We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome afternoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scuba Fun Dive Center

Scuba Fun Dive Center
Great Bay Marina, Dock Maarten | Pointe Blanche, Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
1 (721) 542.3966
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #17 of 44 activities in Philipsburg
Type: Water sports
Attraction Details
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome afternoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Scuba diving has been on my "bucket list". Last week while on a family cruise, I took an excursion, Introduction to Scuba. We only had five participants and two instructors. We all got a lot of individual attention which was great for us, not so great for the company. After we were instructed on the basics, into the ocean we went. We were in the water for approximately 40 minutes and it was more fun then I could have imagined! The instructors were great and since there were only three of us returning to the ship, the owner drove us back himself.....thanks for the highlight of my week.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    14
    5
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“nearly missed the ship”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

A pleasant staff, but management was way too nonchalant about timing for cruise passengers. The Scuba Review dive was offered only in the afternoon, and it was simultaneous with their Discover Scuba. We were instructed to arrive at 1:15. Four others arrived at 1:30, then 12 more at 2:00. We got underway at 2:45. By this time I was stressed. We were still on the water at 4:15, and last call for the Celebrity ship was 4:45. Fortunately four of the patrons for Discover Scuba had booked through Celebrity (we booked independently) so the ship knew where they were. The seven of us scurried to the ship as the mooring lines were being loosened. Last people on board, gangway up, and the ship took off.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineScubaFun_11, Propriétaire at Scuba Fun Dive Center, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
I am terribly sorry that you were nervous but I told you she ship was aware of the delay and was waiting for you. Also, I must remind you that there was 7 cruise ships in town on that day, one was tendering and that is why everybody was delayed : with so many people on that day, the traffic was extremely slow and the but to drive you bak was stuck in traffic, that is why I told you it would be preferable to walk (5 minutes to go back to the pier that to wait for a bus that was stuck in ntraffic for 1/2 hour : the road between the dive shop and the cruise ship pier was just completely stopped due to the high traffic, I was not "nonchalant", I am afraid I was just not responsible for the very bad traffic on that day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
“Very good dive operation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I am a long-time diver (Instructor rated) with many dives in world-wide locations. My partner is an advanced diver with the same experience. We dove with Scuba Fun recently in St. Maartans to "warm-up" prior to a week on a boat. I always try to communicate by email with a shop prior to diving, and Scuba Fun was very responsive and informative. We found them to be an excellent well-run shop, with a focus on both safety and fun, at a very reasonable price. The folks in the shop were also really great. I would recommend them for divers of all levels without reservation.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineScubaFun_11, Dive Instructor at Scuba Fun Dive Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for your great review, Jackie. We’re so glad you enjoyed your dives in St Maarten and pleased you chose us for your ‘warm up’ dive before your big trip. Also, thank you for your recommendation to other divers, it’s always good to hear we do a god job from a fellow dive professional. We hope to see you underwater again soon.
- Amy@ScubaFun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Good Dive Operator”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Scubafun was a good experience all around. It was easy to book online. At the shop, the staff were quick, efficient and pleasant. They use good equipment, and they drive a Newton boat - the best dive boat made. The conditions were difficult due to high wind, but the instructors were helpful and informative about how to enter the water and exit in high swells. They were very attentive to those who felt seasick, and moved to a sheltered location so that everyone could enjoy the second dive in protected waters. En route, they dropped off the more experienced divers so they could swim in, and spend more time swimming over reefs and seeking sea critters. And on top of that, they were a lot of fun. If they were this good when conditions were difficult, they must be fantastic when conditions are pristine.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineScubaFun_11, Dive Instructor at Scuba Fun Dive Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hi Jessie, thank you for your kind words. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your dives with us at Scuba Fun. Safety is paramount for us when the conditions are difficult and we’re always focused on getting everyone in and out of the water as comfortably as possible. Please come back and dive with us again, hopefully when the wind is calmer. Thanks again Jessie, and happy bubbles! – Amy@ScubaFun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rough waters, great group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The crew met us at the cruise ship dock and a bus took us to the dive shop. We got geared up and ready to go out on the boat. They sorted us into groups with approximately seven per guide. The water was rough and multiple people felt seasick so the second dive was a sheltered dive. They were patient and understanding with everyone who was sick and did the best job they could given the conditions. I recommend them!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoineScubaFun_11, Dive Instructor at Scuba Fun Dive Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation, Calesha. It’s often windy over the winter months here in St Maarten, we aim to keep all of our divers as comfortable as possible whilst out diving on the ocean with us. Please come back and visit us again when the wind calms in the Summer months. Thanks again! – Amy@ScubaFun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scuba Fun Dive Center also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Scuba Fun Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scuba Fun Dive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Scuba Fun Dive Center to your Saves list