We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but unique beach in St Martin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maho Beach

Maho Beach
Maho Bay, 3550-147, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Visit Maho Beach like an insider
Top Rated
$35*
and up
St Maarten Half-Day Trip to Orient and Maho Beach
Activities: Shopping, Gambling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the end of Maho Bay and also very close to the airport where airplanes fly right above the beach.
Richardson, Texas
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Small but unique beach in St Martin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I recommend a quick stop at Maho Bay beach and enjoy watching the aircraft landing overhead at the Juliana Airport runway. It's one of those places that you have to experience on this island! Its a very small beach and parking is limited. I recommend that you try to be there around noon when all of the big planes arrive from the US.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,063
    558
    177
    33
    24
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
516 helpful votes 516 helpful votes
“An entertaining beach, worth visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have been several times at Maho Beach, and it is never boring. You can sit at the bar, lay down on the beach, swim in the ocean... and all that while watching planes of all sorts landing at Princess Juliana International Airport. Really, really cool place worth spending some time on!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Top Contributor
461 reviews 461 reviews
129 attraction reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
321 helpful votes 321 helpful votes
“One of the most unique aviation experiences in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

It's not so much about the beach, but more about the fact that runway 10 at Princess Juliana International Airport ends about 500ft from the beach. The airplane approach to this runway is the most photographed approach to any runway in the world. A 100% of the people visiting this beach or sitting in the bar are here for two things, watching airplanes land and people getting knockdown by wake turbulence. Airplanes can't be lower than 500ft over the beach, but some are and that's what makes this a unique experiences. Runway 10 is only 7546 ft long, so pilots have to land in the touchdown zone at the end of the runway, especially the wide-body aircraft, if they over shoot it, they may not be able to slow the aircraft down in time and they could go off the other end of this runway. This is why the large aircraft are low, because they are shooting for this touch down zone. A word of caution, stand off to the side of the center line of the runway because the blowing sand caused by wake turbulence can be dangerous to your eyes and cameras. It also interesting just watching the people on the beach looking at these aircraft landing. It's a uniquely interesting experience and worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fun Place to Spend the Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Since the St. Maarten airport was featured as one of the craziest airports in the world - Hubby and I decided to venture out there on our day in town off the Norwegian Gem. From the port, we took a taxi with others to Maho Beach ($9 per person). Originally we were thinking of getting into Philipsburg on our own and take a bus as others have suggested on travel forums - but we were very glad we ended up just taking taxi because it was so much easier.

We rented the beach chairs ($10 each) from Sunset Bar & Grill and just hungout under the sun all day watching planes come in. Morning were mostly commuter plans - the 747 don't come in till midday and early afternoons. It was very cool to see the big planes coming in and taking off - we didn't see anyone holding onto the fences while planes were taking off. But we did see plenty of people and things thrown into the ocean when the 747s were taking off.

So make sure you park yourselves at the sides of the beaches not right behind the runway! We then went to Sunset Bar & Grill for lunch - had the BBQ ribs - they were FANTASTIC! It was very easy to get a taxi back to the ship afterwards.

Overall, it was a very fun day to spend the day in St. Maarten.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A beach with entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

A nice little beach, full of people watching the planes come and go. Sunset beach bar next door for a great burger, close to the airport, and a little boat bar on the other side with amazing pizza. If you made it this far, you have to check it out!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maho Beach also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to Maho Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maho Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.