We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten to your Saves list
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Oyster Pond Road, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We just stayed for 4 nights at the westin- the rooms, view and service were all wonderful. The bed was very comfortable. However the breakfast was really poor and should be improved - there were flies on the food and was not Starwood standard.

I would recommend the hotel . It's got a nice beach too.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    464
    214
    98
    97
See reviews for
285
671
30
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Freetown, Ma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My wife and I just returned from our third visit to the Westin at Dawn beach. The St. Maarten license plate says the "The friendly island". They must be refering to the Dawn Beach staff at the Westin. Everyone is smiling and happy to serve you. Great food at the Ocean restaurant, Great lunches at Liquid the pool bar. Great staff like Madiene, and Patrick at the pool bar. Great housekeeping and the hotel is beautiful. There is also a full casino in the hotel lobby which both my wife and I enjoyed and amazing success. Can't say enough about this hotel except to say I just a condo at Dawn Beach and I'll be going back for years. The condo is tied to the Westin and is spectacular

Room Tip: 2nd or third floor ocean front. Beautiful balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Just got back from a great vacation with Friends! This was our first stay at the Westin Time Share, and the condo was beautiful! I must say that Jocelyn,(sorry don't know her last name) went above and beyond her job at the Westin. Whenever we asked someone something, and it seemed like a lot of their employees didn't know answers, Jocelyn seemed to know or she would find the answer out and get back to us right away. We were given one key upon arrival, and she even came into the Ocean Restaurant Saturday night where we were having dinner, and delivered additional keys to us. I really hope the Westin reconizes her efforts, these efforts were to every guest that we saw her come in contact with! There are some great restaurants right up the road, Canoia, Big Fish, and Daniels By The Sea. We ate dinner at all of these places, and didn't have a bad meal! Cheri's Cafe is a blast if you want a good time out! All in all we really enjoyed our week in St. Maarten!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My family and I just spent a week at this hotel and from A to Z everything was fantastic. The staff at this hotel is friendly, accommodating and will go out of their way to be of service. The accommodations are beautiful, every room has a balcony with lot of room to sit and enjoy the St. Maarten weather. The guestrooms themselves are large and well appointed. The bathrooms could be a separate room all to themselves. They have a separate tub and shower and the shower is all glass and very classy.

Dining at the hotel is a great experience with various choices of where to eat. the food was always well prepared and served exactly as ordered.

I can't begin to recommend this hotel enough. The management of this hotel has done an outstanding job of choosing the right employees and insuring that they are well trained for their job.

Room Tip: Rent a car, the hotel is a little removed and this is the best way to get around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is our 5th time visiting this hotel, and our experience keeps getting better. A great hotel with great staff who are extremely friendly and accommodating. Rooms are large and kept very clean. Staff keeps the grounds and the pool clean and beautifully manicured. You need to rent a car if you stay here, as it far from the airport. We have been using Hertz which has been very reliable. Overall, an amazing experience. We can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The staff is determined to have THEIR way despite your needs.
The restaurant manager was argumentative and does not inform the staff of Hotel policy.
The a la carte menu however is quite good but the Buffet leaves allot to be desired unless you like lots of tasteless food that has been sitting on a hot table for hours.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Overall the property was beautiful and well maintained. The staff was friendly and accommodating, including the General Manager. The food at all of the restaurants was delicious. The only concern at the restaurant named Ocean needs to enforce a better system in wiping the tables and placemats. There was an unusual amount of flies in the indoor area of the restaurant. And this happened several times.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room. Unfortunately not all rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Address: 144 Oyster Pond Road, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#8 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#14 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful Caribbean beaches, The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten offers guests a true getaway. Scuba dive, take a ferry to Anguilla for the day, or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Amex, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort And Spa, St. Maarten
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Westin St Maarten Martin
St Maarten Martin Westin
Westin St Martin
Westin St. Maarten/St. Martin
St. Maarten/St. Martin Westin
Westin St Maarten Dawn Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.