We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish, nice setting.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chesterfield's

Chesterfield's
Great Bay Marina, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
5423484
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 67 Restaurants in Philipsburg
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Moses Lake, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good fish, nice setting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I ordered Mahi Mahi and wife ordered Grouper. Fish was cooked just right and portions were generous. I wanted to order the Lobster Bisque as an appetizer and the waitress advised against it because the dinner was so big. She was right. Open area right by the beach. Nice setting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    156
    41
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philipsburg, null, Netherlands Antilles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Birthday night dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I celebrate my birthday in September so my husband took me out for dinner at Chester FIeld's with a few friends. It was the best I had in months. The food was very nice I enjoyed it to the max, the staff are very friendly and polite. The atmosphere was awesome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Maarten-St Martin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Special Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

went for my friend's birthday. the waitress was very friendly and attentive. dinner was really good. One of my friends had the lobster. It was presented nicely and was delicious. The rest of us had steak- that turned out good as well. Mine was a tad over cooked so next time i'll have it medium rear instead of medium. The frozen margaritas we had was to die for-delicious.
For desert we can't complain about the ice-cream that was served. The wait staff sang happy birthday for my friend. Nice touch! All in all they helped made the night a special one. The price for the dinner was reasonable as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Waterfront Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The location is at the marina and the view is very nice. The menu and service are good and the prices are reasonable. The service was good and the staff was very friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice Outdoor Seating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice outdoor lunch at Chesterfield's. The fried Calamari had a Heineken! Batter (There were rings only and no tentacles) The flavor was delicious, but the batter got soggy as it sat. I thought the Caesar Salad was very good. My husband had the Grilled Shrimp and Chicken with Sautéed Mushrooms and Onions. He thought it was good but not enough to order it again. Our friend had the Lobster Bisque and the Cheeseburger, both of which were good. His wife had the Lobster Bisque and the Fried Calamari.
Unfortunately, some of the wait staff had an attitude problem, but we did not let that ruin our day. The food was good but not outstanding. The waterfront setting was the high point of the meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesterfield's also viewed

 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Chesterfield's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesterfield's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.