We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maho Beach

Maho Beach
Maho Bay, 3550-147, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$44*
and up
St-Martin and St Maarten: Sightseeing Tour of the...
Type: Neighborhoods, Beaches, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Shopping, Gambling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the end of Maho Bay and also very close to the airport where airplanes fly right above the beach.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

very small beach area, Part of it is right next to the airport so planes constantly landing which gives great views but shortens beach availability. Water very clean, I went snorkeling, Nice waves not too rough.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    809
    428
    135
    24
    23
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pretty cool to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Cool to see the planes coming in right over your head. When planes take off the wind pushes you into the ocean...after about an hour here the jet fuel gets to you though.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

A great party atmosphere, watching planes come in and some hanging on the fence when the planes take off.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience! Have to see it to believe it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I came here for one day by cruise ship, so time was limited to about 7 hours ashore. I had previously come to st. maarten for a week in dec/2008 and by cruise ship in mar/2011, so I do enjoy coming each time to the dutch part of the island. We got off the ship at around 10 am, took a 20 minute taxi ride to the beach, and came just in time to see a small plane land. A warning to people, there is no chairs or loungers on the beach, unless you go over to the shaded bar area, so I suggest you bring a blanket or large towel to place your belongings on. Right away when you enter the beach, there is a warning sign to all saying that it is your own risk as you can be seriously injured that can lead to fatality. After we settled on the beach, we went swimming in the ocean, but the waves around all of st. maarten, doesn't matter where, are rough. Many people started to go swimming while waiting for planes to land or take off, and the waves were getting bigger and bigger, however many found this amusing and stayed in the water. A few more smaller planes arrived, nothing too fascinating, until an American Airlines larger flight was about to take off. Everyone got excited and stood patiently watching. As the plane starts its engines and prepares for take off any minute, all the smell from the fuel blows on to the beach. Finally as the flight takes off, it made a large wind, throwing around sand, which can hurt badly if you are in the wrong place. I suggest being on the side, where you can still get a good view, but not getting badly hurt by sand. As everyone was looking in awe, everyone's belongings flew into the water, so we had to run after it. I suggest keeping something heavy on your belongings so they don't fly away. There is a bar right beside the besch as well as a few resorts, and a taxi area. If you walk over to the bar area, there is a schedule of when flights are due to land. Of course everyone waits impatiently for a large plane to arrive, many don't come in until mid afternoon. We waited until 1:45 pm for a Royal Dutch KLM flight, most likely from Amsterdam, Netherlands. It was a fascinating experience watching that flight come in, and I suggest people to come to the beach to watch that, and go swimming as the water is beautiful. If you are arriving by cruise ship, make sure you balance your time, as your long taxi rides from the pier can be delayed by traffic and construction. I will likely return one day again to watch this neat experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Area
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“A different experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Sorry to see the poor review on 2/22/2013. Research would have shown before their trip as to what to expect. Lovers of aviation will need to do this beach at least just once.

Not much of a beach for sunbathers, but the aircraft coming and going is what draws visitors from around the globe.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maho Beach also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to Maho Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maho Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.