We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belair Beach Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 6 more sites!
Belair Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Little Bay Beach | P.O. Box 940, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Philipsburg
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at many places on St Martins. This spot was fine for near town, but poor for getting around the island. Better to stay closer to airport....much more to do, better eats, easier to get to French side. Food at little restaurant was fine on special nights, but just ok other times off the menu. Monday all you can eat BBQ was fantastic. Happy hour each day was great, as was servers at eatery. Rooms were very clean, ( second bedroom actually the size of a walk- in closet) and nice view as long as you are on 3rd or 4th floor. Second floor not bad, but try to get higher. Be careful of people on beach selling massages....a real rip-off. All in all, will be going back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoryevan, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed our resort. Our resort was meant for relaxing and soaking up the sun on the beach which is steps away. The Gingerbread Cafe is a happy place right on the beach but with over 300 restaurants on the island, from fast food to gourmet, everyone should try others. Our staff is waiting to give you a welcoming smile and hug on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    102
    39
    19
    9
See reviews for
83
79
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Don't waste your time with this resort, we came home with a terrible case of BEDBUGS from this resort. When we confronted them, they said it was fleas. Well, if the fleas are that bad, they should have a sign posted stating that or post it on their website. The evening waitress at the Gingerbread Café didn't like us at all, she gave others great service but not us. We were just having a good time, well she had a problem with that I guess. Walk down the sidewalk to the next resort for great service and the restaurant over there has a great buffet every evening, much better food than the restaurant at Belarie Resort. DO NOT GO HERE.....YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoryevan, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
When you thought someone had stolen a ring from one of your purses and our General Manager found it, in the lining of the purse, you were quite happy. Why didn't you say something to him when he was there? It wasn't until you returned home that you reported the bed bugs. Upon checking our log book, you never complained once during your stay of bugs of any kind. This is the Caribbean and there are bugs of many types. On the lsiand, especially at sunset, a sand flea which is locally called noseems come out. We have signs posted to wash off the sand before coming into the building because you can bring them in this way or if you leave your balcony door open during sun set, they can come in. Since you didn't report this, I can only assume it was after your party was charged for breaking a lamp that you suddenly remembered. If there were bed bugs the next people who came in and used the room would have reported this but there were none. I have never heard of bed bugs on the island. As they say, "you can't please everyone" but we do try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The location of this hotel makes it one of our favorites when we go to St. Maarten. Besides the fact that every unit is a suite, has a balcony and faces the ocean, and is literally right on the beach, we love its location on the island. It's only 5 to 10 mintues to Phillipsburg in one direction, 5 minutes to the grocery store, and 10 minutes or so to Simpson Bay and all the activity that goes on along the strip there. If you've never been to St. Maarten, and you are American, some things you might also be happy to know is that everyone speaks English, you don't need to change your money to their currency because the US dollar is accepted everywhere, and they drive on the same side of the road as us. We've been to islands where NONE of that is true! The only reason I don't give The Belair 5 stars is because it's one of the older and more established resorts, and not one of the newer more modern and fancy ones you may want or expect. They keep the grounds very clean, staff is friendly, food in their 1 restaurant on the water is very good, and they have simple but fun things going on all week. Their bar-b-que night with the steel band was great when we were there. Little Divi Bay is absolutely beautiful. Watching all the ships come and go from their main port in Big Divi Bay is another enjoyable sight that you'll see all week. If you have a chance to stay here, I don't think you'd regret it. And if you do, enjoy!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoryevan, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We try to make our home, your home away from home. Look forward to seeing you on your next vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Belair Beach Resort has a lot going for it: Located on Little Bay Beach, within walking distance to Phillipsburg, all ocean facing units, very private balconies, good restaurant, small but nice pool, reserved lounge chairs for your entire stay, well equipted kitchens, good air conditioning, good and pleasant service, and no sales pitches. Yes, the place is a bit dated and it is a time share condo place (which we were using) but we were very happy with our stay. The on site rental car and small general store (Jody's place) was handy. I would have given them a 5 star if the beach was worth it. The beach is "sandy" and has ferrous oxide (the black in black sand beaches) and a lot of silica too. I prefer pure white sand beaches derived from coral (they don't get hot in the sun). all that said, we'll return on our next trip to Saint Martins.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoryevan, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We are always happy when our guests go home happy and relaxed. The sand on the island is basically the same. The closest island that has the sand you are talking about is Anguilla. St. Maarten is centally located to many islands and you can take day trips there. Angulla is a great island to go to for the day (only a 20 minute ferry ride) and spend the day on Shoal Bay or Meades Bay. They are spectacular but you can't beat St. Maarten for shopping, touring, and of course EATING!! Have you tried one of our other 35 beaches?
See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I went here for our 35th anniversary. Hotel is conveniently located on the BEACH!
If you are looking for high end place, this isn't it. but its CLEAN, COMFORTABLE, FRIENDLY AND SAFE! The restaurant on site is great!
Lorna at the excursion desk is the best!
Staff is on duty and keeps stuff up and well kept.
We stayed on first floor and literally walked out onto the beach in ten steps. Can't beat that.
Beach chairs and umbrellas each day. Monday night there is a party with great gifts, drinks and food! Lots of folks we met there had been coming for many years.

We will definitely go here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoryevan, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
You've said it all! Thank you. We look forward to seeing you next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had been to the Belair Beach Hotel 10 years ago on our first tip to St. Martin. I guess our recollection of what it was like was as dated as the hotel.

Good things:
- Beautiful beach
- Excellent location, close to Phillipsburg, the airport, and the French side of the island
- The hotel was clean
- Good restaurant on site Gingerbread Café). Too bad the staff was indifferent AT BEST.

Bad Things:
- As I mentioned, we have been going to St. Martin for 10 years, and have never seen such an unfriendly staff.
- We had two bedrooms, unfortunately, the second bedroom wasn't even big enough to change your mind. Master bedroom was marginally adequate.
- Furnishings were the same as our first trip.

Room Tip: Not possible, all rooms are two bedroom "suites" with nothing to recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoryevan, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are constantly renovating, updating and improving our resort. The furniture and everything in the unit has definately been changed at least once, if not more, since you were here 10 years ago but we keep the Caribbean flavor in the furnishings and atmosphere so you might think that it is the same, but it is not. If this is dated then so be it! The size of apartment was the same as it was 10 years ago well as all apartments are the same size. We have been complimented many times on the friendliness of our staff but it goes both ways. Not everyone likes the same things We are glad you enjoyed the beach and the location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Friendly staff, great beach and the best bbq in St. Maarten on Monday nights. Hotel is not fancy but rooms are kept very clean. The housekeeping staff does a wonderful job keeping the rooms clean. Beach chairs are assigned at the beginning of your stay which is great. Large terraces which all face the ocean. It was a tough week but someone had to do it so why not us lol.
Looking forward to a couple of weeks at Belair again soon

Room Tip: Views are better on the second floor and above. The first floor goes right onto beach so in my opini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoryevan, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are so happy that you had a wonderful vacation. The majority of our staff have been here over 10 years and really care. That makes a world of difference.
We look forward to seeing you on your next vacation in St. Maarten.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belair Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belair Beach Hotel

Also Known As:
Belair Beach Philipsburg
Hotel Belair Beach
Belair Beach Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg
Address: Little Bay Beach | P.O. Box 940, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belair Beach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Belair Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belair Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Belair Beach Hotel to your Saves list