We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mullet Bay

Mullet Bay
Mullet Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$37*
and up
St Maarten Half-Day Trip to Orient and Maho Beach
Type: Beaches, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great blue ocean, and I personally loved the waves (probably not for kids). Bunch of people surfing and lots of people relaxing/drinking on the beach.

One knock against it is that it wasn't very clean - LOTS of cigarette butts (Europeans smoke nonstop it seems) and some trash. I definitely miss it!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    178
    41
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Crazy Big Waves”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Looks like we caught this beach on a rough day. The waves were huge, kids were being knocked over. It was crowded and tour boats would drop off groups of folks. Also some topless dancers in thongs were walking around the beach encouraging guest to visit their club.
The view would be great if less people were around. The end with no chairs is nice. If you go bring your own chair of a big towel for some quiet and privacy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Gorgeous gorgeous beach, beautiful blue water, but very big surf the day we were there. My nephew actually lost a contact rolling around in the waves. It would be too much for smaller children. I wish we had been there a day when the water was calmer, but you can't control the weather....

We arrived in the morning and it was not crowded - we were able to rent 2 chairs and an umbrella for $15 right near Rosie's. Beer was $2. The ladies we spoke with who were working at Rosie's were all very, very friendly. Not much for bathroom facilities... only a port-a-potty that they charge you $1 to unlock. Easy walk over to Maho Beach to see the airplanes later in the day.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Intense waves”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful beach but the waves were too strong for the kids to go in the water. Very quiet and there are beach chairs and umbrellas to rent for about 30$ a day.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful! Great sand and blue water -- not so crowded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We walked here after watching a few planes land at Maho. My first reaction was, "Ah, much better!" We were hungry, so got ribs & chicken at Rosie's right there on the beach. All the ladies were very friendly & helpful. They also made good blender drinks.
We walked a ways down the beach where it was less crowded. The sand is so soft and clean! The water was crystal clear, & so blue!
The ladies at Rosie's called us a cab to get back to the cruise terminal. We will return someday!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mullet Bay also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to Mullet Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mullet Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.