We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local fish was fabulous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Escargot Restaurant

L'Escargot Restaurant
96 Front Street, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 67 Restaurants in Philipsburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Local fish was fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We came here on the recommendation of our taxi driver after our excursion. We were so hungry and were hoping to get an authentic local meal. It was very good....we were the only ones there, so the service was good (there were 11 in our group). The owner came over to us to chat and our server was very sweet.

The local fish was amazing but the kids were not thrilled with their pasta dishes that was swimming in olive oil. Very, very expensive! I think our bill came to around $350 and only a handful of the adults ordered a drink. They charge you $6 for a large bottle of water. I think if I were on a vacation with just my husband, it would have been a fabulous experience. Definitely not a place for a group of people to go. Even though the food was good, we were disappointed at how expensive it was.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    21
    11
    8
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We would definitely not recommend this restaurant , we went there on a Friday and they had a cabaret night with a set menu , the price was $ 75.00 per person + 20 % service charge so in reality $ 90.00 a head , not including drinks , My husband had the chicken cream puff pastry which was horrible , it was mush and the chicken was overcooked and the cream sauce was thickened with flour , my dish the Escargots was very good .In between they brought us a Caesar salad which was not great , in our opinion the Caesar dressing was not homemade it tasted like the one you would get out of a bottle from the store . Our main courses the duck and the steak were pretty good at the exception of the boxed mashed potatoes , for desert we got the tiniest slice of frozen processed chocolate cake .
Service was very poor , we poured our own water and wine numerous times and the wait staff only came around every once in a while .
On the positive side the show was very entertaining and we enjoyed watching the owners mingle with the crowd and participate with the show .
Bottom line the total bill was $ 250.00 dollars for 2 persons , we can think of Many Many other restaurants that we could enjoy a fantastic meal if not maybe even 2 great meals for the same money .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flinton PA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“L'Escargot Restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Should of went with my intuition when they brought the basket of bread. In which, was hard as a rock. The meal was Terrible. The service was Terrible. Waited and waited for Appetizer, then our Main Course. After paying $132.00 for the meal, I was disgusted, along with my Husband. Worst Dinner ever! Do not go to this Restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Slow service, mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a group of 8 for lunch. We were in town off a cruise ship. It took over 2 hours for the entire meal - and that's only because we rushed eating once the food arrived. The waitress visited the table very infrequently during the meal. When our lobsters arrived they were tough and not very tasty.

It would have been nice if when we ordered the lobsters they would have told us it was going to take over 1 hour to prepare them. Long meals are fine for dinner, but not in a port town when most of your guests have limited time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Splendid French restaurant in the Carribean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our last lunch of our trip in St-Marteen, was at a place called L'escargot, which serves french & seafood cuisine. Upon entering this small 30 seat restaurant, you feel like you are in Paris, but Paris in the carribean. I have tried many big & small upscale restaurants while traveling, but the quality of service, as well as the food was out of this world. Last time i ate good onion soup like that, was in Turks & Caicos in 2007. Wine choice was great (up to $3000 a bottle if you can afford). Meals are exquisite. Being a wednesday night, the restaurant only had 4 tables occupied, so we almost received a vip treatment. (we speak frenc, as well as the owner). Our waiter Mr. Vernon Richardson was a true gentleman. He was very polite, educated, knew his wine list, and could not ask for more. Joel, the owner, and his wife Sonya, even gave us and another couple a lift back to the resort after closing time. What can you have more? By the way, they have a show every friday night that is apparently a must see. If we ever return to this Island, we will for sure go there at least 2 times in our week. (www.lescargotrestaurant.com).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Escargot Restaurant also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to L'Escargot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Escargot Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.