We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Small Beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dawn Beach

Dawn Beach
Dutch side of the Island, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 attractions in Philipsburg
Type: Beaches
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A popular tourist beach on the island's east coast.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Small Beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Small beach only two options for food and chairs. View of the Atlantic Ocean and St Barts. Easy to park and get to. Not many cruise ship visitors.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    71
    38
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Definitely NOT a snorkelling beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This beach was promoted online and in travel guides as a great snorkelling spot. We rented gear and when we got there the waves looked too big to allow for snorkeling (you'd be fighting the waves just to stay in one spot), and the water looked a little too cloudy. We tried it anyway and there wasn't anything to see and the visibility wasn't crystal clear. All we could see was some brownish seaweed on top of some rocks or dead coral. I saw two sea urchins and two small brown fish. Otherwise, the waves were fun to float in without snorkel gear, the beach was small and less crowded than other beaches (which is a plus in my book), and there was a beautiful view of large mansions on the hillsides behind the beach. Beach chairs were well priced, $5/chair plus an extra $1 for an umbrella.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice Beach.....lots of white sand.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I would say that this is among the best beaches to sit in the sun and enjoy the view! The Sand is white and clean. The Ocean on this side is a little rough. Go to the Westin and drive to the back past the entrance, There is plenty of parking in a lot close to the ocean. Use the swimming pool that has a swim up bar and enjoy your day. Food is reasonable.....no one there to charge you for the chairs. Bring a small cooler and enjoy the day or a few hours without a lot of hassles.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Windy Side”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Beach is beautiful but often windy. A nice place to take in the sunrise, and sip coffee and eat a croissant from the little mini mart on the docks. Parking is limited but you can usually find a space early in morning.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlps
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Snorkel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This beach was promoted as a snorkel spot. It was way too rough the week we were there to even consider it. I am a good swimmer and experienced snorkeller and could not go in the water.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawn Beach also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Dawn Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dawn Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dawn Beach to your Saves list