We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Save Saved
You added The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   144 Oyster Pond Road, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Greenville, SC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We just finished two weeks at the Westin at Dawn Beach and we loved it. For one of the weeks our son, his wife, and our grandson (age 7) stayed with us. Everyone had a great time. Are the prices a little high? Sure, but you are at a Westin in St. Maarten - everything costs more here! We found the beach to be fabulous and the pool very good also. The staff on the beach and around the pool were very helpful and always cheerful. My wife loves the "Heavenly Bed" that Westin is famous for. The beach, unlike the area near Oyster Bay at the other end of Dawn Beach, has plenty of sand and lots of loungers. A few tips; If you go to the beach stay to the left side because groups from cruise ships are brought to the right side and that area can sometimes get crowded. Also, if you are at the resort with children make sure to take in Pirate's Night at Oceans Restaurant for the good food and entertainment. If you rent a car, and I suggest that you do, you might consider Prestige since they have an agent at the hotel.

My wife and I stayed here before the grand opening years ago and we have visited without staying since then. It seemed like they were having a hard time getting things going at times. But it appears that everything is falling into place now and the Westin is a wonderful place. We plan to return

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    418
    412
    202
    91
    93
See reviews for
251
616
28
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Itasca, Illinois
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I have to say that this was one of the BEST trips i have taken with my wife, and we travel all the time mainly in and around the Caribbean. Service was outstanding , staff was very friendly. The pool was relaxing and the beach was also beautiful. When i come back to St. Maarten , i will be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012 via mobile

I have been a loyal Westin customer for some time. We as a family enjoy staying at Westin resorts in Puerto Rico, and hotels in Rhode Island and NYC. Though we have before frequented the Westin Dawn Beach and like its nice, snorkeling area, on this stay many things were different.

Namely, the VERY pushy timeshare folks. First, they have a scratch card game to lure people in off the street (a practice deemed illegal in the US), and then promise big gifts for touring the timeshares. If these timeshare folks are not part of the Westin, they sure represent themselves as such. Moreover, even out on the street, accosting unsuspecting cars, they are the 'face' of the Westin brand and it's a disservice. Watch out.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is a scenic, beautiful property that my family and I enjoy once a year. Not once have I ever had even a negative experience here. Every door is held open for us. Every chair is pulled out for you when you sit down. Your napkin is placed on your lap. When you come back to your room after dinner, the lights are dimmed and your bed is turned down. The pool is constantly being cleaned, and the pool attendants change your towels out for you if you are outside all day. The food is incredibly delicious, and we prefer to only eat at the hotel. Best of all, I always leave here feeling relaxed, which is not always the case when I travel. People respect your privacy, yet are eager to serve. I am looking forward to our trip again this summer!

Room Tip: Nothing is more relaxing than an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

When we checked in I was surprised because I thought the hotel was non-smoking. The smell of cigarettes and cigars was the very first thing I noticed about the hotel! While we were checking in, I noticed a gentleman in the casino (located in the middle of the lobby) enjoying his cigar. Our room smelled also so the hotel is NOT a non-smoking facility. The front desk staff were nice, but almost every other person working at the hotel had a miserable attitude - lacking in customer service is a giant understatement. And the food was terrible. Worst of all however, were the rooms. DIRTY! We had to ask for clean sheets because the bed didn't look clean. I won't go into details. The "clean" sheets they brought up had been stepped on by someone's work shoe. The shower was covered in mildew, and the glass shower doors hadn't been cleaned. The toilet still had memories of the prior resident (don't really know how to list that problem). There was something on the wall by the toilet that I can't think too much about. The hand mirror on the bathroom counter was covered in fingerprints and the countertop hadn't been wiped down. There was hair on the floor. There were coffee splatters on the counter that could have easily been removed. I honestly thought the room hadn't been cleaned, except for the fact that all trash cans were empty and the bed was made. This was sincerely the most disgusting Westin I have ever seen. The hotel is still billed as new, but it appears old, dated and not well maintained. We were also here for a conference. Otherwise, we would have definitely stayed somewhere else. Stay somewhere else!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We have been to the Westin Dawn Beach twice, both times on school vacation weeks with our families. It is windy, but we love the wind and waves!! There is a casino which we knew ahead of time and when is a casino beautiful if you basically don't like casinos???? So who cares?? We ignored it and were slightly amused by it.
The property is kept immaculately clean, especially the outdoors. Yes, the room carpets need to be changed, as mentioned in other reviews.
The staff was always very helpful and attentive. The food is OK. The best part of this Westin is the pool and beach. As long as you rent a car, it's a great location to get to other parts of the island.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

On the 23rd of February I had the displeasure to visit the Westin Dawn Bay Resort and Spa in St. Maarten. I was part of a group of Cruise Ship passengers who payed in advance to spend a day at this property. The tour was supposed to include lunch at the pool side deli as well as free drinks and use of all "non motorized" beach equipment.

First of all, my wife and I sat down at one of the pool side tables and attempted to get the attention of one of the overwhelmed servers. After approximately 30 minutes our order was taken....the food took 1 hour and 30 minutes to arrive...so 2 out of our 3 hours excursion were spent waiting for our food. Secondly, I went to get some snorkeling equipment and was told that it cost $10.00......it was supposed to be included! Anyway, we left frustrated and angry....would not recommend this resort at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

Also Known As:
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten Hotel
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort And Spa, St. Maarten
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Westin St Maarten Martin
Westin St Maarten
St Maarten Martin Westin
Westin St Martin
Westin St. Maarten/St. Martin
St. Maarten/St. Martin Westin
Westin St Maarten Dawn Beach Resort & Spa
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Address: 144 Oyster Pond Road, St Maarten-St Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#15 On the Beach Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
#16 Romantic Hotel in St Maarten-St Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful Caribbean beaches, The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten offers guests a true getaway. Scuba dive, take a ferry to Anguilla for the day, or just relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Amex, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Starwood, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, HotelsClick, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.