We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinel Island

Pinel Island
Orient Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Beaches, Islands
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Topless optional
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ottawa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Do not miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Had a great day at the beach
We rented kayaks from Caribbean paddling in Cul de sac
It took us about 20 mins to get to Pinel
We rented chairs and umbrella
We walked to the other side of the island very different from the side we landed on
It was a very relaxing day .
Do not miss this wonderful little island
Scott & John
Ottawa

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    198
    57
    25
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice day trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed seeing the island & the chance to snorkel. However the beach was not that nice because of all the sea grass & algae. The food nearby was good but overpriced. Preferred beaches on the main island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We loved heading here for lunch. The boat ride was about $7 each with return. We ate at Karibuni and had the best curried conch I have ever had. The drinks were great, although the prices were a bit high. Make sure you make the 5pm boat back to Saint Martin.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great little Pinel Island beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

From 'Cul de Sac' it is an easy ten-minute boat ride ($7 return) & a very relaxing day. Last year's favourite restaurant (beach chairs/umbrellas), 'Up on the Key', has closed & is now called 'Yellow Beach'. Chairs cost $10 (includes 1 umbrella for two chairs). Food on the expensive side & no free drinks! Two clean flush toilets. Very shallow water makes for easy family swimming. A ten-minute walk takes you across to the Atlantic side with very nice beach but no facilities & quite rocky. Considered better for snorkelling. The last boat back leaves at 5 pm

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful, shallow water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This would be a great place for kids, as it is so shallow and calm. We plan to bring ours here, next year!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinel Island also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Cul de Sac, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Pinel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinel Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.