We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Great location, Great value, great time!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Little Bay Rd, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off All Inclusive
Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Philipsburg
Stoney Creek, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place, Great location, Great value, great time!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Not luxurious, not the Ritz but can't say enough about this resort. It's not a 5 star hotel but the friendly and hard working staff will have you believing you're at a 5 star. They are very accommodating and anxious to please. The value for money is without question the best. Stayed at this hotel May 5-12th 2013. Never had a problem with the place "running out of booze." Having said that, there was one occasion where the pool bar ran out of a particular mix and although they didn't have it, the deck bar did. We had full bottle of gin & vodka in our room upon arrival and our fridge was stocked with beer & mix daily. (Well not daily but when it needed to be replenished....don't want y'all to think we are real boozers). Had the pleasure of meeting some other guests.....Dianne and her group (8). All were great people. Ralph, if you're reading this, you are married to a wonderful lady....a true gem!! Dianne, Thanks for your hospitality!!! B&C. Until next time!!! Carmen

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms a must!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,967 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    497
    773
    342
    201
    154
See reviews for
340
828
63
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

I got here yesterday with my 21 yr old niece to relax and chill. Very skeptical since my travel planner told me not to stay here. After reading reviews amd seeing so many positives of recent stays I said, oh well lets check it out.
Booked a jr suite ocean view all inclusive. Which is good if you are a college group or so.
Beware these jr suites are all at the very end of each floor.
Room so so it definitely needs a revamp or remodel. Specially the bathroom.
So we went to the beach. Ok but no one to serve you drinks. Maybe Im used to having waiters asking around. Not here but still ok. We got to the room at 2 (prior to the beach) and the room wasnt made up so we told the ladies at the front desk. Beach then back to the room at 4. Still nothing made up so we told the front desk again. They really couldnt care less. So theu said it would be taken care of. HA! They keep saying is that is low season and rooms are closed and cleaning people are sent home early.
Just got back in 8 pm. I told my niece that surely it would be done. Guess again. And the girls at thw front desk are like in la la land all they do is talk amongst themselves and it even seems to bother them when we ask for something.
The manager mr. Maccay extremely, nice and apologetic and trying to help out but in reality it seems they dont tell him whats going on. still have to wait to get the room clean.
This is only day 1!!!!!! God help us.
I wish I hadnt pre paid my stay cause I would be out of here in a flash!!!
Hey the mgr just came to tell us that our room was ready. He really is a hospitality person and knows what he's doing but his people are something else.

Please dont rent from budget! You'll get a 20 yr old car with 60k miles!!!!!'

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The resort was clean, however in need of updating or at the very least cleaning the grout. I found most of the staff friendly and helpful.
I was there in low season and not all the restaurants were open all the time. The food was decent with a fair selection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived May 5th, 8 people in our party and had a wonderful time from then right through until we left on May 12th. Three couples were on the 5th floor and 1 couple was on the 4th floor.Vicky at the front desk always smiling and helpful. To beautiful Rosalie, a big thank you. You are an angel. The food was good and there was lots of choices. Fresh hot pizza in the middle of the afternoon washed down with some cold beach drinks was the best. Charlene along with Virginia and June fussed over us each morning and lunch. And at night, we had the pleasure of Gilberto, Ruffino and Audrey looking after our every need. We had an ocean view room that was cleaned to perfection by Theodora everyday over the watchful eye of Patricia who always makes sure that the girls are doing everything right. The housekeeping ladies work really hard to keep the rooms spotless and do a great job. Destine our favorite bartender mixed up his specialty drinks for us along with Liz who is such fun behind the bar and so great with customers. The pool was cleaned every morning and the beach raked. You can always tell when Mr. Palmer is working as every lounge chair is perfectly lined up with all the others. He is one of the hardest workers on the property. Always lots of beach chairs and fresh towels.
The pool side BBQ on Monday and Wednesday was the best and thanks to Floreen and Florita for organizing it and making sure there was always fresh food being brought out. It is a lot of work by the staff to put all the tables and chairs out and then return them all at the end of the night. We thank you for all that hard work.
Although we have been coming to this hotel for many years, we did notice last year that things were going downhill quickly and were so pleased to see that in just 6 months many things had turned around for the better. Believe all the good reviews on this site and after the hotel's renovation in September it will be even better. Thank you to all the GREAT staff at Great Bay along with Karl and Mr. P for a wonderful week. We will see you and all the staff again in November.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our family stayed at the Great Bay Sonesta during March Break 2013.

PROS-We got a GREAT DEAL from Sunwing-so even the little things didn't bother us because we paid a very fair and reasonable price.
-Great Beach, Beautiful pools, many shaded sun loungers-and I never had to fight for a spot, great food, and great variety, great drinks and plentiful, grounds were neat and tidy, sound proof rooms (at least we didn't hear anyone), great cleaning staff, close to Phillipsburg (10 min walk), very nice manager Cleopatra, who made us feel like family, not over the top activities, but enough if you wanted to participate, kids playground, great large chess set, hotel was small enough to see the same people and make good friends and mingle with a variety of people, the little snack stand with cookies and apples!

CONS-Although the food was great, we were disappointed with the desserts. We would have loved ice cream, popsicles, and above all just fresh fruit. The front desk was the most unpleasant of the hotel staff. On our last day, we were 3 minutes late coming down the elevator and the van to the airport had already left, and we had to pay for a taxi. It wasn't the nicest way to end a holiday. Last but not least, I found the hotel could do a better job at recycling. Every drink comes in a plastic cup. Some guests were smart to bring their own reusable mugs. I will do this next time. As a suggestion, guests could be given a Sonesta mug with their room number on the side or a different colour to identify their mug to re-fill their drinks. Guests could then keep them as a souvenir.

I would go back to this hotel again if the price was right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Sonesta Great Bay in April 2012 to celebrate our 45th anniversary. We were extremely disappointed. When we arrived home I wrote a review to Trip Advisor, as well as letters to Peter Sonnabend, Executive Chairman of the Board Sonesta Collection &
Juan Fernandez, General Manager Sonesta Great Bay. Pictures were
included to make my point. In June 2012 we were given a complimentary all inclusive two week return trip by Armando Pizzuti VP
Sonesta Hotels St. Maarten. We took this vacation April18th to May2nd. What a difference!!!!
We were warmly greeted by the front desk. Our room was on the apartment side on the 4th floor. After a couple of days my husband found the walk to our room quite challenging due to medical issues over thw winter. Sonia Stokes, Executive Housekeeper arranged for us to move to room 356. Our room was perfect. She even sent us a chilled bottle of wine. What a nice touch.
We also would like to mention Rosalie Helliger who was helpful & always making sure the quests were happy.
The food was much improved. We enjoyed all our meals, and this time the chef would make adjustments for food allergies etc.. Our dining experience was enhanced by all the free hugs from Floreen Hernandez, Food & Beverage Supervisor, the ever smiling service of Dawn Morgan at Molasses, & the attention of Audrey Noble in the Italian Restaurant.
We had the opportunity to meet Karl Bourne, the new Hotel Manager. It
appears that he has already made quite a few welcome changes. It was nice to hear that over the next three years they will be modernizing the hotel.
The always happy Edrick, bell boy, is a great role model for what customer service is all about. He always seems to be aware if a guest is in need of help. He immediately tries to help whether it is his job or not.
One very hot afternoon we walked into town and returned with very heavy bags. He noticed right away, had us sit down, and brought us cold water.
We had a great time and would certainly come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great Bay: Day visit – friendly staff, plenty of beach chairs to soak up the sun. I didn’t eat here, but had a couple beers at the bar ($3.50 each). The Animators are fun as always. Denroy especially, really engaging & fun. Always getting the guest involved with all kinds of activities like Bingo, Beach Volleyball and his Aqua Fitness class is amazing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Address: 19 Little Bay Rd, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.