We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice and Quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friar's Bay

Friar's Bay
, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$109*
and up
Best St Maarten Speed Boat and Snorkeling Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really nice and Quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Really beautiful beach! Beach had some serious waves when we went and there was a good amount of loose rocks off of the surf! Once u get out there the water was soo nice to float around in.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    75
    23
    14
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely beach and pretty fishes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We loved Friar's bay beach and its lovely cafes. Beach is quite and not very crowded. Locals go there on the weekend. We had our gear and we could even see more fishes than at snorkelling trail in Pinel island! Little reef only a few steps from the beach super easy to reach (right hand side of the beach, close to Friar's Bay Beach Café). Had a chance to see a morena fish! GO GO GO!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
126 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely beach with a nice cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Lovely beach at St. Martin and not as crowded as in the south of the island. With a nice beach side cafe for your lunch and drinks.
Worth the trip and take your swimsuit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scranton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love this beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is an awesome, quiet beach. Not crowded like all the other beaches. Remote and nice. Took a taxi to get there from the ship..

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa,Canada
Level Contributor
230 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great beach, half the time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

FriarMs Bay is a very nice beach, just a coupe of minutes by car from Marigot. We also hiked from Marigot down town to the beach through the hills (one hour). I say it is great half the time because we went there four times. The first two times, the sea was calm and it was a pleasure to get in the water. The other two times, the sea was very rough with huge waves that carried small black stones, which made it much less pleasant.
If you go on a good day, it will be great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friar's Bay also viewed

St. Maarten-St. Martin, Caribbean
Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 
St. Maarten-St. Martin, Caribbean
Quartier D'Orleans, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Friar's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friar's Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.