We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - A lot to Love and Hate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maho Beach

Maho Beach
Maho Bay, 3550-147, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$37*
and up
St Maarten Half-Day Trip to Orient and Maho Beach
Type: Neighborhoods, Beaches, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Shopping, Gambling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the end of Maho Bay and also very close to the airport where airplanes fly right above the beach.
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Wow - A lot to Love and Hate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Maho beach is an experience like no other. It is a mix of sun, sand, water and danger. Maho beach sits at the end of the runway in St Maarten, on normal days it is not too crowded, but on cruise ship days it gets crazy. The beach is not that big and fairly narrow, it has beach bars on both ends (with really good prices - Carib $2). But the middle is the danger zone, planes of all sizes land and takeoff from the middle of the beach. All of the planes are fun to watch land from anywhere on the beach, but takeoff is another story. If a large jet starts down the runway to takeoff......run to the ends of the beach, with your stuff. Otherwise you might be swimming for it. A lot of people think it is cool to stand right behind the jets during takeoff, but I would not recommend it. It was fun to watch, but the flying sand really hurts. Thanks Maho for the fun times.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    407
    128
    23
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

very small beach area, Part of it is right next to the airport so planes constantly landing which gives great views but shortens beach availability. Water very clean, I went snorkeling, Nice waves not too rough.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pretty cool to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Cool to see the planes coming in right over your head. When planes take off the wind pushes you into the ocean...after about an hour here the jet fuel gets to you though.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

A great party atmosphere, watching planes come in and some hanging on the fence when the planes take off.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience! Have to see it to believe it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I came here for one day by cruise ship, so time was limited to about 7 hours ashore. I had previously come to st. maarten for a week in dec/2008 and by cruise ship in mar/2011, so I do enjoy coming each time to the dutch part of the island. We got off the ship at around 10 am, took a 20 minute taxi ride to the beach, and came just in time to see a small plane land. A warning to people, there is no chairs or loungers on the beach, unless you go over to the shaded bar area, so I suggest you bring a blanket or large towel to place your belongings on. Right away when you enter the beach, there is a warning sign to all saying that it is your own risk as you can be seriously injured that can lead to fatality. After we settled on the beach, we went swimming in the ocean, but the waves around all of st. maarten, doesn't matter where, are rough. Many people started to go swimming while waiting for planes to land or take off, and the waves were getting bigger and bigger, however many found this amusing and stayed in the water. A few more smaller planes arrived, nothing too fascinating, until an American Airlines larger flight was about to take off. Everyone got excited and stood patiently watching. As the plane starts its engines and prepares for take off any minute, all the smell from the fuel blows on to the beach. Finally as the flight takes off, it made a large wind, throwing around sand, which can hurt badly if you are in the wrong place. I suggest being on the side, where you can still get a good view, but not getting badly hurt by sand. As everyone was looking in awe, everyone's belongings flew into the water, so we had to run after it. I suggest keeping something heavy on your belongings so they don't fly away. There is a bar right beside the besch as well as a few resorts, and a taxi area. If you walk over to the bar area, there is a schedule of when flights are due to land. Of course everyone waits impatiently for a large plane to arrive, many don't come in until mid afternoon. We waited until 1:45 pm for a Royal Dutch KLM flight, most likely from Amsterdam, Netherlands. It was a fascinating experience watching that flight come in, and I suggest people to come to the beach to watch that, and go swimming as the water is beautiful. If you are arriving by cruise ship, make sure you balance your time, as your long taxi rides from the pier can be delayed by traffic and construction. I will likely return one day again to watch this neat experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maho Beach also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Maho Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maho Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.