We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and cleanliness on a budget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Esperance Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added L'Esperance Hotel to your Saves list
L'Esperance Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Tiger Road | Cay Hill, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Philipsburg
Turner Valey, Alberta
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Comfort and cleanliness on a budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is located in a residential area which a lot of people haven't been to. However, it's not to tough to find. This was our 3rd visit to this lovely little gem. The owners and staff are amazing and very friendly. If you want to visit Sint Maarten on a budget and don't care if you aren't staying on a beach this is the place to stay. We alway rent a car to explore the island and don't go to the same beach every day so this hotel works great for us. The rooms are very, very clean and so comfortable. It's like a home away from home. We feel very secure here as well which is important on a vacation. I miss it already and can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
17
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

L'Esperance Hotel is a lovely place to stay when visiting St. Maarten. We went on a holiday to the island in October of this year and found that we had booked the right hotel for us since we prefer small-scale, homely places. We felt very much at home indeed because of the flowery patio with swimming pool and the rooms where you can sit and relax. Also, the owners of the hotel were really friendly.
Unfortunately, upon arrival there was a problem with the toilet in our room and because of that we couldn't check in right away. We were really tired because of the long flight and weren't too happy about this, also because it was unsure how long it would take for the toilet to be fixed. When we finally entered the room, the toilet was still not working properly - it was leaking (clean) water - and during our stay, despite the several attempts that were made to fix it, the toilet kept on leaking. The owners apologized extensively because this was indeed not the way it should be.
However, the room was kept very clean every day so the leakage didn't cause too much trouble. We very much liked the room because of the separate bedroom (with air-conditioning) and the small kitchen with refrigerator in the living area that made it possible to prepare simple dishes. Also, the television came in handy when a tropical storm hit the island and we couldn't do much for two days.
About the location: the hotel is situated in a quiet area and we knew beforehand that it wouldn't be close to a beach. Because we like to drive around during our holidays we had a rental car so that was not a problem for us. There are loads of stunning beaches on St. Maarten and because the island is small they're never too far away from the hotel.
All in all, we had a lovely stay. Hotel L'Esperance is a nice, homely and clean place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. It's off the beaten path, so a car is probably best to have. The room we had was great, small kitchen and a 2 bedroom right off the pool. The staff was friendly and efficient. Would stay again as it was priced just right too.

Room Tip: There are store close by to get groceries. We brought a few of our own things so we didn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saba, Caribisch Nederland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I stayed there with my family during a short low butget vacation. The hotel was very clean and modern. We had a flatscreen tv in our room. WIFI and cable box available. For the price we payed, it was the best low butget hotel. The location is not so convenience. It is a 10 min walk to Gran marche where you can buy fastfood or catch a bus to town. The best is to rent a car. The neighborhood is not so nice, but for me that was not important. The hotel was very safe and during night time the was a security guy. There was a pool and overall I liked it. We planning when we in SXM to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turner Valey, Alberta
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

This was our second year staying at this hotel. In March 2012, we stayed with family in one of their 2 bedroom suites and it was great. L'Esperance is very affordable. The staff and owner are great. The suites are very clean as are the lobby, pool and the shared terrace. The hotel itself is located a block from a major grocery store. It is kind of in the middle of the island so it's central to a lot of places such as Phillipsburg (shopping), Marigot, Oyster Pond. Very quaint! I would defintely recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Me and my husband had our honeymoon here. I really liked this place. It's ideally located if you plan to explore more of the island, it's nestled in between Marigot and Philipsburg, and the "buses", witch are really cheap, leave just down the street, There is a nice open shared terrace, with a view of the hills surrounding you, and the pool. The rooms are large and immaculately cleaned every day. Be sure to pay your bill the night before you leave if you have an early flight. There is a guard there during nighttime, but he will not "check you out", just take your key. By the way, we walked past the guard several times at night, and sometimes he was asleep. But it's not a dangerous neighborhood, so no need too worry.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012 via mobile

Spacious apartment , rather clean. Some problems with the shower that did not stay at constant temperature. Compared to other St Maarten hotels it is rather cheap but it is not fancy either. The pool is nice and the patio and facade are pretty with flowers. Beware the mosquitoes at night...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Esperance Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Esperance Hotel

Address: 4 Tiger Road | Cay Hill, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — L'Esperance Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will experience traditional Creole hospitality in their choice of 22 air-conditioned suites. Hotel L'Esperance is set just below rolling hills. Landscaped gardens, a sundeck and swimming pool invite guests to relax in the Caribbean sun. All suites are equipped with kitchenettes, cable television, and telephones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your L'Esperance Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Esperance Hotel St Maarten-St Martin/Philipsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Esperance Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.