We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Save Saved
You added The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Oyster Pond Road, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is more like 4.5 stars. We stayed at the hotel for 1 week. We had a rental car-parking is free and connected to the hotel. It looks like there is also a time share connected. We used points (gold member) for all but 2 nights.
Positives:
Great staff especially housekeeping-our room was very clean.
We had a massage one day-spa staff was very nice. Massage was great.
In a nice location on the side of the island away from the "touristy" places-not crowded.
Room was spacious and quiet.
Conceierge very helpful.
An actual 3 and 5 mile running route we took advantage of-be warned it is a hilly route.
We only had breakfast here one day and lunch by the pool one day-so we didn't use any of the restaurants on site-we drove into Grand Case or other locations for dinner.
The biggest positive were the great staff working there-all were friendly, helpful and did a great job.

Negatives:
Pool is cold-very few people in the water. Should be heated.
Gym is small.
No umbrellas on the beach-there is a small blue cabana/umbrella you can get-but not an actual umbrella with comfortable chairs.

We didn't use the casino. We did order room service one night-it was very good. It is a spread out hotel-there may be a little walk to get to your room if you forget something. We pretty much left in the morning and didn't come back except to change clothes for dinner. If we were going to stay here and not leave the resort-it would have not been that great because the pool water is cold and the beach chairs don't have cushions or umbrellas.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    464
    214
    98
    97
See reviews for
285
668
30
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
united states
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Okay the food is very good, excellent wait service.
Casino people were very nice except the bit boss, not a very bright man.
We went there to play craps and have dinner.
If you know craps like I do, you do not tell people were to stand and throw the dice!
The Craps table was half closed off, due to no ACTION, no one was there...
Bit boss told us where AND ONLY to stand to throw the dice!
No one was there. UNBELIEVABLE...
Who wants to throw against a flat wall. We left.
Don't play at this Casino, very weird.

Room Tip: check out Princess Hts
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I visited St. Maarten for the first time this January to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Upon checking in, there was a mixup regarding the oceanfront room we had booked. David the manager, assured us he would resolve the situation; which he did, within the hour. We were completely satisfied with the manner in which David handled this issue.
After dining out on our first nite, we came back to the room and were completely surprised to find champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to celebrate our anniversary; courtesy of David and his wonderful staff. We couldn't have asked for better, more personal, customer service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Public areas are slightly above average. The suites in the condo's are very nice although some have a humidity problem that cause the floors to be wet. I didn't exactly understand what the problem was but had something to do with the AC. What sets this place apart is the fantastic food. I was attending a meeting and every meal we had was exceptional. In my opinion St. Maarten has the best food in the Caribbean. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. I even ran into the executive chef by the pool who asked me how my stay was going and if there was anything he could do for us. The little casino was and added bonus and fun even although black jack had cruise ship odds. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just got back from our two week stay at our three bedroom condo and can report that management appears to be trying hard to make this an excellent property. On this visit we found that our normal room was not available. I am convinced that the problem was due to causes beyond their control but still I was disappointed that my condo was not available. The response of management was outstanding. Alejandra went out of her way to make sure that our family's vacation was enjoyable. She did what she said she would do. I have read other reviews and I agree with some statements that there have been shortfalls at the property but while we were there on this trip I saw maintenance workers hard at work maintaining and repairing. I also found the staff to be working harder to make us happy. Once, toward the end of the day, when we went down to the beach and they were out of towels, it was only minutes later when someone stood next to me with a handful of clean beach towels, she had come down to the beach and searched us out to make sure we had our towels. My picky adult son reported that they found the food to be great at the restaurant. Everyday I saw the manage walking the property, talking to the patrons, clearly taking control of the resort. Nature made this location a wonderful and beautiful place to be. It appears that management is now providing a product that should make even the most discriminating consumer happy.

Room Tip: While all three bedroom condos are identical in floor plan there is one difference that can make a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed two days at the St. Maarten Westin before a Wind Surf cruise. I did a lot of research to find a great resort for us to enjoy the beach and each other! This was a great resort and it lived up to our expectations. We really enjoyed the room, it was an oceanfront with a balcony on the 3rd floor! Wonderful room to enjoy the ocean views and the amazing sound of the waves. Their beach was awesome and we really enjoyed their outdoors restaurant Ocean! The pool and hot tub were very nice......you will love this resort ENJOY~~~

Room Tip: Do a oceanfront room....and you will love the beach! Very quiet and very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dit Hills
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This property has all you could want to relax and unwind. A beautiful infinity pool with swim up bar right off the beach, the rooms are clean and very comfortable. You need a car to get around to restaurants and beaches but taxis are readily available but check what the fare should be with the the concierge, Fran, who was wonderful. The concierge staff couldn't have been more helpful. Check out Busbys on the beach just up the road. At night it turns into a wonderful restaurant called Daniels. We were there for the Super Bowl and they set up a big screen to watch the game poolside. One negative is that when we were there, the water at the beach was kind of rough. There are great restaurants within a short ride of this resort so don't miss them. Had a great time and can't wait to return.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Address: 144 Oyster Pond Road, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#8 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#14 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful Caribbean beaches, The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten offers guests a true getaway. Scuba dive, take a ferry to Anguilla for the day, or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort And Spa, St. Maarten
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Westin St Maarten Martin
St Maarten Martin Westin
Westin St Martin
Westin St. Maarten/St. Martin
St. Maarten/St. Martin Westin
Westin St Maarten Dawn Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;