We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa to your Saves list
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Little Bay Rd, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Butler Suite Sale-40%
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Philipsburg
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were part of the first group to come in after the main renovations were done. As a result, some things were not perfect in the facilities. However, you could tell the staff was doing its best to remediate this by being responsive to our issues and friendly (lot of smiling faces). Of note was the entertainment and kitchen staff. In the kitchen, great dishes were made to get us a taste of the island cuisine while still having items that were familiar (waffels, etc). For the entertainment staff (Denroy, David, Chantal, Edwin, etc), they did a fabulous job at having fun items to do during the day and events at night. From karaoke to dancing to giant Jenga by the pool, fun was the highlight. We look forward to seeing everyone again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your vacation experience here at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We appreciate all of your comments geared towards service and we truly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    935
    415
    215
    170
See reviews for
403
1,079
77
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (857)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

There is one reason for this hotel to stand out from most others: the staff. From management to wait staff to housekeepers to entertainment supervisors, the people were efficient, friendly and genuine. The only reason I didn't give it a five-star is that there is still some renovation to be done, but they're working on it, so I'm sure it will slip into that category soon. The front desk was not as efficient as everyone else, but perhaps the staff there is new (except for Vicky, who should be the model for the rest). Denroy was awesome for aquafit and a lot of other entertainment. Special mention to Angela, Mercillia, Kim, and manager Carl. We were there on an adult family vacation and had a wonderful, relaxing time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your vacation experience at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We have taken note of and appreciate all of your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We kept saying that every day - great vacation - this island has everything one is looking for - still quaint but with lot's options - night life - casinos - town - great food.

A group of 35 of us landed on this resort - I'm sure it's a little quieter now :)

We just loved everything - we were greeted at the lobby with champagne drinks which started off the week - it rained for a few days but so lovely and hot and the staff and this hotel made it so enjoyable.

We have to mention the great staff - the animators - Michael - so hospitable and made sure he paid specific attention to everyone he met - happy positive and upbeat and thanks for all the dancing Michael. Chantalle and her singing, she's a star - she and Michael together - great entertainment.

Michael at the buffet bar made his own Kryptonite drink - a must have - thanks Michael. Dorvanique greeted us with that beautiful smile every day at the buffet. Have any of the fish - swordfish and mahi mahi - yum.

Steven from the late night restaurant came out to the pool at 1 am and brought food for the swimmers :)

It was great to mingle with all the staff - Maria so lovely, Steven, Denroy - all made sure we had a great time and kept us informed of all the events.

Claudine and Owen kept us hydrated at the pool bar.

The hotel was lovey - clean - well maintained - 10 minute beach walk to shopping and our boardwalk bar - Ziggys - we drank, sang and danced while watching the cruise ships.

Memorable catamaran to Anguilla and Bankie Banx - awesome.

Best Hotel staff ever.
Thank you everyone - we will be back.

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time time to post your extensive review on your vacation experience at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We truly appreciate all of your comments and glad to know that we played a part in making your group trip a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I have just returned from the Great Bay beach resort and was extremely impressed by the new and improved resort.. The upgrades to the buffet were apparent. Every staff member went out of their way to ask us how our day was going and greeted us with a smile at every opportunity. The bar staff were wonderful and coming around to the beach chairs to take drink orders was a nice touch. All our meals were fabulous..both in the buffet and the a'la'carte restaurant. Perfect portion sizes and beautifully presented. There were too many friendly employees to mention but a special mention goes out to Gilberto at the beach grill.....he made our lunch there everyday a special event. All in all...this is a wonderful resort and would highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting your review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We appreciate all of your comments. Thank you for mentioning the staff as this is an encouragement for them to see their names going around the world. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was our first trip to St maartan,and it wont be our last . The Hotel is very niece and kept very clean, we stayed for 1 week with three other couples and all had a great time there is so much to see and do if you are inclined . The Hotel sits right on the beach with two pools over looking the ocean with a beautiful view of the mountains and the near by town,also a good view of all the cruise ships. The food is excellent and the hotel staff were great At the front desk thanks go out Vicky , its hard to remember all the names but a shout out to Andy, Giovanni, Alian, Alexandra,Mavis, Veronica,also the General manager Karl who was seen and available any time and he was every where.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. Thank you for mentioning so many of our staff, they will surely appreciate it. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We just returned from a fabulous weeks stay with a group of 34 friends. What a fantastic place! The location is stunning! The food was wonderful! The hotel is a little older, but any issues were so minor they were barely noticed! How can someone complain while sitting in paradise? We especially want to thank all the staff who made our stay so fantastic (and we mean ALL the staff even if we forget your names) - Marcia, Steven, Michael, and especially our friends at the swim up bar for taking such wonderful care of us! The nightly entertainment was great! And the short walk to Phillipsburg was enjoyed often (go to Lizzie's Beach Bar for a bucket of corona and live music). We also booked a private charter with Blue Beard Charters to Rendezvous Bay, Anguilla with a fantastic lunch and a once in a lifetime experience at Banky Banks Bar and Nature Preserve! Orient Beach is not to be missed either! We did spend an afternoon at Sonesta Maho and had a great time watching the planes, but we really preferred the Great Bay location. The view everyday from our oceanfront room was breathtaking! We absolutely loved it! Thanks to all the staff and management at this hotel!

Room Tip: Absolutely get oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your stay at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We appreciate all of your comments and we are extremely happy that we made your group stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Exactly a year after we traveled to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort and Casino, we were extremely pleased to go back again to the same place. As usual there was a warm welcome from the staff. There is a visual improvement in the resort such as fresh exterior paint, redecorated rooms with new mattresses. They haven't finished all the work they want to do but the place is much cleaner than before even though it was already really clean and people that serve you are more kind and friendlier. It is our third time there and we were already satisfied with the food selection, but now, WOW. There is so many choices and the food is tasty, it is really really good. We would like to thank our waitress Veronica and Virginia and the hostess Dorvanique - she never stopped smiling, she was more than kind to the people she served. To keep us happy and satisfy our thirstiness all week long a special thank to Micheal, Dustin, Jose and Owen. There is a good drink and beer selection at the hotel. If you ever have any problem with the service just ask for Marisa or Stanley, they will fix any of your problems. We would also like to thank Kim and Mauricio for their service on the beach. They brought us our drinks on the beach and they were really nice to talk with. Also during lunch time, you can enjoy Italian dishes at the Pizza Place, where Andy, Alain, Alexandra and Giovani prepare you very good Italian food, especially Pizza. At this place Jonathan is always there to serve you. He is quick, ready and happy to help you. Nothing can stop him. During the day and evening you will be entertained by the entertainment staff, specially Chantale, Maria and Denroy. We personally met and talked with the general manager, Karl B. He is very professional and patient. He will listen and will try his best to help you. He is open to comments and is willing to make some changes for the best. You can see that since he is in charge of the resort, their have been some great improvements and it is not finished yet. We would also like to thank everyone who made our stay there so special. We got to relax, there was nothing to complain about. We would really like to go back next year and see if the changes are going to be as we expect them to be. This is our real and objective opinion of the resort and we recommend it to everyone. See you next year!

Room Tip: Ocean view are the best. From the third floor and higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexlynch, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting your comments on your vacation experience here at the Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort. We are glad that you noticed the improvements to our facilities. Thanks for mentioning so many of our staff, this will motivate them even more. We have taken note of all your comments and appreciate every one of them. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Lynch
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Address: 19 Little Bay Rd, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.