We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Save Saved
You added The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Oyster Pond Road, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Oakland, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at the Westin during Thanksgiving week and it was an absolute blast. It was our first time in St. Maarten and when we booked the Westin, it was exactly what we were looking for, secluded with great staff. I would especially like to thank William one of the bartenders and his wife Myles (sorry if I got the name wrong). Pool area was amazing and food was above average, really good food is in Grand Case simple grilled seafood, the best. I would skip Big Fish, unless you're into having your food drowned by sauce (maybe we were just unlucky and the chef had an off night) although decor and staff we great. Sarafina's in Marigot is also good. Take the time to go to Anguilla, best beaches by far. St. Barths is worth at least a visit, but would not spend more than a day trip. Overall St. Maarten/St. Martin is not that big and its easy to get around (do rent a car), so don't be turned-off by the Westin location, the hotel and staff makes it worth staying. We will definetly be going back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    450
    448
    212
    94
    95
See reviews for
273
643
29
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baden, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Terrific hotel! Book the Romance Package to save on breakfast and a cabana and have an ocean-view room for a great price! The hotel is in a lovely bay and the beach is quite nice. The pool is fantastic with a nice swim-up bar. There are 2 restaurants in the hotel, or take a cab to several within a 5-minute drive. Marigot is approximately 25 minutes away if you don't feel the need to stop and admire the views along the way. Our room was very clean. The Heavenly Bed, well, heavenly. The balcony was a lovely touch and we enjoyed our coffee there each morning. ALL of the staff at this property were exceedingly helpful and kind. The Managers sought us out to insure that we were enjoying ourselves. We would return again!

Room Tip: Book an Ocean View Room. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Any trip to St. Maarten is wonderful. It is an island filled with great reastaurants, beaches, and hotels. It also has a great mix of ethnic workers from other Caribbean islands who have come to this island to work in the tourist industry. They call St. Maarten the friendly island and it lives up to its name.
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort takes you away from the frenzy of the larger cities and puts you on the Atlantic side of the island right at the border between the Dutch and French at Oyster Pond. They have a great multiple level pool, wonderful long clean beach, fabulous restaurants and all the other normal great hotel offerings. They also have their own casino! Even if you are not a compulsive gambler, it is a lot of fun to pop in and try the slots for a few minutes and be right in your own hotel.
The people we have met here that make up the staff, have all been carefully selected for personality and eagerness to please the weary traveler. I have been here several times and know this is not a lucky chance on my part to have had a good week. The staff and service is consistent. Any issue I have ever had was immediately resolved. I highly recommend you looking at this as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

From our point of view, the rating of this hotel should be way higher.
(28 on 84)
True that it is a little bit far from the city but...
Rent a car for 40$ a day if you really want to get out!
We came back last week and really enjoyed our stay.
The hotel is fabulous, the room was super clean, great service, staff is very friendly, the food is excellent compare to all restaurants we did (that were alot more expensive!!)
The pool and the beach are one of the nicest on the island.
Don't get me wrong, it is not cheap and not an all inclusive.
For example we had entrees (the ceasar salad is very good!), filet mignon and tuna steak for....54$ US Pretty good no!
Quiet.. no need to run for chairs on the beach or at the pool.
Snorkeling on site.
Worth the visit.

Room Tip: Every room is exceptionnal cause you're sleeping on a «heavenly bed»!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Location is terrible for this location...Nothing is walking distance...

Service was below average for a brand company like this...

Restaurants are not all that in this hotel...

The best thing it had was the Bed!!!

Beware, you can get a better hotel, better rate and better location on this island...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The good:
- Nice quieter beach on St Martin with good snorkeling right off the shore
- Ample area around the pool to relax during the day
- Really nice views from the ocean view rooms - you are right on the ocean and there's a nice wave break on a reef

The bad (or inconsistent):
- Restaurants at the hotel are overpriced, better options exist if you are willing to leave the premises (particularly in Grand Case, but also at Oyster Bay)
- Service staff at the hotel were hit or miss - some were friendly (mostly at breakfast), others were indifferent at best (check-in, activities coordinator, pool bar)
- Casino - we're not gamblers, so the casino definitely detracted from a relaxing hotel experience (and it never seemed that busy). I wouldn't have minded if it was in a separate area, but every time you come and go from the hotel and at check-in the casino is front and center. People were also allowed to smoke in the casino area which seems to go against the smoke-free atmosphere of the rest of the hotel.
- Be prepared to be asked to take part in the time-share sales pitch. The scratch off cards are the most common tactic, if you get three 7s then you are most likely to get a Cancun stay for 4 nights (at a 3-star hotel, non-Starwood). Just go in eyes wide open and don't let them pressure you to stay longer than the 90 minutes required.

Note: You will definitely want a car while on the island so that you can explore different places and get around. The Westin is about 40 minutes from the airport, 25 minutes from Grand Case (where a majority of the really great restaurants are) and ~20 minutes from Phillipsburg (where the cruise ships station)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, New Hampshire, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Westin Dawn Beach is just lovely. We stayed 10 days from November 9 - 18th, 2012. The staff was friendly and polite. There is a casino there but it was not bustling or noisy. There is a Spa, there is a "Beach Club" membership (which I believe is a time share) for sale and somehow we managed to avoid being asked or pressured to waste our time taking the "tour"! The vacation package we bought included the breakfast buffet every day and believe me it was fabulous. This resort is on the beautiful pure white sand Dawn Beach. There is an infinity pool, a beach bar, and an on-site restaurant. Our room was large, and clean, the bed and pillows were DE-VINE!!! The bathroom was large and well equipped. The only things we did not like about the room were #1- that even though there was plenty of room, there was no place to sit and have coffee or a snack together in the room. The patio (we were on the ground level) had 2 comfortable chairs and a patio table, but sometimes it was too hot to eat outside and it would have been nice to have a little nook to eat at in the room. And #2- we would also have liked it better if the room had a small refrigerator.
There is only 1 restaurant at this resort, but if you just drive out and take your first right there are a couple more restaurants right on the beach, a small well stocked convenience store, and a marina.
If you want to a gorgeous relaxing place to vacation at, you should go to The Westin at Dawn Beach!

Room Tip: Ground floor is nearest the restaurant, lobby and pool. Third floor is where the gym is. Second fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Address: 144 Oyster Pond Road, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#8 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#16 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful Caribbean beaches, The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten offers guests a true getaway. Scuba dive, take a ferry to Anguilla for the day, or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort And Spa, St. Maarten
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Westin St Maarten Martin
St Maarten Martin Westin
Westin St Martin
Westin St. Maarten/St. Martin
St. Maarten/St. Martin Westin
Westin St Maarten Dawn Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.