We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great off season rates, comfortable room with ocean view. Weather was perfect! There were not many others here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Save Saved
You added The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Oyster Pond Road, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great off season rates, comfortable room with ocean view. Weather was perfect! There were not many others here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

At times it seemed as if we had the place to ourselves. The resort is secluded and a car is needed. It sits on the boarder between the Dutch and French sides of the island. Staff very friendly. Beach was clean although somewhat rocky. Food over priced!
Beautiful pool right next to sandy beach.
Downside - hot water was a joke! We complained at least 3 times and still had to let the shower run for 15 minutes before it started to get warm. Totally unacceptable.
They are also hustling time shares here - a big turn off. You can get them for free or very low prices listed on several websites.
Overall we had a very good week if you overlook the lack of hot water.
Oh, and one more thing - we had considerable trouble logging on to the Internet from our room. After a bit more requests and some complaining it was fixed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    448
    443
    208
    92
    95
See reviews for
269
639
29
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

First and foremost the people at this hotel are very friendly, courteous, and overall very appreciative of your patronage. That by far is what this hotel has going for it. The overall hotel look is what others described as a typical Westin, that you can find anywhere. I go one step further and found it quite minimalistic in its furnishings and rooms. We were upgraded to a beautiful corner oceanfront room, which was great, but in no means posh. Cement painted block in the bathroom, and very bland. The hotel is quite a trek to some island hot spots, we rented a car, and it took us 25 minutes to Grand Case for dinner and you are about a 35 minute drive from the airport, and the action side of the island. We had no problem driving, but I would not recommend for the average driver as the roads are narrow, very curvy and kind of dangerous. That being said, we drive on most islands so we are used to it, but would be challenging. Although taxi's one way to Grand Case around $25. Car cost us $30 a day. The pool area was very nice, great service. Food overall just ok. I didn't think prices were unreasonable. Spa was excellent. We tolerated some bugs in our room, but as soon as I complained , they came and sprayed and we were ok the rest of the trip, By the way these were not roaches, I saw no sign of them, just some small black water bugs condusive to the climate.
The water is solar powered, which was sketchy at best, sometimes cold showers, that seemed to be a problem with alot of people. Why a 4 star then? Well, it is really the only 4 star property on the island that is a known American chain. That being said, I've stayed at L'Esplanade, and at the Sonesta by the airport, as well as La Sammana, this is safe if you're not running around and want the service, which you will get here. If you want tropical then I'd recommend L'Esplanade, but very limited amenities. I think the remoteness is the true negative here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Arlington, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I spent ten glorious days at the Westin Dawn Beach Hotel and Spa recently. We have been to St. Maarten about six times previously but this was the best of all of them. Where do I start with all the wonderful things I want to share? Let start with the entire staff. The regional director, the beverage manager, waiters, pool waitresses, to towel boys, everyone asked again and again if we were comfortable or if we needed anything. A pleasant smile and a warm greeting were all around. Now on to the room. It was clean, spacious, and well-maintained. The view was spectacular from a cozy balcony. The pool! Oh the pool! Large, clean, surrounded by exotic palm trees, a large jaccuzzi, swim up bar, frequent pool bar service, you name it. For our anniversary we were treated to champagne and chocolate covered strawberries and singing of Happy Anniversary by the pool waitresses. Ah the pool! Breakfast buffet, dinner menu ,both outstanding. The massage at the spa was one of the best my wife ever had anywhere. On the Dutch/French border it is located on the secluded Oyster Bay and soooo peaceful! We plan to return to this paradise of a resort every year. Promise yourself to go and treat yourself to an memorable time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orangeville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just returned October 21st, 2012 from the resort. We did a timeshare exchange for a 3 bedroom unit in the timeshare section of the resort. Looked like the room had been totally redone, furniture, lights, decoration, 3 flat screens, all looked brand new. A beautiful room, I must say, now whether or not they are all like this, I can't say, but we certainly were fortunate. Our family of 6 really enjoyed our stay here, in spite of the rainy weather the first day, tail end of Raphael, but each day got better and better. We rented a car, which was a necessity, for staying at this resort. Although it was a piece out, we enjoyed the peace and isolation, even though every day after beach time we explored a different part of the island. After a couple days in the towns/cities, shopping etc, it was nice to get away and not have to stay in a resort in that area. The staff were extremely friendly and handled all of our requests and even volunteered to do extra errands for us. Did not eat at resort restaurant, as we had breakfast in our unit every day and headed out to the local family run restaurants and lolos for dinner and brought back extra to eat later on in the evening. Why are we always so hungry on vacations?! The beach was great for us, clean sand and a bit wavy, and in spite of that, water was clean, but we liked that. Some mornings we had the entire beach to ourselves. Yes there are timeshare salespersons, but a polite no thank you, does the trick and after a week there, we were not even bothered at all. There was no pressure at all. Do not know what the lottery thing was, but did notice people trying to wave us down at the top of the hill, but we just smiled and drove on as we saw them every day. Driving was an experience in itself, yet once you get used to it, it kind of grows on you, just take your time and be as polite driving as most of the people are, and you will be fine. With all of the speed bumps, pot holes, you can't go fast anyhow. I was very nervous about renting a car in the first place, but luckily, found a great agent, and it was not as bad as I though it was going to be. Naturally just finding your way around the first time is the hardest part, but then after that, it is easier. The unknown always makes it more stressful than it really is. As for the resort itself, my only suggestion for the triple room timeshares, would be to have two doubles instead of another king in one of the rooms, that would help sleeping arrangements considerably for larger families. I had read about the sofa bed in the third room, but we had a full queen bed. I think we really lucked out. Due to the sexes of our older kids, they even brought up a nice cot for us to use, which we set up in the living behind the two sofas. I have travelled a fair bit to many countries throughout the world, and I must say , that the people of this island are the most friendly that I have ever encountered. They are so willing to provide directions, tell you the best places to eat, swim and shop and help you out. On several occasions they even walked us to our "hard to find" restaurants and back to our car afterwards, now that is hospitality at its best. We had an amazing vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charleston, sc
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Beautiful hotel, great location and great service. However...they really try to push the time shares. We were confronted with a scratch off lottery ticket three times when entering the parking garage (different times throughout the day). Then again down the street in two different locations. That is 5 times in the matter of a day. One person will win then the other will not to make it seem legit. Then they tell you that you win one of three prizes but in actuality, everyone wins a stay in Mexico at some random non- westin property. On a side note, the hotel ran my credit card twice for room charges even though I paid before we got there. The restaurant was good, not great. The pool was pretty amazing. The staff were very friendly. Our room was really nice.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

this property is a very nice size property and has some pretty nice amenities. You can tell it's been renovated, but they did a decent job with it. the pool is the best feature for sure! they put a lot into it. it's very picturesque. the drinks are "ok" - they're not bad. the restaurant lacks options/variety. the property isnt close to anything so i expect the activities to be plentiful!

if you spend most of your time outside in the pool area or off property, you'll be fine. it cost a pretty penny to travel to the other hot spots on the island. if this property were near the port or the french side beaches, it would so be worth it! if you want the isolation and casino, you might like this property. the beach has a lot of rock and vegetation that washes up and in the shoreline, so it's not the best of beaches. you'll do better in the main/tourist bay or the french side, again. it's kinda centrally located between some major activity points, but that's based upon what you wanna do. it's a pretty property. rooms are nice. i wouldnt fight to stay at this property. the gift shop is expensive (but what hotel gift shop isnt).

Overall - there's not much to say about it other than it's a good looking property and professional staffing. i guess it just lacks excitement or the option for fun. it's located between fun areas, so that's a good deal, but know you will have to travel to do anything other than the pool area as the beach ocean access isnt a place you want to swim. There are other places that are better for swimming.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

As a Platinum member of the Starwood program, I have a considerable experience of Starwood properties and 5 star hotels.
My first impression when arriving in my room was : thats all ?
From a Westin resort in the Caribbean you expect something amazing, but this is not the case.
Rooms, despite being recently renovated, are oldish and with dusty carpet.
The bathrooms are still not renovated (at least my room) and really in need of a new shower/bathtub.
The general atmosphere is that something is missing. Very little charme around and things kept at minimum.
One of the issues of my stay was the total lack of umbrellas in pool area. You can rent a cabana for about 57 USD. Rumors go that they dont put umbrellas in order to rent the cabanas. Thats pretty silly, if that would be true and they are endangering customers´health since the sun is very strong at this latitude.
I encoouraged the management to put umbrellas asap and to get rid of the rusty white chairs around the pool.
The stuff did not show any enthusiasm and was pretty slow, but this is clearly the pace of the Caribbean, you dont want New York style stress down there.
We suggest, for the well being of Westin customers, to get rid of the time share people that harass, from the entrance till the pool area, all the customers. There is a time share office, they should just use it, thats it. This is up to the Westin management, so they should sohw they care for their customers.
As said, overall experience was positive, food is quite ok and not overpriced.
The bar at the pool is attracting as a bar at a bus station : no plants, no fruits, no lights, just random empty bottles and cans around.
How about the resort fee ?? usually you have this only on some very unusual places or islands, where local governments require a fee. Not the case here. St. Maarten doesnt seem to be in this category. So why this fee ?
No complaints about the breakfast, a good variety of food and really yummy.
My wife and me do not exclude to come back here again but the Westin management should look at the details to make a typical Westin experience true.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Address: 144 Oyster Pond Road, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#8 Spa Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#16 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful Caribbean beaches, The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten offers guests a true getaway. Scuba dive, take a ferry to Anguilla for the day, or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Starwood, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort And Spa, St. Maarten
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Westin St Maarten Martin
St Maarten Martin Westin
Westin St Martin
Westin St. Maarten/St. Martin
St. Maarten/St. Martin Westin
Westin St Maarten Dawn Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.