We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the Guavaberry Colada!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sint Maarten Guavaberry Company

Sint Maarten Guavaberry Company
Front St, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
599 542 2965
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 46 Shopping in Philipsburg
Activities: Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in a historic 18th-century building, this company sells a rum-based drink that is very popular among the locals.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Get the Guavaberry Colada!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Not much to write about. It's a rum store. They have an assortment of flavored liqueurs and then the actual rum. I believe the flavors are mango, guavaberry, strawberry, orange...and something else. You can taste them all....except the tastes are served warm so none of them tasted that great.

I bought two bottles of mango, two of guavaberry, one rum, and a Rum + Guavaberry Liqueur mashup. I highly suggest the last one. But I would also suggest the guavaberry liqueur. It has a recipe for the Guavaberry Colada on the side and it's delicious!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    28
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Something different to bring home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Guavaberry is unlike anything else! We stopped for a sample and it was good. At the beach, we ordered chicken and it was so good, we asked what they use for a marinade and turns out it was this lovely guavaberry rum! Of course, we got 2 bottles to bring home - one rum and one liquor. It is SO good. Bring it back and it would make a nice gift!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Heard this was a must stop shop for cruisers.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Getting off a cruise ship, you can find a small Guavaberry stand right off the ship, or take the water taxi to town and their bigger store (which is still small), is on the main street. I wish I could remember prices, I know we bought a Colada for $6 in a souvenir cup. Also sampled both their guavaberry liqueur and guavaberry rum (which are different products! I thought the liquer was awful). We bought a bottle of the rum in a very pretty bottle, I think it was around $20, and also a bottle of their bbq sauce. They had lots of mini bottles including some sold in packages of 20 or so for souvenirs. They also had other flavored rums and 4 different bottled spice mixes. I wish I'd bought the Jerk Seasoning. The staff was okay - they seemed pretty bored except to watch over and make sure the crowds in the store weren't stealing anything. Overall, worth a quick stop.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“guavaberry rum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

went to St Maarten back in 2012 and had some Guavaberry rum and loved it, decided when I got back to uk to buy some....where from?? could not find it, went to St Maarten again in January, stuffed 3 bottles in my case....absolutely gorgeous, just need to find a nice guavaberry barbecue sauce recipe now.
got it from the factory

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Rum Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and Sister-inLaw went here to get a Guavaberry Colada and they enjoyed it and even got to keep the glass they came in. They said this is a must if you visit the area.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sint Maarten Guavaberry Company also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Sint Maarten Guavaberry Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sint Maarten Guavaberry Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.