We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pinel Island

Pinel Island
Orient Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Visit Pinel Island like an insider
Top Rated
$109*
and up
St Maarten Speed Boat and Snorkeling Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Topless optional
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sugarloaf, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Pinel Island is a short ferry ride from Cul de Sac. There were plenty of chairs when we arrived in the morning. By noon, the selection was much more limited to plan to arrive early to get your pick. The rental for 2 chairs and umbrella at Yellow Beach was $20, which seems to be the going rate. The water was very calm there. There are even a few tables in the water, a great place to enjoy a drink.

The chairs at Yellow Beach do not lie flat, so you might want to go over to Karabuni if you plan on being there a while or want to lay on your stomach.

Lunch at Karabuni (hamburger, ribs, and fries) were very good. It does get crowded so a reservation is recommended.

Be sure to visit the store on the island. They have a lot of nice things at reasonable prices.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    638
    260
    84
    35
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We took the ferry over (5 minute ride for $7). We rented umbrellas for $25. We ate lunch on the beach. It was a great day. You can bring your own food/drink, but we ate at the restaurant. The water is calm and there are some small trails on the island. Definately worth a day trip. It can get expensive if you rent chairs, eat and drink also, it was well worth it to us!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Bring a packback, water, a hat, and good shoes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a nice little island to visit. There's a good hiking trail around the island but it gets really hot in the center and there is very little shade. Once you get off the landing beach, there is lots to explore. The beach on the north-east side was mostly empty when we arrived but we found the current very strong and the snorkeling not as good as on the reef outside Pedro's on Orient Bay Beach.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wasn't Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Looking back at St Martin is not such a great view; crowded when we were there; service and food OK, pedestrian.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Fun trip with the kids. Only 2 restaurants on the beach. So can get quite expensive. A really great day on the beach with the kids. A lovely 'tree house' to each in. The owners of the restaurant worked really hard to make a beautiful area to dine. Calm waters and sheltered beach.

Fun beach shop there!

We had a wonderful day with the kids.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinel Island also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to Pinel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinel Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.