We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baie Rouge

Baie Rouge
French St Maarten, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

So Nice!! Hidden off of a windy road, this is one beach you need to see! The ocean here is very calm. It is easy to swim out pretty far around the coast to see the amazing rock cliffs that have been there for ever! Bring your camera. This beach has 2 beach bars that compete with one another, located side by side. Food is pretty good. Chairs and umbrellas are $15 and well worth it. Super relaxing and picaresque views!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    65
    25
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Baie Rouge beach remains beautiful, but the attitude at Chez Raymond disappoints”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Have been to this beach several times over the last few years and always enjoyed the experience, including having lunch at Chez Raymond. This time the food was good but the waiter had too much attitude and didn't seem very interested in treating women customers as well as the men were treated. We were very disappointed and cancelled our plans to return the following day.

Sexism isnt good business and I will spend my money elsewhere where I don't receive inferior, dismissive and rude service solely because of my gender.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic Beach with unique atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We fell in love with Baie Rouge, it is uncommon to any other beach in St-Martin! Relaxed atmosphere. Big waves, big fun! Sunbeds and umbrellas to rent. Staff very friendly. Sand is a bit more stoney than at other beaches (and sticky as well!). Tip: Avoid the hamburger/hot dogs/cheeseburgers and try the fish sandwich with bbq'd mahi mahi at Raymond beach bar, probably the best snack we had around the island!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful and not to crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was a fun beach on the French side just south of Marigot. Parking is limited but the beach wasn't as busy as some of the other beaches that are closer to the hotels and restaurants. There are a few small restaurants/bbq stands to order food and beverages from. There are chairs and umbrella's available for rent for $15/pair. The sand is a coarse, coral sand and the waves can get pretty big.. It was fun to body surf as the big waves came in.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Very nice beach, but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I visited eight beaches in seven days on St. Martin. The reason we went to eight instead of seven was our visit to Baie Rouge. When we got to the parking lot for Baie Rouge, we looked for a place to change into bathing suits. The only place was an outhouse that was more than a bit grungy. I am not picky, but this wasn't to our liking. Also, if you are going to stay at a beach for a day, it is good to have a reasonable restroom to visit.

We did look around the beach before we left. You can read the rest of the reviews for Baie Rouge. The beach is truly beautiful. It is small, but that can be a plus. At the time we were there, there was renovation to the places to eat, and as others pointed out, the chairs and umbrellas being rented were the worst on the island.

A really interesting point about Baie Rouge is that it is in the island's richest neighborhood, Terres Basses, which has houses, or rather estates costing in the many tens of millions. However, they are all gated, and you can't see them from the streets. However, by taking a short walk on the beach, you can see a few of them. This is the unique thing about the beach at Baie Rouge.

There are many things that need fixing on St. Martin. The streets and roads need street signs so you can tell where you are on the map. The massive pot holes are everywhere and they need to be filled. The island's vast population of poor folks offer a way to get this done rather inexpensively. Signs need to be erected on the exits from each of the many roundabouts to let you know where each is leading to. And the facilities on Baie Rouge need to be brought up to minimal standards. To find that Baie Rouge, which exists in the richest neighborhood on St. Martin, has such poor facilities was a real surprise. However, the fact that it is beautiful, and small, and not so crowded, still render it worth visiting. Just wear your bathing suit to the beach, or be willing to change into it in your car.

Please note that this review is not a complaint. It is a comment. We thoroughly enjoyed our week on the island, and we are looking forward to returning. Putting up with some easily fixable negative aspects of the island is not a reason to stay away.

By the way, you need a rental car if you really want to see the island in a week. But as others have pointed out, some of the rental car agencies are problematic. This has been written about quite often. They point out small scratches or other things which you didn't think were big enough to note on when you did your inspection of the car. When this happens, there is really no way out. You need to get to the airport, so you just pay it, and you learn a lesson. Luckily, there is a way to avoid this. Check into the rental agencies ahead of time. We rented from Hertz. There were no problems with our rental at Hertz. I figure that I may have paid a bit more for a relatively nice car from a reputable organization than by renting a "Rent A Wreck" from a LOLO, but it was money well spent.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baie Rouge also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Anse Marcel, Saint-Martin
 
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to Baie Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baie Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.