We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dawn Beach

Dawn Beach
Dutch side of the Island, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 attractions in Philipsburg
Type: Beaches
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A popular tourist beach on the island's east coast.
Mlps
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Snorkel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This beach was promoted as a snorkel spot. It was way too rough the week we were there to even consider it. I am a good swimmer and experienced snorkeller and could not go in the water.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    71
    42
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“dawn beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

smaller beach accees through beach bar, parking a issue, open to more waves and rough water makes swimming less than ideal for children, several larger resorts on beach, but was not crowded.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Nice beach, BUT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Dawn Beach is a beautiful beach. It is a great place to spend the afternoon or even the day. But, I have reservations about it. There are so many great beaches on St. Martin, that Dawn Beach doesn't make the top seven (enough for one a day for a week). The reason is that the only way to Dawn Beach is through the Westin Hotel. As you know by now, all beaches on St. Martin are open to the public. If you want to use Dawn Beach, you have to drive to the Westin and park in their parking lot, which is free. However, you can't get near the Westin without being stopped by people with pamphlets. They are selling time shares. They try to get you to sign up to hear the sales pitch for the time shares. These people start by pulling cars over to the side of the road on Oyster Pond road, even before you take the cutoff to the Westin, that is, to the Dutch side of Oyster Pond. When you enter the Westin site, another group of these time share sellers descend on your car. When you get to the parking lot, you may see as many as two dozen of them standing around.
I don't begrudge anyone trying to make a living. But to say that this is intrusive is putting it mildly. You can get through this crowd by just saying "No thank you" a number of times and by just keeping the car moving.
Because of this, I would recommend other beaches over Dawn Beach (Orient, Mullet, Bay Rouge, Gallion, Anse Marcel, and the list goes on.)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Pretty beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We struggled on what beach to go to and Im so glad we did this instead of Orient. We were ported here for a cruise. It was spendy to get there by taxi but it truly was beautiful and you can walk to the end with no people especiallly if you dont want a chair. Big waves for the kids to boogie board and rental equipment right there. I felt that the people selling stuff werent as pushy here. Waves were definately too big for small kids.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

On the Atlantic, but a wonderful beach. Whether at the Westin Resort or over at Oyster Pond and Mr. Busby's restaurant, this beach was beautiful.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawn Beach also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Dawn Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dawn Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.