We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a little out of the way but central to most and a good deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Esperance Hotel

Save Saved
You added L'Esperance Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Esperance Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Tiger Road | Cay Hill, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Philipsburg
San Diego
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This is a little out of the way but central to most and a good deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have stayed here twice and each time it is worth it. Good internet, swimming pool, clean rooms, nice staff and very helpful. The owner is a sailor and has a race boat. it is close to the big grocery store and the price was always a good deal.

Room Tip: Further back away from traffic and if you need internet closer to the office for a better signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
16
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We chose L'Esperance for the price. We only needed a room for one night before our dive trip began and didn't want to spend money for more than just a comfortable night's sleep.

PROS:
very clean room
large, comfy bed
spacious living area with kitchen - refrigerator, microwave and stove
helpful front desk staff
beautiful outdoor areas kept immaculately clean (bring bug spray!)
pool
very quiet neighborhood
steps from grocery store

CONS:
no ice
AC barely cooled a very hot room (we are not big AC users and still were too warm)
no bar soap - bath gel only (not a major inconvenience)
no dish soap or sponge-type thing for cleaning dishes

Overall it was very nice for the low cost we paid and near enough to town to walk for groceries, drugstore necessities and restaurants.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so be prepared to lug your heavy dive gear or other luggage up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our first impression of the hotel was a little skewed, based on the fact that it took us some time to find it and the location seemed a little iffy. We knew we were not near a beach but this seemed to be in a residential area and most of the surrounding area was a little seedy. As it turned out, we loved it. The staff was friendly and accomodating.....found us a blender and a hair dryer as they promised. The pool was very nice and we mostly had it to ourselves....the only down side was that by late afternoon it was totally in the shade. We were walking distance to 2 grocery stores - Grand Marche and Econo - better options at GM and better prices at Econo. Also walked to a restaurant in the parking lot of the GM on our first night and altho the loc was odd, the staff was friendly and the food was good. The central location of this hotel made it perfect for us as we had a car and didn't plan to stay home much anyway. It was clean, roomy and well situated. My only complaint was that the internet service came and went like an irritating mosquito. Most of the other guest were European....Dutch and friendly, with good English abilities. I think one plus would be to add driving directions to their web site.....but the price was fantastic and we're glad we found it.

Room Tip: We were on the main floor - only 2 floors and maybe 14 rooms total - and that made it handy to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turner Valey, Alberta
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is located in a residential area which a lot of people haven't been to. However, it's not to tough to find. This was our 3rd visit to this lovely little gem. The owners and staff are amazing and very friendly. If you want to visit Sint Maarten on a budget and don't care if you aren't staying on a beach this is the place to stay. We alway rent a car to explore the island and don't go to the same beach every day so this hotel works great for us. The rooms are very, very clean and so comfortable. It's like a home away from home. We feel very secure here as well which is important on a vacation. I miss it already and can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

L'Esperance Hotel is a lovely place to stay when visiting St. Maarten. We went on a holiday to the island in October of this year and found that we had booked the right hotel for us since we prefer small-scale, homely places. We felt very much at home indeed because of the flowery patio with swimming pool and the rooms where you can sit and relax. Also, the owners of the hotel were really friendly.
Unfortunately, upon arrival there was a problem with the toilet in our room and because of that we couldn't check in right away. We were really tired because of the long flight and weren't too happy about this, also because it was unsure how long it would take for the toilet to be fixed. When we finally entered the room, the toilet was still not working properly - it was leaking (clean) water - and during our stay, despite the several attempts that were made to fix it, the toilet kept on leaking. The owners apologized extensively because this was indeed not the way it should be.
However, the room was kept very clean every day so the leakage didn't cause too much trouble. We very much liked the room because of the separate bedroom (with air-conditioning) and the small kitchen with refrigerator in the living area that made it possible to prepare simple dishes. Also, the television came in handy when a tropical storm hit the island and we couldn't do much for two days.
About the location: the hotel is situated in a quiet area and we knew beforehand that it wouldn't be close to a beach. Because we like to drive around during our holidays we had a rental car so that was not a problem for us. There are loads of stunning beaches on St. Maarten and because the island is small they're never too far away from the hotel.
All in all, we had a lovely stay. Hotel L'Esperance is a nice, homely and clean place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. It's off the beaten path, so a car is probably best to have. The room we had was great, small kitchen and a 2 bedroom right off the pool. The staff was friendly and efficient. Would stay again as it was priced just right too.

Room Tip: There are store close by to get groceries. We brought a few of our own things so we didn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saba, Caribisch Nederland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I stayed there with my family during a short low butget vacation. The hotel was very clean and modern. We had a flatscreen tv in our room. WIFI and cable box available. For the price we payed, it was the best low butget hotel. The location is not so convenience. It is a 10 min walk to Gran marche where you can buy fastfood or catch a bus to town. The best is to rent a car. The neighborhood is not so nice, but for me that was not important. The hotel was very safe and during night time the was a security guy. There was a pool and overall I liked it. We planning when we in SXM to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Esperance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Esperance Hotel

Address: 4 Tiger Road | Cay Hill, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — L'Esperance Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will experience traditional Creole hospitality in their choice of 22 air-conditioned suites. Hotel L'Esperance is set just below rolling hills. Landscaped gardens, a sundeck and swimming pool invite guests to relax in the Caribbean sun. All suites are equipped with kitchenettes, cable television, and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your L'Esperance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Esperance Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Esperance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.