We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at the Belair” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belair Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Belair Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Belair Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Little Bay Beach | P.O. Box 940, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Philipsburg
East Northport, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great experience at the Belair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful week stay at the Belair Beach Hotel in Little Bay. The staff made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Our apartment was spacious with two bedrooms and a fantastic view of Little Bay (every place at the Belair has a view of Little Bay). The furnishings were comfortable, although a little dated. The apartment was immaculately kept by the housekeeping staff. With all of the sand that we trekked in after the beach each day, they were miracle workers! We both agreed that we would absolutely trade dated furnishings for this incredible location. We always felt safe and secure as there was security not only at the entrance gate, but also further down in the parking lot. Little Bay is a beautiful, quiet beach but is only a 5 minute drive or 15 minute walk into Philipsburg.

The Gingerbread Cafe, the restaurant/bar on site had delicious food and a great drink selection. Rufus and Dewayne, the bartenders were so friendly. Jody's Place, the store on site also had everything that you could possibly need if you forgot to pack something. And if they don't, there is a Grande Marche supermarket right down the road. A special note: Jody was so kind to take pictures of each guest at the hotel BBQ (where there was live entertainment and a wine and cheese reception as well) and print them as a souvenir. It was a really nice touch!

Lorna, who works at the activities desk was a joy! She helped us to navigate our way around the island. She recommended some fabulous places to eat and guided us to make the right choices as far as outings went for the week. Lorna was so helpful and is an asset to the Belair!

All in all, this resort is a great place if you'd like to take your family. We had a wonderful time and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    130
    46
    25
    12
See reviews for
108
101
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vista, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Great views. Clean rooms. Typical island feel so if you're looking for luxury go somewhere else. Off the beaten path is nice and this has a better island feel for us. Mellow bar / restuarant. Nice pool for the kids. Mostly familys and older crowd. Very quiet. Tips: check in with the towel attendant as soon as you check in because the chairs are marked for each room - this will get you a better location. Do the 2-4-1 Guavaberry coladas at happy hour - yummy. Snorkel to the east side by Divi and see the sunken helicopter and tanker under the floating tiki hut / red boat. Rent your car through Brinks (at the hotel) cause the cars are good & clean (no scams - just make sure you fill it up before you return). Close to the Le Grand Marche grocery store - go there for all kinds of yummy stuff you can't get in the states. Close to Philipsburg.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We just returned from a week long stay at the Belair Beach Hotel. We traded our RCI points for a very spacious 2 bedroom place with balcony facing the ocean. The staff was wonderful. Lorna helped me with all of my questions, months before I had even arrived. Once there she directed me to some great outings and experiences. Jody was also wonderful and took family photos of everyone in attendance at the beach BBQ, and then left the prints pinned to our door. The place was clean, the beach was beautiful and the staff was friendly and helpful.
Check out their car rental prices. we rented a 4 door wrangler with soft top for a price that was better than the quotes I got from Priceline etc. Try exploring the hills of StPetersburg.
Belair is the kind of place you go to if you like spending time with your wife and family. If you are looking to all run in different directions, this might not be your best choice. I highly recommend The Belair Beach Hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Sounds like my experience was very similar to everyone else's. When we checked in I was a little nervous just seeing the lobby as there is really nothing to it and as everyone said the hotel is a bit dated. The rooms while dated were very clean, our maid Tika, came in and it smelled like she bleached everything every day. We had first floor room and it was a plus, especially traveling with 3 children. The ocean and beach were 5 steps off our patio and we would have coffee on the beach each morning while watching the cruise ships coming into Philipsburg. The beach was beautiful and nowhere near as hectic or packed as the other beaches we visited while there which get overrun with cruise ships on a daily basis. When you get there reserve a chair with the towel hut and they will tag it for you for the week. Water was calm compared to other beaches as well. I really didn't think the staff was all that friendly and the servers in The Gingerbread Cafe are working on island time but it's really no different than anywhere else we visited. Eating out every night on the island can be very expensive, lunch one day for a family of 5 (1 pizza, burger, salad and 4 adult drinks was $120 on the French side at a beach bar). All the rooms have a toaster oven and 2 burners. Grocery store is a 5 minute drive but I have to say I always felt odd there especially with the baggers insisting on carrying whatever on had 30 feet out the door and then insisting on a tip.
As it is a timeshare a lot of people already know each other and it's almost like a family reunion watching them on the beach, also a bit of an older crowd. There really is nothing within walking distance of the hotel so a rental car will be helpful but if you are just going to Pburg the taxi will charge you $4 a person. You can walk to Pburg by cutting through the Divi (resort next door), it's about a 15 minute walk but not anything that you should do with young children in a stroller. Driving on the island was a bit hairy and you do drive through some rough areas but we never ran into any issues. Really did have a great experience at the Divi and I have to say while the staff seemed rude and time did start to grow on me towards the end of our week. I will be back and hopefully soon.
One last thing, the air conditioners in the room are VERY loud and made it difficult to sleep towards the start of the week. There might as well have been a jet engine in the room. Also the mosquitos were really bad the week we were there and while they supply citronella candles for the deck I would recommend bug spray. Screens on the sliding glass doors would have been nice to enjoy the evening weather while keep the bugs out and listen to the waves from inside.

Room Tip: First floor towards the Divi, no noise from the Gingerbread Cafe especially when they have entertain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Yes, Belair Beach hotel is old and looks old. Yes, hotel personnel is not too friendly, and no shampoo in the bathroom. Yes, the second bedroom is really small ... But the view from the room is so great; the beach and water are so welcoming, that you could forgive and forget all the shortcomings, as far as the price is acceptable. And you may need a car, because hotel is not in walking distance from anywhere.

Room Tip: do not worry: all the rooms have water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The views from this hotel are amazing. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had an amazing vacation at this lovely resort. The beach is quiet and you can find a great sandwich and cold beverage at the bar. It appears people return to this fabulous spot year after year. I can not wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is the 8 year visiting the island during the Heineken regatta. The ocean views are great and you can actually see the boat with full sails open. Simple kitchen, big balcony and quiet beach space making a great space for 4 people in the 2 bedroom unit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belair Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belair Beach Hotel

Address: Little Bay Beach | P.O. Box 940, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belair Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Belair Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Beach Philipsburg
Hotel Belair Beach
Belair Beach Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belair Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.