews for
428
1,187
81
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (938)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived July 19 for seven days. Wonderful greeting, Food was great, the mayority of the employees were friendly. We got there around 3:00pm hungry went for quick lunch/pizza and we were served by this young ladies, long face, dirty uniform and not 2 many options at this time, after buffet is over.!! I wanted to leave:-(, but as days passed we got more familiar witht the place, lunch area, buffet, It got better.... Walking distance to shoping area and a beautiful pool. Italian dinner was average. Buffet was good. Bartender look very unhappy.....
Although there are a few things than can be improved, we had an amazing vacation and enjoyed our stay at this resort.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

wendy boyd - breakfast hostess
Antonia - house keeping
Vicky - reception
patricia - logo shop
florida, geneoci, rene, vera, modesta, mariza, and Pauline - evening hostesses
Michael - bar tender

we enjoyed our stay very much. we'll be back.

Room Tip: beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very friendly staff Ruby Geral Brianda Alex and Rolf always smiling.
Cleopatra thank you for theChampagne and Strawberries. Food was good
The resort was very clean . The whether was beautiful and so was the pool. We met a lot of nice people , will go back soon.

Room Tip: Higher floors great view
See more room tips
Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear HUBCUB121,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're pleased to see you had a nice time with us and that you enjoyed our friendly staff, clean resort and pool area. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Arrived July 15, for 5 days with large group. Beautiful resort, wonderful greeting, food average. Breakfast good, 1 omelet worker min-20 minute wait, hot tray food empty took forever to refill. Lunch buffet average, pizza and Hamburgers very good. Dinner Italian good, Buffet and BBQ less than average. Deserts terrible, every night same dried up hard cakes and pastries, and always ran out of ice cream. Bartenders look like they don't want to be there, and the service for drinks show, SLOOOWW. Always with an attitude. Pool bartenders the 2 little scrawny men, if your not a female with breast sticking out, good luck getting a drink. They're like dirty dogs in heat, unprofessional, how they act and sly comments as the girls walk away. Beach server was excellent, quick, and very respectful. Of course tips help, we all did tip the 1st day to all bartenders but after witnessing these animals so long to the Abraham Lincolns. Greeter at the lobby wonderful and helpful on all needs and taxi service. All the ladies are respectful and very helpful especially Pauline. Wonderful. Getting a pool towel GOOD LUCK, she is never there and if there, never towels. I even woke up early one day to get towel 8 am, no one to be found for 20 minutes, then you find someone and get the same saying "towels are drying". Did go to Sonesta by airport, and treatment there was terrible. Like if we were outsiders. Maybe by our wrist bands they're able to tell.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear gmoney310,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're glad to see you enjoyed your warm welcome to our resort, but are disappointed to see your time with us after was not a better one. We appreciate your valuable feedback and do hope you will come back to stay at one of our three Sonesta St. Maarten resorts in the future.

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a great vacation and enjoyed our stay at this resort. We liked that it was small, which meant it was easy to get around and you always had a great view of the ocean. The aspects of this resort that I liked the most are the location and surroundings, the beach and resort layout.

Location:
20 minute drive from the airport. 10 minute walk along the beach into Philipsburg.

Room:
Simple but clean. Provided plenty of clean towels but other items such as soap were never replaced. The shower was terrible. Very low water pressure and shower design (no tub) resulted in water all over the bathroom floor with each shower. The best part of the room was the amazing ocean view. Cleaning staff is very loud in the morning. Their extremely loud talking woke us up every morning.

Beach:
The beach area is not very big but it was easy to find chairs and an umbrella. The umbrellas were too close to each other which meant there was no space between sunbathers. Sand is white but made up of broken shells (I didn't mind). The water was a beautiful aqua blue and there was no seaweed. The water gets deep within the first few steps of going in.

Food:
Only one a-la-carte option each night. No reservations required. Food at Pescatore was good. Food in buffet restaurant was ok, with some nights better than others. We liked the BBQ nights. The food in the buffet is not refreshed frequently so food gets cold, fruit gets warm, grilled meat gets tough, etc. Although the food tastes good, the quality would be better if they refreshed it more often and if they gave you the option to wait for some items to be cooked in front of you, such as grilled meats.

Staff:
Some are extremely friendly (Pool/beach bar staff, entertainment staff, Alexander, Francette, Geral, Jerry, Oral, Akeem, Nigel, Ruby) and others act like you're bothering them (servers in the buffet restaurant, most of the wait staff). Being pleasant is part of the job when working in the service industry. The hotel managers were very nice and accommodating. It seemed they really wanted guests to enjoy themselves and be happy. There were a few instances where they went out of their way to ensure the staff accommodated us.

Entertainment
Evening entertainment is lacking compared to other resorts. In my opinion, karaoke and movie nights are not sufficient forms of entertainment at a resort. There were only a couple nights with a live band. Live dance shows would have been appreciated. Entertainment was over by 9:30-10:00. The hotel was dead at night (which might be due to it being lowing season) so we left the resort and went out for entertainment. Entertainment at the Sonesta Maho was much better and the hotel was livelier. There was not much happening at this resort in terms of daytime activities. The entertainment staff should do a better job of getting people to participate in activities. There was not even one game of beach volleyball throughout the whole week.

This review is intended to both assist travellers in making a decision about where to stay, as well as to give management some honest feedback. Although there are a few things than can be improved, we had an amazing vacation and enjoyed our stay at this resort.

Stayed July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda F, Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Bookworm2015,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We're glad to see you had a great vacation with us and that you highly enjoyed your time spent here. We hope to see you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel for a group. Kevin, the rep. for the hotel was amazing to work with. He came to one of our meetings before we left for our trip to go over some points with us. He kept in touch with me while I was at the hotel to make sure everything was going well. Thank you Kevin for everything you arranged for us. Everything went very well. It was a pleasure to work with you.

Check in was a breeze. We were greeted with champagne and cool towels. It was a nice way to start our vacation. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking to relax and enjoy a beautiful island. It's a great adults only all-inclusive resort.

Our group had a beautiful cocktail hour and dinner under the supervision of Cleopatra, the food and beverage manager. She was very delightful to work with. She was also able to arrange beautiful flower bouquets for us. Everyday she came over to us to make sure everything was okay. If there were any issues she took care of them right away. She was able to make a dinner reservation for our group at the Sonesta Maho Bay. Cleopatra can now take a vacation for all her hard work.

Rosalie, front desk manager, and her staff were very helpful. Rosalie is amazing. From the first time we met until the day we departed she was incredible. I can't thank her enough for working so hard with our group. Now you can take off some days. You deserve off.

My husband and I were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. We booked a couples massage prior to arrival with Jardin, spa manager. The first day we arrived we walked in to the Serenity Spa to meet Jardin. I have never met anyone with so much energy. She sang happy anniversary to us and did a dance. We had our massage the following day. Audie did mine and Jardin did my husbands. They were fabulous. Everyday we walked by the spa we said hello. I walked in one day and found out she was going to Sonesta Maho Bay for a few days. I was so upset because I never had a massage from her. So I was able to book one that day. The massage was fantastic. I left there so relaxed. Jardin, thank you again for everything you did for John and I.

Housekeeping was really good. Our room was always clean and always had towels. Our room was 429 which had a great view of the ocean. The shower could have been hotter.

The waitresses and waiters were very good. We had Wendy many times and she was very good. Everyone worked very hard. The restaurants were very good. We enjoyed the buffets and the famous pizza.

The entertainment was good. However, I would like to see some changes. I was not interested in movie night. Maybe there can be a show that night. Everyone on staff were great.

Bar areas were good. Most of the bartenders were very attentive. Some made you wait for drinks at the pool bar. At the beach and pool area we had a bartender name Oral who was great.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,324 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.5 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
#4 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
6.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 5 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Address: 19 Little Bay Rd, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.