We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sint Maarten Guavaberry Company

Sint Maarten Guavaberry Company
Front St, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
599 542 2965
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 43 Shopping in Philipsburg
Type: Shops, Shopping
Activities: Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in a historic 18th-century building, this company sells a rum-based drink that is very popular among the locals.
Monroe, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We want to plan a trip back to St Maarten just to get more Guavaberry rum! It really is that great, & the decorative bottles are great to bring back as gifts. They make some great drinks too :) make sure to stop here while here on a cruise!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    24
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apalachin, New York
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
150 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Tasty Liquor-Historic Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Well worth the stop. First the building is quaint to say the least and a Kodak moment site. Second free samples of the guava berry liquor resulted in my purchase of a bottle. One of the better tasting liquor's I have ever had and only available in St. Maarten-St. Martin. I think in one of my other reviews I got the Maarten-Martin mixed up. St. Maarten is Dutch and St. Martin is French.

Philipsburg which Guavaberry Company is located is a very scenic Caribbean island city and the Sint Maarten Guavaberry Company is right on the ocean front street.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had read about how the guavaberry liquer was special from St. Maarten. So, I knew I had to get some when docked via cruiseship. And it is awesome. Just wish I could have brought more back to the USA as they cannot ship to USA at this time. I also got their bbq sauce and it is wonderful. I bought a bunch of stuff in a hurry and they threw in a couple free t-shirts.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This is one fine liquor company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The free tasting samples really prompted me to buy some really good stuff. The hand painted liquor bottle are a beautiful keepsake. They pack them well so that one can carry them easily without the fear of breakage!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petionville, Haiti
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Grand Marnier St Martin's style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Guavaberry is a like the national liquor of Sint Maartin. Its taste (at least the bottle I bought) is very similar to the Grand Marnier. They will let you taste the different varieties they produce before you make your choice.
The main store is a tourist attraction by itself. All red and white with the typical original architectural style of the West Indies. It's next to the 'famous' international crossroad sign in Philipsburg.
They also usually have a kiosk close to the cruise ship dock in case the main store is closed

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sint Maarten Guavaberry Company also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Sint Maarten Guavaberry Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sint Maarten Guavaberry Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.