We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the published reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Save Saved
You added The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Oyster Pond Road, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Santa Monica, Ca
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Better than the published reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a conference and were hesitant to book after reading so many negative reviews on Trip Advisor. It's a typical Westin resort with a combination hotel and time-shares that they are trying to sell. The rooms were standard as were the bathroom supplies although we didn't have to ask for robes. We did have a beautiful ocean-front view with a balcony area. The beach is beautiful as is the pool area but the biggest downfall is the lack of shade and/or umbrellas. The poolside food was typical - no better or worse than we expected. Breakfasts were well above average at the buffet and the omelet makers were great. The staff everywhere was warm and friendly. The biggest negative is its location on the island because the roads leading to the more popular restaurant areas are terrible - poorly repaired, poorly lit and poorly marked and are uncomfortable to drive in during the dark. My suggestion is to take a cab unless you're doing day time driving.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    464
    214
    98
    97
See reviews for
285
669
30
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We arrived about 7pm. We received an upgrade to an ocean view room. Upon arrival to our first room we noticed that the beds were unmade. We then were asked to wait while the front desk manager inspected the next room. Upon our arrival to the second room we noticed that the grout between the tiles on the shower floor was completely filled with mold! There was also mold on the shower wall grout. We were then moved to our THIRD room . The shower is ok. This morning we decided to brew tea but the coffee/tea maker has not been cleaned from previous guest. I'm ready to check out and find some where else to stay! I am not happy!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We read soem pretty bad reviews about this place, but because we are Starwood Preferred and had the points, decided to try for a few days. We hedged our bets by booking the Radisson for the other portion fo the trip.

We have been pretty happy so far. The staff has been accommodating and pleasant. The facilities are nice enough - modern but not elegant, though a tag bit sterile feeling for some reason. The resort itself is a bit locked in by geography.

Be sure to buy enough supplies on the drive in. We did not and apparently nearest grocery store is 20 minutes away.

All that said, if you are looking for a above average but perhaps not spectacular place to stay - our stay has met that bar.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a higher floor room with pool or ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Checked in on 4/14/13. Very disappointed. Inspite of the beautiful views, I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. Westin has not maintained the rooms of the property. Housekeeping is extremely poor!

We changed rooms three times with in an hour period after checking in. The first room beds were not made up and dirty linens were occupying the chairs. The second room we moved to had an active colony of mold in the shower. It was apparent that the shower has not been cleaned for some time. I got an immediate allergic reaction to the mold spores. We were moved again to a much cleaner room but the severe itching from mold exposure continued. The carpet in all the rooms were soiled and dirty. Rooms did not smell clean..very musty and moldy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Beware of personnel planted around the island who use scratch cards to lure you into the Westin and take up your valuable vacation time. The time share rooms are far from the beach and very stuffy. They are pricey and not what most people are looking for who want something with a nice balcany and space to enjoy the wonderful weather. Beach was never crowded and there were very few people there. It felt more like a hotel in Chicago rather than a beach resort in St. Marteen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Got here on Tuesday, April 9th, 2013 and leaving on Sunday, April 14th, 2013. So far, I am pretty happy with my selection. The facility is tucked away from the downtown noise. It does need some update - not much, but some. The view out to the Atlantic ocean is probably the best feature for me - my first floor room is not ocean view, by the way. Firm bed, decent furniture for work and play, very large bathroom, clean all around facility. Couples be advised - the walls don't keep secret encounters that secret. The lobby is large with a bar and mini casino for those who like to roll some dice. There are two restaurants on the facility, both average. My breakfast (basic buffet) is paid for - so I can't comment on cost. There is a spa and fairly equipped exercise room. I went to town yesterday and I advice anyone who plans to stay here to take a cab or bus to town - that is where everything is happening. For basic staying away from the town crowds, this is a great place. I also advice to eat dinner away from hotel - outside restaurants are much less expensive. Today I will try Mr. Busbies, just a throwaway from here. My disappointment is that I do not see the local or Dutch influence here and no tennis courts on the property. Also, the facility is cold inside - I see quite a few female guests wearing sweaters all day inside the facility. I will update when I get back home.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room on a high floor. The have a nice balcony and you won't have to deal with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We purchased a "resort-for-a-day" pass and absolutely loved this place. My 5 year old loved the infinity pool, my older kids played all day at the beach and my mom liked the poolside ice teas! We had a nice lunch at the restaurant. Our room was spacious and the bathroom was huge. There was a cute side view balcony. This property was just beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Address: 144 Oyster Pond Road, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#8 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#14 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful Caribbean beaches, The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten offers guests a true getaway. Scuba dive, take a ferry to Anguilla for the day, or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort And Spa, St. Maarten
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Westin St Maarten Martin
St Maarten Martin Westin
Westin St Martin
Westin St. Maarten/St. Martin
St. Maarten/St. Martin Westin
Westin St Maarten Dawn Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.