We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Great Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Little Bay Rd, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free nights+$300 credit
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Philipsburg
Port of Spain, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great time at Great Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Just came back from a four day stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Resort and I must say that it exceeded my expectations! It was my birthday gift to my wife andby the end of the stay I felt a little guilty because I felt like I cheated because I enjoyed her gift as much as if not more than her..lol. We normally don't opt for all-inclusive packages because we love exploring new places and very rarely spend a lot of time at the hotel/resort but we both really needed to unwind after months of hard work so we decided to stay put a bit more on this trip-and we couldn't have chosen a better resort. Everything matched the photos on the website (which I've learnt the hard way is seldom the case) so it was the perfect combination placidity and excitement. When we wanted we were able to have some fun with all the daytime activities but if we wanted we could have just laid back and relaxed on the beautiful beach. The food was GREAT!! ( and my wife is a chef so her nod of approval isn't easy to get on food..lol). The staff was always friendly and helpful-special shout out to Gardenia and Mikey who really did their best to make sure we enjoyed our experience. Negatives?..yeah there were a couple though. 1) I was a bit disappointed with the Casino. It wasn't as extensive or fun as I expected, especially since I felt that they pushed that aspect of the resort. 2) we experienced a few electrical problems in our room (and the television channels kept going in and out, much to my wife's annoyance on Scandal Thursday..lol). but once we informed the staff about the electrical problems they sorted it out pretty quickly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank for taking the time to post your review regarding your vacation experience here at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We have taken note of your comments and have taken care of, or are making every effort to improve the negatives. We are happy that we made your wife's birthday a memorable one and we look forward to welcoming you back for another one.

kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    509
    785
    347
    200
    154
See reviews for
344
851
64
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (675)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chambly, Quebec, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Just came back from Sonesta Great Bay. This hotel is very well located, less than 10 minutes walk to Philipsburg. My room was clean with a great view of the cruse ships coming in the Great Bay. Also, the staff was awesome, specially Denroy who was so friendly and helpfull with us. I can wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting a review on your stay here at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I chose to stay at the Sonesta Great Bay in St. Maarten because of some great reviews I had read about this property. It was an all-inclusive resort, and we could not have asked for a better experience. A bartender named Claudine knew me on a first name basis on the first day as she immediately picked up on my Southern accent. I must say she has practiced and does a good job with her Southern accent :) She was very attentive to our needs. Another bartender, Michael, really enjoyed his job. The activities staff, Chantal, Edwin, Maria, David, and Chanella, were very helpful when I tried to access my boarding pass for the plane before I left there. In the spa, I found Karolyna to be a true professional and very well trained. I treated myself to a massage, and she did my nails as an anniversary treat before I went to the beach to perform our wedding vow renewal. The front desk staff, Vicky, Gardenia, and many others were very helpful making suggestions about island excursions and making sure our needs were met. I wish I could remember all of their names. One lady at the front desk was very knowledgable about the zip-lining excursion on Pic Paradis. Because of her tip, we went and did the X-treme zip line and had a blast. The food was top-notch, and was of a good variety every night. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the housekeeping staff made sure that our needs were met. All restaurant staff were timely in their service. Everywhere we went in this resort we were greeted with a warm "good morning" and "how can I help you today". This place would even put the nicest Southerner to shame :) The entertainment by the pool each night with the different bands, karyoke, and hermit crab race was very interesting. We are not talking about "if" we go back there, we are already talking "when" we are going back to Sonesta Great Bay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room overlooking the beach with the volleyball net and pool in our immediate view. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your vacation experience here at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. Our entire team will be delighted to see that you made mention of them by name. We appreciate all of your comments and look forward to welcoming back with us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently travelled to St Maarten for his birthday. We opted to stay at Sonesta Great Bay resort (one of only two all-inclusive on the island) because we had been told that it was more of a relaxing resort, with shopping nearby (if you want a party resort, stay at Maho). We could not have been happier with this resort. The atmosphere was comfortable and relaxed and really helped us relax.
The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, and unlike other vacation destinations it did not seem they were friendly only for a tip. Everyone we encountered was genuinely kind. There are a few staff members that certainly stood out to us for exceptional service. Look out for Maritza one of the bartenders (usually at the Lobby Bar), she's an excellent bartender! She always remembers your drink and serves it with a smile and sometimes a dance. Lovely lady. A few other people we felt we should mention we the animator staff. Particularly, the three girls (unfortunately I don't remember all of their names! Sorry guys!!), and Edwin. Edwin and the girls were all extremely helpful and always friendly. They even helped us find the perfect restaurant and made reservations for us for my boyfriend's birthday. We would certainly return if we knew that these same people would be working there.
Outside of the staff, we found the resort to be very clean and tidy. There seemed to always be a staff member here or there assuring that the resort was clean, from emptying ashtrays and collecting glasses to assuring there were clean towels in our room. We also had a few rain storms during our stay, but the staff always made sure that the decks were cleared and safe and that the entertainment continued despite the rain.
We had been concerned before leaving because the forecast was calling for rain or thunderstorms the entire week we were booked to stay at Great Bay. If this happens to you, don't fret! It may be overcast some of the time, but the rain doesn't last long, 20-30 minutes at the most! And generally, it rained over night. But believe me, the rain will not ruin your trip or your tan.
Overall, we were very impressed with the resort and the island itself. It's an absolutely beautiful place, full of friendly people. We recommend this resort! We went to relax and celebrate a birthday, and we did just that, but we also met some people we now call friends, some even family.

MAKE THIS RESORT A MUST VISIT!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth the money, garden view rooms look onto road/hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. I am so happy that all of your needs were met by our staff and we feel special that you now consider some family and for this cause you will return. We appreciate all of your comments and look forward to wecoming you back to your home away from home.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel was located far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Phillipsburg and close enough to walk to. The staff was wonderful, attentive and friendly. We visited Orient Beach and the sister hotel "Maho" and enjoyed those excursions. But you could just have stayed put and still have a wonderful time. Like one of the other commentators, I did ask for a mojito and was surprised you couldn't get it. Of course no problem though because you could get pretty much anything you wanted. Michael the bartender and Kim were wonderful but you couldn't single anyone out in the staff for any criticism. They were all wonderful, actually...aaaawesome!

Room Tip: Ocean side definitely so you could count the cruise ships each morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay here at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We have taken note of your comment about not having Mojitos and we have therefore implemented a "Mojito Monday", so when you return you can have it your way, all day Monday. We value your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Sonesta Great Bay for another awesome experience!

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our room was very nice with a great view of the cruse ships coming in . The staff was the best everyone was so friendly and helpful Mavis Delroy and David I wish that I could remember more names.the food was very good it had something for everyone !! I can't wait to go back..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. They are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back with us.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We checked in on October 31st, 2013 and stayed for a week. The sunwing rep Sansarry was incredible and friendly and helped us with some personal arrangements. The bar staff: Michael, Claudine and Kim were absolutely fantastic. They exemplified customer service and kept us smiling and relaxing with a drink in hand.

The front desk staff - Vicky, was incredible. The wait and kitchen staff also exemplified courteous professionalism in such a warm and welcoming manner.

Our room was clean and housekeeping did an incredible job keeping it that way. One staff member (I wish I could remember her name) even noticed an empty coke can and switched out the pepsi in the minifridge for coke for me - a small gesture that made my stay! I would highly recommend getting ocean view as when we compared it to another couple's room we met while on the resort - there was a marked difference in the comfort and views.

We were a short walk from the boardwalk that had plenty of shopping and restaurant opportunities as well as comfy local bars with entertainment a plenty. We favourited Lizzy's with the buckets of beer and the comfortable atmosphere.

My hubby and I also rented jet-ski's from a vendor just off the resort and they were fabulous to us. We spent time exploring and photographing the bay and the cruise ships and generally had a blast.

The food was fantastic and plentiful, the drinks were chilled and varied and I really can't say enough about how fabulous the staff were.

I loved the beach (shells and all) and thoroughly enjoyed the swim area that was clearly marked and made me feel safe.

My only critique would be the shape of the ladders at the lower pool with the swim up bar. Loose tiles and shifty ladders made for many a woe-some entry and exit but all in all - it was an incredible week.

We did enjoy a bus tour to Orient Beach, Marigot and to the sister resort, Maho Beach where we checked out the plane landings and spent an afternoon enjoying the food and drink there as well. The scenery was much more lush and the resort seemed grander but we were all happy to get back to Great Bay and enjoy our freedom to eat, drink and be merry.

Blue Beard Charters took us on the Sunday to Anguilla and where we indulged in another fabulous lunch, swimming and an absolutely mind-blowing experience at Bankie Banx Dune Preservation Bar in Rendezvous Bay. We danced, we indulged and we were even treated to a perform of Bankie himself. This trip was well worth the time and for me, was the true highlight of our trip.

We would definitely return again. Thank you all for contributing to such an incredible first timer's experience.

Room Tip: We absolutely recommend the ocean view. The view alone was fabulous but at night, the sound of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your vacation experience at the Sonest Great Bay Beach Resort. We appreciate and have taken note of all of your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Address: 19 Little Bay Rd, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 hotels in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.