We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belair Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Belair Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Belair Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Little Bay Beach | P.O. Box 940, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Philipsburg
Burlington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you want total relaxation and a beautiful tropical island experience look no further than Belair Beach Hotel in Little Bay. The beach faces south so the weather is almost always exceptional and the cruise ships come in the mornings and leave in the evenings before your eyes in the distant horizon. The staff is friendly and helpful .We plan to return again very soon.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregoryevan, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff tries very hard to please everyone. They really care and this makes a difference. We are a laid back, easy going resort with relaxation and beach as the key words.

Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    118
    42
    22
    11
See reviews for
95
95
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Besides being probably one of the best beaches on the island, the hotel is actually quite charming. The fact that housekeeping washed our dishes everyday really helped my folks out.

Also, you are 'assigned' a chair for the duration of your stay is golden. You don't have to get up any earlier than others to get a good ocean view seat and your chair is brushed and ready when you get there

Their monday dinner is to die for!! They have a chicken and rib all you can eat buffet for $20. Chicken is very tasty but the ribs are PHENOMENAL

If you have a car you will easily have access to Philipsburg and the highway to Marigot. Sure the hotel look is a little retro but i even think they can now start playing on that.

I was a little disappointed in their 'wifi' because you always had to login even though there is supposed to be a setting that should remember your device. Also the bandwidth gets a little sketchy at times.

Finally, every room is an ocean view... so regardless of you being on the ground floor or the 4th floor you will always wake up to a close view of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford it... get a room on the ground floor. The experience is exponentially better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place is right on the beach and we loved that. They "assign" a chair to you for the week and we loved that. The hotel is in a good location on the Dutch side and close to the town. a little farther from the Airport area but we had a car so it was not a problem. We were on the second floor and the balcony had a nice view of the bay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just got back from St. Martin, we stayed at the hotel for 4 weeks, the apartments have 2 bedroom, 2 baths, kitchen, living room, dining room and a patio overlooking the beach and ocean. The staff are the best anywhere, great to deal with and could not do enough for us. The beach boys always had the chairs and towels ready every morning for us, did not have to ask. We had maid service every day and they did a great job, even put the dishes away for us if they where left out on the counter. The kitchen came with all the supplies you would need. The staff at the hotel where just great could not do enough for you. We will definitly return.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same can choose what floor you would like, we like the first floor easy to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week in November. I was a little disappointed when the cab pulled up in front because the property is an older property. The lobby seemed dark and dingy, but the clerk was bright and chipper. The staff was always extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was on the second floor and faced the beach as I think all of the rooms do. It was a very spacious and clean room. The bed was very comfortable and spacious. The bathrooms were very nice. While the property is an older property the interior was very well maintained. The kitchen had a full size friz, small stove, counter top oven and microwave. There is no dishwasher. There is an in room safe. There was always plenty of hot water and clean towels. The airconditioning worked very good. The view from our balcony was great and we were only a minute or two away from the beach and our designated beach chair for the week. The pool is small but why swim in a pool when you are ocean side. The beachfront restaurant had good basic food. It was not airconditioned. I would recomend a car if staying at this resort. If you don't have a car you need to cab everywhere you go.
We had a great time on this trip, but would choose a hotel closer to town the next time if we weren't going to rent a car again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Arranged for a Christmas family vacation. Put my daughter, son-in-law and grandaughter at the Belair, as they had two bedroom units available. After first night they came out of room and found dead rats on balcony. Cats roamed all over the hotel. Returned from the beach...no hot water for showers. Second day, still no hot water and the water from faucets was discolored. On Christmas Eve, my daughter came in tears, as there still was no hot water and the hairdryer didn't work either. We moved our family to our resort on Christmas day. When the manager was notified, our complaints were 'minimized' with comments such as "we have fields nearby, and can't avoid the rats...that is why we have the cats." When the water situation was mentioned, we were told, "we've been having water problems and we are still waiting for parts."

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

It's on the beach, all the suites are on the beach and its beautiful!
It's very clean and the furnishings are newer.
Each suite has 2 bathrooms and two bedrooms. WARNING- the second bedroom is small and has just a double bed in it. We put or double bed mattress on the deck and slept very comfortably and privately to the sound of crashing waves all night!
Wi-if was $35 for the week in the suite or you could pay for just a day.
The Staff is fantastic. They listen and act fast on the guests requests!
Rent a car and go exploring, the parking is very easy at the hotel.
The beach at the Belair is great. They keep it spotless and provide plenty of towels.
There is a mini-mart on site that has anything you might need.
The restaurant is good and the folks there are really great.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good! We were up on third floor, had a great view and loved the privacy our balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belair Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belair Beach Hotel

Address: Little Bay Beach | P.O. Box 940, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belair Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Belair Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Beach Philipsburg
Hotel Belair Beach
Belair Beach Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belair Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.