We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Divi Little Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Philipsburg
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Spent one night at Little Divi Philipsburg post-cruise, pre-flight in January 2013. Hotel is situated beautifully, with views of Philipsburg and ocean, and is a convenient stop between the cruise terminal and the airport. Room was nice, with picturesque view of ocean. Disappointment a result of ants in room (on baseboards and bathroom vanities), lack of hotwater until we called to complain, and attitude of staff. Got the impression that our requests (ie. hot water in the shower and towels for the beach) were an annoyance or an interuption to their day. There is a small market on site, but the prices are astronomical, even by St. Martin standards.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    381
    178
    97
    73
See reviews for
232
539
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I had been in a Divi resort 15 years ago in Aruba, liked it and thought I'd stay there in St. Maarten. Good choice. Hits: 1) lovely room looking out at cruise ships every morning and every night. Looked like a million Christmas trees sailing by in the gloom, beautiful. 2) terrific beach, quiet, clean crescent shaped, 3) large buffet at breakfast 4) coffee shop/ beer and provisions right in the middle of the resort with terrific breakfast sandwiches that were hot and huge, my wife and I split one almost every morning for $6, 5) activity lady was terrific, as were all the staff to us.
Misses:1) cleaning lady did a good job but didn't get to our room until late afternoon most days, 2) buffet was huge but costs $16 so $32 every morning doesn't work for me.

Room Tip: ger second floor in the middle, great views and convient
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

my 1st time in St.Maarten and Divi resorts as well. I really like the stay. Rooms were newly renovated. beautiful ocean view. beach is very quiet and clean. proximity of room to beach is unbelievable. staff is very friendly and accommodating.

minor con is that we did not have remove for TV and requested.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey Brook, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We went to Divi little bay 2 years ago it was a great experience, staff were very friendly the rooms were updated and large enough for the two of us the accommodations were top of the line which included an infinity pool . The one down side is the second hot tub it was disgusting and crowded . . A great but expensive feature was the on site liquor/supermarket which is good to get a few items that you may run out of. The marque restaurant on site has great food but pricey. Driving on St Martin was horrendous not enough direction signs, narrow streets and circles designed to confuse you even more. However once you learn to navigate the island it is a great experience I strongly recommend spending a lot of time on the French side, slightly more expensive but gives you a great taste of the French culture. The Dutch side is older more congested. The Resort is on the Dutch side but the roads to the French side are easily accessible from the Resort .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We are owners at the Divi and have been pleased with our purchase. The resort locaiton is excellent and the staff is very friendly. It does take a few calls to actually get someone to respond to request like more towels etc but all in all- it is certainly good enough.

My only complaint is if you do not reserve beach chairs in the am- you run the risk of being shut out by cruisers who come to use the beach for the day. Seabreeze Cafe has good lunches that are reasonable and the bars are very good as well.

The fitness center is heavily used and could use some additional equipment but all in all- very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband insisted we take a 2 week vacation and go to DIvi Little Bay, but I really didn't want to go because it was so close to Christmas (Dec.4 - 22). But, I must say, once we got there, I absolutely fell in love with the place. We checked in at the outdoor desk and the folks there were friendly and answered our questions, invited us to the orientation the next morning. The first studio we were brought to was not ready for occupancy, so the gentleman who had brought us and our luggage up 3 flights, called the desk and got us into an another studio in the next building. Admitedly, that was not a promising start, but when we got into the next studio, it was lovely. The place was clean, nicely decorated with a great view of Little Bay and the ships that passed by every morning and evening. The bathroom had a large whirlpool, and a separate a large shower. The kitchen, while not huge, had everything that we needed. The young lady, Veronica, who cleaned our studio was wonderful. We could not have asked for more. She even left us fresh flowers. The balcony was the entire width of the room with 4 chairs, a table and a recliner/lounge. The beautiful beach is a short and very scenic walk away. I know that there is no such thing as a "private" beach on the island, but this is as close to private as you can come. There were times when we were the only ones in that beautiful, clear water. There were always chairs and umbrellas available. Sitting at Gizmo's bar & grill with a drink in hand in the evening watching the cruise ships leaving the island was so relaxing that it became a nightly ritual. The pools were well maintained, and there are hot tubs at almost every building. We had rental a car, but who needs a car when paradise is right there. We did go to Orient Beach one day, but the crowds and constant stream of passing vendors made it a less than pleasant day. We walked into Philipsburg - not a bad walk, but wear good walking shoes, not sandals. Also worth mentioning is the security - a gated entry, and officers patrolling the grounds. Everyone, from the folks at the main desk, the sales people, the folks at the restaurants & bars, the many maintenance staff went out of their way to be friendly, polite and helpful. This was probably the most restful vacation I have ever had and I was truly sorry to see it end. For certain, we will be back next year for 2 weeks... maybe even 3 weeks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I are owners since '03. One week here, one week at another resort. We really like Divi. It is just what we want. The bad reviews seem to come from people that do not have island mentality. There will be sand in the pools, floors, all floors. It will be humid, with bugs. From time to time you will have to go to the front desk for soap and tp. When you check in it may take time, as there are many language's and needs all checking in around the same time. What is the hurry ? make a drink, go for a dip, sit at the beach and chill. The beach is great, snorkeling is good, well worth it. Rooms are fine & comfortable, 2 ice machines, daily papers if you need. We will be there spring '13. In my opinion, St.Maartin/St.Martin is perfect for adult couples, no place for young families. Long plane ride, hot airports, hot walks, a lot of adult activity and nobody wants/will change their trip for you.

Room Tip: Bring or by bug spray, use spf 30, rent a car,eat at beach bars. For day trips; ask Eugene, she real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Little Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Little Bay Beach Resort

Address: Little Bay Road, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Divi Little Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Divi Little Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Little Bay Beach Hotel Philipsburg
St Maarten Divi Little Bay
Divi Little Bay Resort
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Divi Little Bay Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Little Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.