We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice day trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pinel Island

Pinel Island
Orient Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Visit Pinel Island like an insider
Top Rated
$109*
and up
St Maarten Speed Boat and Snorkeling Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Topless optional
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nice day trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed seeing the island & the chance to snorkel. However the beach was not that nice because of all the sea grass & algae. The food nearby was good but overpriced. Preferred beaches on the main island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    256
    83
    34
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exton, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We loved heading here for lunch. The boat ride was about $7 each with return. We ate at Karibuni and had the best curried conch I have ever had. The drinks were great, although the prices were a bit high. Make sure you make the 5pm boat back to Saint Martin.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great little Pinel Island beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

From 'Cul de Sac' it is an easy ten-minute boat ride ($7 return) & a very relaxing day. Last year's favourite restaurant (beach chairs/umbrellas), 'Up on the Key', has closed & is now called 'Yellow Beach'. Chairs cost $10 (includes 1 umbrella for two chairs). Food on the expensive side & no free drinks! Two clean flush toilets. Very shallow water makes for easy family swimming. A ten-minute walk takes you across to the Atlantic side with very nice beach but no facilities & quite rocky. Considered better for snorkelling. The last boat back leaves at 5 pm

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful, shallow water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This would be a great place for kids, as it is so shallow and calm. We plan to bring ours here, next year!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
424 helpful votes 424 helpful votes
“Whole Island of St. Maarten/St. Martin Including Isle Pinel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our cruise ship was making a stop at St. Maarten/St. Martin for a day. we booked the "Tiki Beach Island Tour" tour through Island Marketing Ltd. in September 2012 for Wednesday January 30th, 2013. Tour was $69 per person for a 6 1/2 hour tour included: an air-conditioned van, a stop at Simpson Bay to see the mega yachts, a half hour shopping stop at a colorful street market in Margot, a stop at Maho beach to see planes take off, ferry ride to & from Isle Pinel. Reserved lounge chairs, umbrella, snorkel gear and lunch with reserved tables were included. However, if you booked the tour after Oct 1, 2012 - lunch was not included.

Our tour started exactly at 9 AM. with only 4 passengers, so it was almost a private tour! Makesia was our excellent driver and she showed us the whole Island, everything that was noted in the info sent from Island Marketing. We were very impressed that almost every traffic circle had a statue dedicated to historical events in St Maarten's. As we approached Simpson Bay, she pointed out an island that was shrouded in fog - turns out it was Saba Island where they filmed the first "King Kong" with Fay Wray in 1933. Shopping at the Margot street market was interesting, lots of local crafts and clothing. (see photos)

By 11:30 were were on the ferry to Isle Pinel, Makesia made sure we got our lunch - which was a large portion of ribs with french fries. There was so much food, we shared some with a beach bum dog. The other two people in our van ordered a lobster lunch which they got to hand pick from a lobster trap in the water on the beach. (see photo)

Next we went snorkeling at a Nature reserve that was a protected marine park. Just a short walk on a sandy path and you were there. After 3 1/2 glorious hours on the beach we boarded the ferry back to our van and we were returned to the cruise pier by 3:30 PM.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinel Island also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to Pinel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinel Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.