We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Save Saved
You added The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Oyster Pond Road, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Food and Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Public areas are slightly above average. The suites in the condo's are very nice although some have a humidity problem that cause the floors to be wet. I didn't exactly understand what the problem was but had something to do with the AC. What sets this place apart is the fantastic food. I was attending a meeting and every meal we had was exceptional. In my opinion St. Maarten has the best food in the Caribbean. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. I even ran into the executive chef by the pool who asked me how my stay was going and if there was anything he could do for us. The little casino was and added bonus and fun even although black jack had cruise ship odds. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    464
    214
    98
    97
See reviews for
285
668
30
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just got back from our two week stay at our three bedroom condo and can report that management appears to be trying hard to make this an excellent property. On this visit we found that our normal room was not available. I am convinced that the problem was due to causes beyond their control but still I was disappointed that my condo was not available. The response of management was outstanding. Alejandra went out of her way to make sure that our family's vacation was enjoyable. She did what she said she would do. I have read other reviews and I agree with some statements that there have been shortfalls at the property but while we were there on this trip I saw maintenance workers hard at work maintaining and repairing. I also found the staff to be working harder to make us happy. Once, toward the end of the day, when we went down to the beach and they were out of towels, it was only minutes later when someone stood next to me with a handful of clean beach towels, she had come down to the beach and searched us out to make sure we had our towels. My picky adult son reported that they found the food to be great at the restaurant. Everyday I saw the manage walking the property, talking to the patrons, clearly taking control of the resort. Nature made this location a wonderful and beautiful place to be. It appears that management is now providing a product that should make even the most discriminating consumer happy.

Room Tip: While all three bedroom condos are identical in floor plan there is one difference that can make a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed two days at the St. Maarten Westin before a Wind Surf cruise. I did a lot of research to find a great resort for us to enjoy the beach and each other! This was a great resort and it lived up to our expectations. We really enjoyed the room, it was an oceanfront with a balcony on the 3rd floor! Wonderful room to enjoy the ocean views and the amazing sound of the waves. Their beach was awesome and we really enjoyed their outdoors restaurant Ocean! The pool and hot tub were very nice......you will love this resort ENJOY~~~

Room Tip: Do a oceanfront room....and you will love the beach! Very quiet and very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dit Hills
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This property has all you could want to relax and unwind. A beautiful infinity pool with swim up bar right off the beach, the rooms are clean and very comfortable. You need a car to get around to restaurants and beaches but taxis are readily available but check what the fare should be with the the concierge, Fran, who was wonderful. The concierge staff couldn't have been more helpful. Check out Busbys on the beach just up the road. At night it turns into a wonderful restaurant called Daniels. We were there for the Super Bowl and they set up a big screen to watch the game poolside. One negative is that when we were there, the water at the beach was kind of rough. There are great restaurants within a short ride of this resort so don't miss them. Had a great time and can't wait to return.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Sent from my iPadIf you don't have a Fabulous
vacation at this resort....You MUST have waken up on the wrong side of your "Heavenly Bed"!!!!! From the first night we enjoyed dinner at the bar w/ Patrick,to the last night! Everyone..is wonderful!!!....Jaya David ,the night manager, Made us laugh so hard and made us feel as if we new him our whole life.( and we were not drinking) And it didn't stop at Him...our day manager ,his name escapes me,was just as nice.Breakfast w/ Ridiculous
Nicholas ,was such a pleasant experience, his sincerity was refreshing. And the pool attendants Tony & "V"worked there Butts off! Janice & Alourdis in the gift shop...Fabulous! .....and Sheldon at "prestige" car rental....What a Nice Nice man he is, and we even saw him w/ his lovely family in "Margot" one day. Can't say one bad thing. We thoroughly loved The Westin At Dawn Beach! And we will come back without thinking twice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Husband and i arrived a few days early for some down time before a conference. Our room was lovely but often we asked for turn down service - however, no one showed up. Housekkeping arrived late in the day or not at all and had to be called. Food was ok and typically overpriced for what it was. That said, pool and beach were lovely. Spa was very nice but the gym was the size of a postage stamp. It really needs to be expanded.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I just returned from 4 nights at The Westin St. Maarten Dawn Beach. I frequently read the reviews on trip advisor and I think some of them were a bit harsh on this property. I thought the place was vey nice and clean and the service was great. Most of the staff went out of their way to make sure that you were enjoying your stay. The General Manager Daniel knew that I was a Platinum Starwood member and he checked in on me to make sure all was going well. That extra effort goes a long way and we really appreciate it.

So let me dive in a bit deeper of the positives and negatives. Yes the resort is out of the way a bit but I do not think it is that big a deal. We took a cab the couple of nights we went out to dinner. One night for $6 we went to Oyster Pond and we ate at Big Fish. A great meal and the staff was really nice there. Another night we went to Marigot ($25 cab ride) and ate at Mario's Bistro. Food was awesome. I highly recommend it! We also ate one night at the Westin steakhouse Aura. We enjoyed that as well.

The pool area and beach area are really nice. Yes the pool is very cold since it is not heated. But when it is 82 outside I am fine going in cold water to cool off. The ocean was fun and not as rough as some people say. The entire pool and beach area were well maintained and had workers making sure it looked clean every day. Yes they do charge for a cabana at the pool or beach but we paid for a type of umbrella/cabana on the beach and it was worth it.

Overall I think it is a nice Westin property and I would visit it again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Address: 144 Oyster Pond Road, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#8 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#14 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful Caribbean beaches, The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten offers guests a true getaway. Scuba dive, take a ferry to Anguilla for the day, or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort And Spa, St. Maarten
Westin St Maarten Martin
St Maarten Martin Westin
Westin St Martin
Westin St. Maarten/St. Martin
St. Maarten/St. Martin Westin
Westin St Maarten Dawn Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.