We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten to your Saves list
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Oyster Pond Road, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Melville, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is our 5th time visiting this hotel, and our experience keeps getting better. A great hotel with great staff who are extremely friendly and accommodating. Rooms are large and kept very clean. Staff keeps the grounds and the pool clean and beautifully manicured. You need to rent a car if you stay here, as it far from the airport. We have been using Hertz which has been very reliable. Overall, an amazing experience. We can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    471
    215
    98
    97
See reviews for
288
675
30
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The staff is determined to have THEIR way despite your needs.
The restaurant manager was argumentative and does not inform the staff of Hotel policy.
The a la carte menu however is quite good but the Buffet leaves allot to be desired unless you like lots of tasteless food that has been sitting on a hot table for hours.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Overall the property was beautiful and well maintained. The staff was friendly and accommodating, including the General Manager. The food at all of the restaurants was delicious. The only concern at the restaurant named Ocean needs to enforce a better system in wiping the tables and placemats. There was an unusual amount of flies in the indoor area of the restaurant. And this happened several times.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room. Unfortunately not all rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I loved this resort! From the seamless check-in to the beautiful premises, it was amazing. Some people might be put-off by the timeshare offices and salespeople on the ground floor, but once you say " no thank you" they pretty much leave you alone. We did go on a timeshare tour and the properties are definitely gorgeous. The concierge and staff are really excellent at this resort. We had an issue getting tickets on our own for an excursion and people made calls constantly and were not only able to secure tickets for us, they made sure that the operators waited for us! We were celebrating a birthday and they helped to make it special -- wine, cheese plate, fruit platter, and cake surprise in our room! We stayed in a suite with a double balcony and the views were spectacular from every angle. The casino is cool and the bartenders make excellent drinks. The restaurants on-site are delicious. Overall, I was most impressed with the people. They clearly pride themselves on service and it shows! We recommend it to anyone visiting the island!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

What ISN'T wonderful about this resort? A room with a view, breakfast with a view, a wonderful pool, white sandy beaches, not TOO many children. Our corner room was clean and perfectly kept with a beautiful view over-looking pool and ocean. We ate breakfast every morning outside, did some shopping, spent the afternoon on the beach, then experienced fabulous local dining all over the island.

Room Tip: I don't believe there is a bad room in the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We spent a week at this resort and absolutely loved it. The building and grounds, pool and beach included, were beautiful and well maintained. Lots of great restaurants on the resort and nearby and tons of things to do. We plan on returning and highly recommend this destination to all.

Room Tip: Ocean view is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed at the Dawn Beach Club (DBC) in late June, early July. The timeshare is adjacent to the Westin Resort, and at the time we stayed there check-in was at the Westin front desk. By now, check-in is probably at the timeshare's offices. The timeshare may have been at one time a Westin timeshare, but it is not any longer. However, the rooms are gorgeous and have all of the Westin amenities. We were originally put in a low floor room where we had a view of, well, an air conditioner. After discussing the situation with the DBC manager, he was able to give us a top floor room with a view. The rooms have everything including a full kitchen and are beautiful. The room could easily sleep eight to ten. A group of six adults would each have their own private room. We ate lunch at the pool bar once, and found the food good and reasonably priced. We walked to Mr. Busby's for lunch, or the Oyster Bay Report's small convenience store for coffee most mornings. The beach is beautiful in front of the resort and all the way down the beach to the Oyster Bay Resort. To get to the other end of the beach you must climb a small group of rocks and wear tennis or reef shoes. No flip-flops. It's worth the walk. The resort is isolated (a good thing) and a bit of a drive from the airport or anywhere because of the topography. You will need a car, and GPS on the island is a must. The Dawn Beach Club is a great place to stay when visiting St. Maarten. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: You must get a room on a high floor to get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Address: 144 Oyster Pond Road, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#8 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#14 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful Caribbean beaches, The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten offers guests a true getaway. Scuba dive, take a ferry to Anguilla for the day, or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort And Spa, St. Maarten
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Westin St Maarten Martin
St Maarten Martin Westin
Westin St Martin
Westin St. Maarten/St. Martin
St. Maarten/St. Martin Westin
Westin St Maarten Dawn Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.