We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.... This hotel just can't offer it!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of L'Esperance Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added L'Esperance Hotel to your Saves list
L'Esperance Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Tiger Road | Cay Hill, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Philipsburg
Gatineau, QC, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.... This hotel just can't offer it!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

My wife and I, along with three other couples spent the last two weeks of February 2010 at the L’Esperance Hotel. A work colleague of one of these couples had been at the hotel at least three times in the past and just loved it. We were told that this was not a fancy hotel, but, that we would be comfortable and close to the beaches, restaurants, grocery stores, pharmacy, shopping, etc. In addition, the reviews that I had read agreed with this statement.
Upon arriving from the airport, the check-in was quick and simple, but I noticed that there was nobody to help us with our luggage. There was only one young lady at the front desk to handle everything, no concierge or bell-boy.
We were given only one door key which was attached to a one-foot long thin piece of metal. We were told to leave the key at the front desk whenever we left the hotel. The front desk area is within a separate building located next to the hotel rooms and is open between 7:30 am and 11:00 pm only. If you return to the hotel after 11:00 pm, you must get your key from a security guard and get access to your room from a separate entrance. To unlock the door to our room, it took about four 360 degree turns to the left and then one-half turn to the right, to remove the key.
I became worried when I realized that there was no knob on the inside of the door to quickly lock or unlock the door. The key had to be left in the lock, from inside the room, to lock or unlock the door. I became even more worried when I couldn’t find any smoke detectors in our room. The fact that the rooms are smoke-free is no excuse for not having smoke detectors installed.
Here is a list of items that should have required attention from the staff: The light outside our door was burnt. The room is equipped with a small kitchen, but, the range hood was defective. There was no fan inside the bathroom. The metal bed frame was broken and was never replaced, even after numerous requests. The freezer section of our small refrigerator needed de-frosting; it took the maid two days to clean it out, so that we could freeze water again in the ice cube trays. The A/C unit was installed on a bedroom wall. The maid turned it off every day after cleaning the room, to save on energy. When we returned to the room late in the afternoon, the room was very warm. In addition, while cleaning the room, the maid left the door wide open and mosquitoes flew in. The room had to be sprayed to kill them. One of our lady friends had a bad reaction to mosquitoes/bug bites and had to be taken to the local hospital. I must admit that the rooms were kept fairly clean. The swimming pool was clean but we realized that the filtering system was activated only for a few hours during daytime. If we wanted to go for a swim during the evenings, dead bugs or small leaves were sometime floating on the surface.
Speaking of the hospital; it is located about two kilometres from the hotel. You can hear ambulance sirens at all hours of the day and night.
However, my worst complaint concerns the backup electric generator. It just happened to be located next to our bedroom window. At 2:00 am the first night, it started running... for two hours, while the power was out. It almost gave me a heart attack when it kicked in.
Other comments have to do with the front desk staff. Most of them are young ladies in their early 20’s or late teens. One of them even had her 6-year old daughter behind the desk, with her. No place for a child. I am used to staff that are somewhat more “mature” than that. Sometimes, they couldn’t answer our questions regarding the island or activities, etc.
The exterior of the hotel is nicely decorated with flowers and climbing plant, etc. Lots of colour. Huge humming birds can be seen flying around all day. A few nice little salamanders (small harmless lizards) can be found around the swimming pool area sometimes. Don’t scare them away, they eat bugs.
The hotel is located in what I would describe as a “poor” section of town. Roosters wake you up at 4:00 am and all the neighbours seem to own a few and chickens, too. There are no sidewalks on most of the streets around the hotel and a 10-minute walk to the nearest restaurant can be dangerous, especially at night.
Enough about the hotel. If it was located on a hillside out of town, it would be fantastic! The only good thing about it, is its low cost. Other than that, I cannot recommend it.. . Sorry.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
17
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

This is a hidden gem. I read about L'Esperance on trip advisor, and took a chance. I was not dissapointed.
We stayed at a beach front resort for the first week of our vacation, we wanted to extend our vacation for a few days so we started looking aroind. The daily rates at most beach front hotels are crazy, especially considering most people only sleep at the hotels and drive to the beaches during the days.
Upon our arrival at L'Esperance we were greated by Samanta with a big smaile and very courteous service. The hotel is clean and quite. This is a great place to stay if you want a clean, friendly and safe base camp on the island.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

I just came back from a one week stay at L'Esperance Hotel, it was my first time at this hotel and I was very pleased. The rooms are fine, nothing fancy, but very clean and functional... they are cleaned daily and the wonderful thing is that the maids don't ever knock on your door to come clean your room... the place is so small and quaint that they actually wait for you to leave to go into your room and clean. The overall service was great as well. The hotel is quiet small, and has a friendly and personal touch to it.

The hotel's location isn't the best in the sense that it's not directly on the beach, but the beach is only 5 minutes away if you have a car... and 10 by bus. I felt very safe, there is a security guard at night on the premessis. I would walk up to the main road daily (about a 7 minute walk)...where you can catch a bus to any part of the island, in addition to being a huge grocery store, and many restaurants.

Overall, this hotel is excellent when compared to what other hotels are cost. I would stay at L'Esperance hands down again, instead of paying triple the price for any of the resort hotels on the island. With that said, if you are looking to socialise, drink, have fun in the pool, meet tons of people, party, and the such, L'Ésperance is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a place to stay while you go explore the island, a clean, quiet and friendly place, L'Esperance is great.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guyana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

Ilove this hotel the people are friendly ,staff are helpfull,it clean,have a nice pool, and it have that tropical look to it, very quiet and relaxing.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Esperance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Esperance Hotel

Address: 4 Tiger Road | Cay Hill, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — L'Esperance Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will experience traditional Creole hospitality in their choice of 22 air-conditioned suites. Hotel L'Esperance is set just below rolling hills. Landscaped gardens, a sundeck and swimming pool invite guests to relax in the Caribbean sun. All suites are equipped with kitchenettes, cable television, and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your L'Esperance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Esperance Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Esperance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.