We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Belair Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Belair Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Belair Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Little Bay Beach | P.O. Box 940, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Philipsburg
Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I was nervous about staying at the Belair after reading some of the reviews. However, I was happy with my stay. It is an older resort but very clean and the staff is very pleasant. If you are looking for a 5star resort, this is not the place for you. We had a two bedroom unit and the second bedroom is big enough. Many reviews stated it was extremely small, we found it to be fine. Every unit has an ocean view and with a great balcony. We did not encounter any mosquitos but there were ants. They do have bug spray in the room but we didn't use it. The ants weren't bad enough.

We didn't eat at the gingerbread cafe, just went for happy hour everyday from 4 - 6. You get assigned beach chairs and umbrella at the beginning of your stay. The AC in the unit is very good and the water pressure in the shower is excellent. The kitchen has enough items and they provide dish soap with a sponge. The beds are not comfortable and sheets are wore down.

Room Tip: Choose a higher level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoryevan, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are exactly as you wrote - an older resort but we take care of ourselves. Our staff cares, the majority having been here over 10 years and this makes a difference. We are steps to the beach and every suite has a balcony overlooking the beach. Besides the beach, our staff makes our hotel. They welcome everyone with a smile. We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    130
    46
    25
    12
See reviews for
108
101
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My family enjoyed our stay in St Maarten and the Belair Beach Hotel was one of the reasons. Our room, as with all the rooms at the hotel, faced the ocean which provided almost a constant warm and refreshing breeze. Room 314 was at the level where we can see over the coconut trees with an unobstructed view of the ocean and daily (early morning and afternoon/evening) passage of cruise ships - what a sight! The beach itself was uncrowded and loungers and umbrellas were reserved for us for our entire stay. We chose this hotel because it was reviewed as peaceful and quiet, away from the main strip in Philipsburg. The ocean waves were relatively calm and the water was clear. The Belair Beach Hotel shared the beach with the Divi Little Bay Resort right next door, where we also went for dinner one night and took scuba lessons at the Aqua Mania dive shop right on the beach.

Check-in was quick and efficient and I was pleasantly surprised that time-share sales and promotions were minimal in the form of a single reminder and suggestion to attend an 'orientation' on Monday. That was it! I enjoyed the laid-back atmosphere of the place and the friendly staff who were willing to help when you need it but who also knew or sensed when you simply wanted to relax. Great job!

I suggest renting a car to really appreciate the island and its many restaurants and beaches. We rented a car for a week from Starlite Car Rental who were based at the hotel. We initially communicated with Shanyra via email to get many details about the car, rates, etc and booked the car online and we were picked up at the airport and driven back to the hotel. A shoutout to Kevin for being very friendly and informative. When I actually picked up the car, I was upgraded to a bigger car because the size I had booked was unavailable - what a bonus! It's great to drive around to the busier areas in the island but it's always nice to come back to a peaceful 'home base'.

We ate at many restaurants in St Maarten but our favourites were Zee Best (for breakfast - heavenly crepes and croissants), Pineapple Pete's (lunch and dinner), Taloula Mango, Greenhouse in Phillipsburg, Carousel (gelato!!! and we were here almost daily).

When we return to St Maarten, we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and we stayed in room 314 - higher floors (3 and 4) give unobstructed view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoryevan, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Nice to hear you had a wonderful vacation. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at many places on St Martins. This spot was fine for near town, but poor for getting around the island. Better to stay closer to airport....much more to do, better eats, easier to get to French side. Food at little restaurant was fine on special nights, but just ok other times off the menu. Monday all you can eat BBQ was fantastic. Happy hour each day was great, as was servers at eatery. Rooms were very clean, ( second bedroom actually the size of a walk- in closet) and nice view as long as you are on 3rd or 4th floor. Second floor not bad, but try to get higher. Be careful of people on beach selling massages....a real rip-off. All in all, will be going back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoryevan, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed our resort. Our resort was meant for relaxing and soaking up the sun on the beach which is steps away. The Gingerbread Cafe is a happy place right on the beach but with over 300 restaurants on the island, from fast food to gourmet, everyone should try others. Our staff is waiting to give you a welcoming smile and hug on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Don't waste your time with this resort, we came home with a terrible case of BEDBUGS from this resort. When we confronted them, they said it was fleas. Well, if the fleas are that bad, they should have a sign posted stating that or post it on their website. The evening waitress at the Gingerbread Café didn't like us at all, she gave others great service but not us. We were just having a good time, well she had a problem with that I guess. Walk down the sidewalk to the next resort for great service and the restaurant over there has a great buffet every evening, much better food than the restaurant at Belarie Resort. DO NOT GO HERE.....YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoryevan, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
When you thought someone had stolen a ring from one of your purses and our General Manager found it, in the lining of the purse, you were quite happy. Why didn't you say something to him when he was there? It wasn't until you returned home that you reported the bed bugs. Upon checking our log book, you never complained once during your stay of bugs of any kind. This is the Caribbean and there are bugs of many types. On the lsiand, especially at sunset, a sand flea which is locally called noseems come out. We have signs posted to wash off the sand before coming into the building because you can bring them in this way or if you leave your balcony door open during sun set, they can come in. Since you didn't report this, I can only assume it was after your party was charged for breaking a lamp that you suddenly remembered. If there were bed bugs the next people who came in and used the room would have reported this but there were none. I have never heard of bed bugs on the island. As they say, "you can't please everyone" but we do try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The location of this hotel makes it one of our favorites when we go to St. Maarten. Besides the fact that every unit is a suite, has a balcony and faces the ocean, and is literally right on the beach, we love its location on the island. It's only 5 to 10 mintues to Phillipsburg in one direction, 5 minutes to the grocery store, and 10 minutes or so to Simpson Bay and all the activity that goes on along the strip there. If you've never been to St. Maarten, and you are American, some things you might also be happy to know is that everyone speaks English, you don't need to change your money to their currency because the US dollar is accepted everywhere, and they drive on the same side of the road as us. We've been to islands where NONE of that is true! The only reason I don't give The Belair 5 stars is because it's one of the older and more established resorts, and not one of the newer more modern and fancy ones you may want or expect. They keep the grounds very clean, staff is friendly, food in their 1 restaurant on the water is very good, and they have simple but fun things going on all week. Their bar-b-que night with the steel band was great when we were there. Little Divi Bay is absolutely beautiful. Watching all the ships come and go from their main port in Big Divi Bay is another enjoyable sight that you'll see all week. If you have a chance to stay here, I don't think you'd regret it. And if you do, enjoy!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoryevan, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We try to make our home, your home away from home. Look forward to seeing you on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Belair Beach Resort has a lot going for it: Located on Little Bay Beach, within walking distance to Phillipsburg, all ocean facing units, very private balconies, good restaurant, small but nice pool, reserved lounge chairs for your entire stay, well equipted kitchens, good air conditioning, good and pleasant service, and no sales pitches. Yes, the place is a bit dated and it is a time share condo place (which we were using) but we were very happy with our stay. The on site rental car and small general store (Jody's place) was handy. I would have given them a 5 star if the beach was worth it. The beach is "sandy" and has ferrous oxide (the black in black sand beaches) and a lot of silica too. I prefer pure white sand beaches derived from coral (they don't get hot in the sun). all that said, we'll return on our next trip to Saint Martins.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoryevan, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We are always happy when our guests go home happy and relaxed. The sand on the island is basically the same. The closest island that has the sand you are talking about is Anguilla. St. Maarten is centally located to many islands and you can take day trips there. Angulla is a great island to go to for the day (only a 20 minute ferry ride) and spend the day on Shoal Bay or Meades Bay. They are spectacular but you can't beat St. Maarten for shopping, touring, and of course EATING!! Have you tried one of our other 35 beaches?
See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I went here for our 35th anniversary. Hotel is conveniently located on the BEACH!
If you are looking for high end place, this isn't it. but its CLEAN, COMFORTABLE, FRIENDLY AND SAFE! The restaurant on site is great!
Lorna at the excursion desk is the best!
Staff is on duty and keeps stuff up and well kept.
We stayed on first floor and literally walked out onto the beach in ten steps. Can't beat that.
Beach chairs and umbrellas each day. Monday night there is a party with great gifts, drinks and food! Lots of folks we met there had been coming for many years.

We will definitely go here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoryevan, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
You've said it all! Thank you. We look forward to seeing you next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belair Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belair Beach Hotel

Address: Little Bay Beach | P.O. Box 940, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belair Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Belair Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Beach Philipsburg
Hotel Belair Beach
Belair Beach Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belair Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.