We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinel Island

Pinel Island
Orient Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Islands
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Topless optional
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Great day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We took the ferry over (5 minute ride for $7). We rented umbrellas for $25. We ate lunch on the beach. It was a great day. You can bring your own food/drink, but we ate at the restaurant. The water is calm and there are some small trails on the island. Definately worth a day trip. It can get expensive if you rent chairs, eat and drink also, it was well worth it to us!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    194
    56
    25
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bring a packback, water, a hat, and good shoes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a nice little island to visit. There's a good hiking trail around the island but it gets really hot in the center and there is very little shade. Once you get off the landing beach, there is lots to explore. The beach on the north-east side was mostly empty when we arrived but we found the current very strong and the snorkeling not as good as on the reef outside Pedro's on Orient Bay Beach.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wasn't Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Looking back at St Martin is not such a great view; crowded when we were there; service and food OK, pedestrian.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Fun trip with the kids. Only 2 restaurants on the beach. So can get quite expensive. A really great day on the beach with the kids. A lovely 'tree house' to each in. The owners of the restaurant worked really hard to make a beautiful area to dine. Calm waters and sheltered beach.

Fun beach shop there!

We had a wonderful day with the kids.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice day trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Spent the day here, nice beach, boat trip was easy and inexpensive ($7 round trip). I really enjoyed the hiking trail around the island, easy walk with some nice views, only took about 30 minutes to hike the entire route.

My only suggestion is to be aware of what you are being charged if you plan to buy anything. I bought two towels and some sunscreen, the towels were buy 2 at a special price but when she told method total she charged m full price for both, she did correct it once I mentioned the error.

The second time we rented 2 chairs and a umbrella for $25 which we paid for upfront, we then had some lunch and drinks, when we asked for the check he had the chairs and umbrella on the check again, when I questioned it he said he was sorry that he gave us the wrong check even though it had the correct food and drink items on it.

This is a nice place to spend the day, just pay attention to charges and you will be fine

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinel Island also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Cul de Sac, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Pinel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinel Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.