We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Divi Little Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Philipsburg
San Fernando, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Beautiful resort with panoramic view of the board walk with the cruise ships in port and of the open ocean. Very comfortable. Housekeeping left much to be desired as a shoe box was found underneath the bed. We were also kept up at night to the sounds of a dripping faucet. The grounds were well kept, but the access road to the fort Amsterdam on the adjacent property was un-kept

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    351
    358
    166
    95
    70
See reviews for
219
501
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We almost always travel in a group and this trip was no exception. We had a number of rooms and they were clean and up to date. Housekeeping could have been more responsive but the staff was friendly . The Infiniti pool maybe one of the most beautiful spot's in the Caribbean a specially at sunset. They also have a Concierge on site that helped us plan a private sailing to St Bart's which was the highlight of the trip. We will likely stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Remember this is also a timeshare resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our second group trip to the most beautiful location on the island! Not to far away from Phillipsburg. The facilities are very pretty and well maintained. There are several well maintained pools and restaurants. The beach is well maintained with water very clear, extremely nice swimming beach. The accommodations are pleasant, units on the Great Bay side has a wonderful view of cruise ships at port. We were all very pleased with the resort, staff, amenities and the rooms. The staff members were friendly, efficient and helpful. Good job team Divi Little Bay Beach Resort. Proud I am a timeshare owner with this resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a TimeShare so they do not necessarily have all the amenities of a 5 star hotel. I am am owner at Divi as is my Brother and my wife's Sister. We all can trade to other resorts but don't.

The facilities are very pretty and well maintained. The accommodations are great. From large, well furnished studios up to two bedroom apartments. There are several well maintained pools and restaurants. The facility is geared to guests who want to do some in-room meal preparations. For us, breakfast is always in room. Lunch is sometimes in room. We ate dinner on-site two or three times (not in-room) and the food was very good. The rest we sampled some of the islands many wonderful restaurants. But we certainly could have made dinner in-room if we wanted to very comfortably. . .

Expect to be pressured to attend a tour/sales pitch but toughen up and take it. The reward in the form of a free trip or other activity is worth it.

Rent a car and tour the island. There is not enough in the resort to keep me busy all week. And there is little that you can walk to. But there are many things to do and places to see on the island. Just the trip to the French side was a lot of fun.

The 'back' or Great Bay side of the peninsula that Little Bay sit on faces Philipsburg and the Cruise Port as did our unit. The cruise port is not terribly attractive but watching the comings and goings was an interesting diversion. It is far enough away that you can not hear it. Philipsburg is the nearest town. It is a Cruise Ship destination and the sidewalks roll up (figuratively) when the ships leave. If you accept it as the tourist trap that it is, it is very nice.

The beach, on the Little Bay side, is sheltered, calm and pleasant. Great for small children and 50-somethings like us. It was also great on my first visit when I was a 40-something. There is a decent snorkeling site nearby. The beach is uncrowded, spacious and calm. This is NOT a Spring Break hot-spot.

There is little on property entertainment. A Managers reception is about all. But the staff is professional. Divi must treat the good ones well because they are there every year.

As I read back through this I feel like I am not painting a very good picture. In fact I LOVE Little Bay. It is just what I want. I love getting out and exploring. I do not want crowds. I want a spacious comfortable and fully equipped room. I want to eat in a different restaurant every night, or just grab a beer and burger at the pool. I want peace and quite at 'home' but excitement not far away when I want it.

But I read the reviews and those that are disappointed sometimes did not understand what they were getting. Divi Little Bay does what it does very well. Just make sure that what it does is what you want. This is not the Marriott. It is not the Riu. It is not an All-Inclusive. It is not a Sandals. It is a 5-star Home-Away-From-Home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The place is really beautiful. We stopped here on a cruise and was looking into a timeshare but wasn't really interested, just wanted the free food and resort stay for the day because of a lady harassing as soon as we got off the water taxi. The food was good at Gizmo's and the water was really clear, could see my feet! But some of the employees need to fix their attitudes, that is all!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just recently returned from a wonderful trip the Divi's Little Bay resort in St Maarten. We were with a group of ten,and we were all very pleased with the resort,staff,amenities and the rooms. The staff members were so friendly,efficient and helpful. They were also very helpful in organizing our excursions to neighboring islands.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have traveled extensively throughout the world and by far this is the worst place I have stayed, Within 1 1/2 hour of being on the property, one of my hubcaps were stolen. When we got to our unit, it was not as promised. There was no oven, washer and dryer, sheets and blankets for the sofa, and the television did not work. The shower dripped continually and the floor tiles in the shower were coming up. When I took a shower, I cut my foot on one of the loose tiles. Additionally, the unit was overloaded with ants in the kitchen and eating area. When we went to the manager's office we were told that there was nothing that they could do to move us to another unit because the manager was not on duty and that we had to come back tomorrow and talk with her. My family was devastated but tried to keep our cool and went back the next day and were told that the manager would not be in that day and we would have to wait until the following day to talk to her. I called Interval International immediately and they moved me to different resort (The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina) which was one of the best resorts I ever stayed. Everyone was extremely nice and the resort was FIRST CLASS. When I got home I sent a letter to the Divi headquarters. The reply I received back seemed uncaring about the problem my family and I had and did nothing to make me want to go back to any Divi locations.

Room Tip: Pick one without ants and get the facility that you chose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Divi Little Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Address: Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Divi Little Bay Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Divi Little Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Little Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Maarten Divi Little Bay
Divi Little Bay Resort
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Divi Little Bay Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Little Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.