We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little property to feel right at home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa to your Saves list
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Little Bay Rd, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Philipsburg
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great little property to feel right at home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Last November we had booked a week vacation in St-Marteen at the Sonesta Great Bay Resort. Before our stay I had written the hotel to find out about car rental services and excursions available. Rosalie, the Front Office manager wrote me back promptly and gave me all the information necessary. Also, we had special needs for our stay and she made sure that all was offered to us. If you need anything she is the one to talk to, she is amazing. When we got to the hotel, we were pleased with the general atmosphere. Very friendly personnel, very very clean hotel and what a view!! We had a deluxe ocean view room and it was perfect. The weather was sunny and warm all week. Service in the restaurant was professional and friendly. The animation staff was fun and made our stay that much more interesting. Kevin and Denroy were full of energy and very nice. Our bartender Michael was the best ever!!! What a great person, always has the nice comment to make you feel special. Make sure you talk to him about an island tour. the best on the island. Our only disappointment was that there was only 1 restaurant and 1 buffet. The restaurant offered the same menu every night and the buffet lacked in variety. We would have appreciated a little more fish dishes, and some variety in salads and entrees. We thank everyone for a great vacation and we will be back in November 2013.

Room Tip: Deluxe ocean view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    829
    359
    201
    159
See reviews for
363
917
68
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundas, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The location of this resort is fabulous - less than a 10 minute walk from downtown Philipsburg where there is so much to see and do. We also really enjoyed the smaller size of this resort as it was very easy to relax and rest.
The rooms are spacious and clean and we found the King size bed wonderfully comfortable to sleep in.
The food was great - always diverse and hot at the buffet. The a la carte restaurants were delicious as well.
The drinks here are also yummy - be sure to try the Chocolate Monkey!
Getting around the island is efficient and cheap - only $2 for a "bus" ride to the French Side.
Overall, we had a fantastic time and would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Sonesta Great Bay is an old hotel stench with mole. The ceiling are low, the air vent smell moley and the room entirely needs to be upgraded. Rosalie the front Supervisor and Edrick, the bellhop supervisor were the nicest staff there, along with one of the waiters who said he worked there for over 20 years. Everyone else seem tired and cranky, not very friendly. This property has one of the best views of Philipsburg but so in need of renovation. The liquor selection wer no frills and lack variety. The food was okay but not worth all- inclusive category. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. Sorry to say that Sonesta wouldn't get my business in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My sister and I stayed at The Sonesta Great Bay Resort from March 10-17th 2013. We had a fabulous trip. The place was clean and simple. The food was good and the buffet offered something for everyone. Many of the staff were very helpful! A special mention to Denroy who ran the aquafit class everyday. He was friendly, fun and very helpful. He also ran the morning
walk, which I had the pleasure to participate in one morning. He was knowledgeable, was willing to take and pose for photos and was just all around a nice person. He greeted people everyday and remembered their names. He is certainly in the right line of work. I would also like to mention the waitresses who served in both the buffet area and the Italian restaurant. They were efficient and friendly. The only complaint I have is the bartender in the main lobby. He was rude, unhelpful and made me feel like I was a pain in the neck everytime I ordered a drink. Apart from that I would definitely recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Choose a room up high and with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I cannot believe what we saw when we got to this so called hotel! Do not look at the photos online, they were taking 30 years ago at least. The place smells terrible, drunks all over the place, dirty, smells like dirty carpet and currie. I have the pictures to prove it!!!! The place is falling apart. The reception area and the rooms are disgusting. We left within 1 hour and book to the Westin Hotel which was AMAZING. The night manager at Sonesta told me what we experience happens a few times a week. People come in, see this dump and leave within the Island. Taxi driver and others at the Westin confirm the same experience as we did. Word of advice STAY away from Sonesta chain hotel, especially the one at Great Bay Beach Resort in St-Martin. Receptionist and other staff behind the counter were TOTAL idiots and we are now fighting the charge they put on our credit card with Amex.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I'm usually very prompt with my reviews but I was on the fence with this resort. I thought it was overall quite nice, but my husband thought it was just average. I'll write out the pros and cons here:
We flew out of Montreal, and we got the 7 day all-inclusive package with Mountainview for $2710. I was debating between the Mountainview and the Oceanview, but it was a significant price difference and I don't spend a lot of time in my room. However, this is one instance I would have reconsidered in hindsight. The rooms are the same, but the Mountainview is right beside the road and there are roosters crowing from 2:30 AM straight through 'til 10AM. We were fortunate to be on the top floor (7th) and in a room close to the elevators, as the ones further down the hall had a view of the garbage dump. Yes, a giant mound of garbage! If the options had said oceanview or dump view, I think more people would pay the extra cash!
Locationwise the resort was great, the beach was beautiful and we could walk to Philipsburg's main street. We also took the bus for $2/way to Marigot and Maho Beach for excursions on the cheap. It was safe and everyone was very friendly. We also walked to St. Martin zoo one day, which was about 25 minutes. Watching the cruise ships come in every morning was quite nice. I would wake up really early because of those noisy roosters, see the sun rise, go for a run and do yoga on the beach.
I was disappointed that the resort charged for internet ($16) when all the restaurants on the beach had free wifi. We got the code one day and went back to the restaurant whenever we needed to get our fix. There was little entertainment on the resort, and it was quite dead after 10pm. This wasn't a huge issue for us, but compared to the entertainment at resorts I paid $600 to go to, it was disappointing.
I enjoyed the food quite a lot, it was very Western oriented with breakfast items like french toast and pancakes. The a la carte restaurants were also good, but nothing to write home about. I LOVED the pizza but the service was so bad. They wouldn't open on time (once an hour late), the Italian chef would give priority to Italian guests and give them whole pizzas before putting out slices for those waiting in line longer. The pizza was authentic though, having been to Italy in 2012 and eating pizza for 2 weeks straight I can say it was up there with the best I've ever had. So wait v. delicious pizza? For me it was worth it, my husband did not agree.
All in all, it was a great time. We felt very relaxed after a week. We got crazy sunburned (wearing SPF 30!) but we didn't get sick or have any negative encounters. It was safe, and the right amount of culture and comfort.

Room Tip: Oceanview or ask for 7th floor closer to the elevator (702)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Enjoyed our peaceful vacation. The beach was beautiful water a little choppy, food excellent, service was great.Most employees always asked if enjoying our stay, a few could care less. The bartenders were great, Maritza a charm, makes best drinks. 10 minute walk from town by street or the entertaining beach/boardwalk. Enjoyed the view of ships from little sails to big giants from all cruise lines.Room clean, maid service great, no bathtub, bed uncomfortable, one sided. Rental car advised to see the Island and beautiful beaches Prepare for the crow of the rooster in am/pm.Edrick the Bellman most helpful great personality and smile. Yes I would return but might look into a beachfront rental. For money paid the hotel needs a little updating.

Room Tip: Request higher floor to avoid A/C unit noise. If can afford go for ocean view, my mountain view incl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa

Address: 19 Little Bay Rd, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa is a serene Caribbean haven - and St. Maarten’s premier, limitless all-inclusive, adults-only resort. Delivering a new level of sophistication and style, the elegant destination hotel is situated on a mile-long white-sand beach, overlooking Great Bay and the sparkling sea. With endless amenities and personalized service, the resort invites guests to unwind at three swimming pools, four restaurants, four bars, a spa and the Golden Casino for the ultimate vacation experience complimented by stellar service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort And Casino
St Martin Great Bay Hotel
Sonesta Philipsburg
Great Bay Beach Hotel
Philipsburg Sonesta
St Maarten Great Bay Hotel
Hotel Sonesta Great Bay Beach
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.