We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where else would you get this?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maho Beach

Maho Beach
Maho Bay, 3550-147, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Visit Maho Beach like an insider
Top Rated
$35*
and up
St Maarten Half-Day Trip to Orient and Maho Beach
Activities: Gambling, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the end of Maho Bay and also very close to the airport where airplanes fly right above the beach.
Leigh-on-Sea
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Where else would you get this?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Maho beach and the Sunset Grill & Bar are worth the visit - even if it's just to get the buzz from the planes. Through talking to a number of people, it's relatively cheap to get to from anywhere on the island.
Despite this being a tourist trap, the drinks and meals at the Sunset bar are good value - so go see what makes this a 'should visit' location!.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,088
    569
    180
    34
    27
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great to view planes - that's about it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

It was very crowded and chaotic when we were there. Very cool to watch the planes land and take off but I would not come here for anything else.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Would skip this unless you really love planes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We walked here from the airport when waiting for our departing flight (Monday mid day). It was cool to see the planes taking off and landing, but it was extremely crowded on both the beach and at Sunset restaurant. Would not have wanted to spend more time here than we did (just lunch).

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Loved the planes and the waves!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We hung out for the day here - took the $1.50 bus from Simpson Bay and 10 minutes later we were lying on a beach lounger! For a mere $10 a guy will rent you the lounger for the day and you get a free water, soda, beer, or rum punch with it! He even goes to get it for you from the neighboring bar. What a deal. The planes are unreal. It's so cool to see them so close. And the waves here are fantastic! I think it would be god snorkeling too as I saw a lot of people doing it and my daughter saw a lobster without even having snorkeling gear on! For food, a great place adjoins the beach (where the guy gets your drinks) it is not the huge one but the one on the other side. I think it is called: "Beach something...Beach Grill? Not sure...Anyway they have the BEST lamb shwarma (like donner / gyro) for $6. Loved everything!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Love Airplanes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is our 2nd trip to Maho Beach and our trip was excellent! The beach is beautiful and we love the Sunset Grill.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maho Beach also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to Maho Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maho Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.