We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best 60 th birthday present from my husband” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Save Saved
You added The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Oyster Pond Road, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
East Windsor, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best 60 th birthday present from my husband”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was one of the most beautiful resort we have visited. The staff were very kind and helpful. Our first few hours in our room, we had a couple concerns. They were resolved within minutes by competent staff members. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to an ocean view room which made this an even more relaxing vacation. The pool was surrounded by cushioned lounge chairs daily covered with fresh towels. There were ample lounges at pool side and beach side as well. The breakfast buffets were excellent. We ate there daily. My husband and I agreed that we had the best night's sleep on the Heavenly mattress Westins are known for. We are anxious to return to St. Maartin and especially the Westin Dawn Beach!

Room Tip: Any room that is ocean view or ocean side is a must. I slept with the soothing sound of waves breaki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    448
    444
    208
    92
    95
See reviews for
269
640
29
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was very beautiful with luxury amenities and casino on site but the beach at the hotel is not so calm and water was not so nice.
For the price we paid ( we paid over $450 a night) I feel like we should have had nice beach and pool.
Location was far from everything so you would have to take a cab everywhere you go like restaurants or shopping .
Bt staff was very nice and helping.
Beachside food, ok. Drinks ,average.
Beach cabana , you need to pay over $100 to use them.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My parents, husband, and I went to St. Maarten last spring for a long weekend. We enjoyed our visit at the Westin Dawn Beach Resort. The beach and pool areas were nice and well maintained. Our king-size room had a large bathroom with full size shower and separate tub. The restaurants had great food, but they were pricey.

What we didn't know about the hotel when we booked it is that it is part of a timeshare. We were constantly accosted at the pool and in the hotel by people trying to get us to attend the timeshare presentation. That was annoying. The other thing that we didn't like is the casino that is in the lobby. The hotel allows smoking in the casino, so even if you don't go to the casino area, it is only separated by velvet ropes, the smoke travels throughout the first floor of the hotel. I have asthma, and the smoke caused me to have an asthma attack.

One thing to know about this hotel is that it is FAR from the airport. Luckily, my parents rented a car so we didn't have to pay for a taxi. We used the car to explore the island. This hotel is also far from tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Get a king size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye Brook, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently spent four nights at the Westin in St. Martin. Overall, we were very pleased with the property and our stay. The staff was very courteous and helpful and the room (for Starwood preferred members) was larger than expected with a pool/ocean view. The general mood of the property was very relaxing, which was exactly what we were looking for. This isn't where you want to stay if you're looking for a spring break atmosphere. But if you want to enjoy some peace and quiet this is a great place to stay. The pool was nice and the beach access couldn't have been closer. My only quibble, keeping my rating a 4 instead of a 5, was that the lobby/casino is mostly wasted space that could be better utilized. Also, you really must rent a car if you stay here as you'll have to drive to all the other parts of the island and nothing is in walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We're SPG Gold members and obviously always stay at a Westin when available. This Westin is one of the best in the Caribbean. Lovely resort grounds, staff is extremely polite and helpful. We love the rooms and the beach is quite lovely.

The only thing one should be warned about is the drive out to the other beaches and the restaurants in Grand Case or Phillipsburg. The hotel is really on the other end of the island. Also, what bothered us the most was the fact that we were constantly harassed by the time share reps when entering the hotel parking area. So unprofessional.

All things considered I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean Front rooms are spectacular. ON THE OCEAN.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in an oceanfront room, which had a nice view from balcony. Hotel was clean and bedding was really nice. Thats about it.
The beach and pool area are inadequate. Few were swimming because of waves and strong current. The sun loungers were cheap and uncomfortable. Seat would fill up quickly and were placed so close to each other.The worse part is the fact that no umbrellas are provided. If you want shade, you have to purchase a cabana for $100 a day.
The food was mediocre. The restaurant menu was same as room service menu. The servers were slow and looked like they were smoking too much weed. We were overcharged twice by accident.
In our room, the TV reception was poor. When I called electritian, he came over and hit the top of tv, then took a look for a second at wires in the back and said there was nothing he can do.
The bathrobe had tear on side and toiletries were low quality.
Overall, it could be worse, but its definately not worth staying here.

Room Tip: upgrade to ocean front to make this hotel barable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puplovers
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I have traveled all over, but never to the Caribbean except on a cruise. We decided to try St. Maarten, and as a Starwood Platinum, I used Starwood points to stay at the Westin Dawn Beach for a week...what a great choice!! The facilities were top notch, as you'd expect at a Westin Resort, but what really set this stay apart for us was the staff. When we first arrived, Travis (a really pleasant young man at the front desk) opened the main hotel door for us and escorted us to the front desk. He assigned us a truly remarkable room (3040), with ~1000 sqft. and a balcony that wrapped around and faced both the ocean and the really nice pool area (my wife and I really enjoyed the pool!). The first day, we noticed that the water in the bathroom took a while to get warm, so as we headed out I stopped by the front desk to mention it and met Rahul Abhyankar, the Director of Rooms. He not only got that fixed (we had a voicemail from the Chief Engineer apologizing and explaining how he solved the problem), but Rahul seemed to make it his personal responsibility to ensure that our vacation would be excellent. Every time we walked past the front desk, he would come out, greet us, and we'd discuss our stay and plans. Multiple times he really helped us, including introducing us to Fran, the concierge, another gem. We enjoyed the Westin's casino and restaurant, but had a car so we also had dinner multiple places around the island. After having such a wonderful week, I would recommend the Westin Dawn Beach to everyone, with one caveat...if you stay there rent a car like we did. It's location is just isolated enough to be picturesque and quiet, which puts it too far from other things to walk. If you don't have a car you'll be taking taxis, but if you do have a car, the driving and parking are easy.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Address: 144 Oyster Pond Road, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#8 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#16 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful Caribbean beaches, The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten offers guests a true getaway. Scuba dive, take a ferry to Anguilla for the day, or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Starwood, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort And Spa, St. Maarten
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Westin St Maarten Martin
St Maarten Martin Westin
Westin St Martin
Westin St. Maarten/St. Martin
St. Maarten/St. Martin Westin
Westin St Maarten Dawn Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.