We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baie Rouge beach remains beautiful, but the attitude at Chez Raymond disappoints” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baie Rouge

Baie Rouge
French St Maarten, St Maarten-St Martin
Improve this listing
Visit Baie Rouge like an insider
Special Offer
$98*
and up
St Maarten Shore Excursion: Rock 'n Roll Snorkel...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Baie Rouge beach remains beautiful, but the attitude at Chez Raymond disappoints”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Have been to this beach several times over the last few years and always enjoyed the experience, including having lunch at Chez Raymond. This time the food was good but the waiter had too much attitude and didn't seem very interested in treating women customers as well as the men were treated. We were very disappointed and cancelled our plans to return the following day.

Sexism isnt good business and I will spend my money elsewhere where I don't receive inferior, dismissive and rude service solely because of my gender.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    76
    31
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic Beach with unique atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We fell in love with Baie Rouge, it is uncommon to any other beach in St-Martin! Relaxed atmosphere. Big waves, big fun! Sunbeds and umbrellas to rent. Staff very friendly. Sand is a bit more stoney than at other beaches (and sticky as well!). Tip: Avoid the hamburger/hot dogs/cheeseburgers and try the fish sandwich with bbq'd mahi mahi at Raymond beach bar, probably the best snack we had around the island!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful and not to crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was a fun beach on the French side just south of Marigot. Parking is limited but the beach wasn't as busy as some of the other beaches that are closer to the hotels and restaurants. There are a few small restaurants/bbq stands to order food and beverages from. There are chairs and umbrella's available for rent for $15/pair. The sand is a coarse, coral sand and the waves can get pretty big.. It was fun to body surf as the big waves came in.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Very nice beach, but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I visited eight beaches in seven days on St. Martin. The reason we went to eight instead of seven was our visit to Baie Rouge. When we got to the parking lot for Baie Rouge, we looked for a place to change into bathing suits. The only place was an outhouse that was more than a bit grungy. I am not picky, but this wasn't to our liking. Also, if you are going to stay at a beach for a day, it is good to have a reasonable restroom to visit.

We did look around the beach before we left. You can read the rest of the reviews for Baie Rouge. The beach is truly beautiful. It is small, but that can be a plus. At the time we were there, there was renovation to the places to eat, and as others pointed out, the chairs and umbrellas being rented were the worst on the island.

A really interesting point about Baie Rouge is that it is in the island's richest neighborhood, Terres Basses, which has houses, or rather estates costing in the many tens of millions. However, they are all gated, and you can't see them from the streets. However, by taking a short walk on the beach, you can see a few of them. This is the unique thing about the beach at Baie Rouge.

There are many things that need fixing on St. Martin. The streets and roads need street signs so you can tell where you are on the map. The massive pot holes are everywhere and they need to be filled. The island's vast population of poor folks offer a way to get this done rather inexpensively. Signs need to be erected on the exits from each of the many roundabouts to let you know where each is leading to. And the facilities on Baie Rouge need to be brought up to minimal standards. To find that Baie Rouge, which exists in the richest neighborhood on St. Martin, has such poor facilities was a real surprise. However, the fact that it is beautiful, and small, and not so crowded, still render it worth visiting. Just wear your bathing suit to the beach, or be willing to change into it in your car.

Please note that this review is not a complaint. It is a comment. We thoroughly enjoyed our week on the island, and we are looking forward to returning. Putting up with some easily fixable negative aspects of the island is not a reason to stay away.

By the way, you need a rental car if you really want to see the island in a week. But as others have pointed out, some of the rental car agencies are problematic. This has been written about quite often. They point out small scratches or other things which you didn't think were big enough to note on when you did your inspection of the car. When this happens, there is really no way out. You need to get to the airport, so you just pay it, and you learn a lesson. Luckily, there is a way to avoid this. Check into the rental agencies ahead of time. We rented from Hertz. There were no problems with our rental at Hertz. I figure that I may have paid a bit more for a relatively nice car from a reputable organization than by renting a "Rent A Wreck" from a LOLO, but it was money well spent.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Serene, beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

A long sandy, gorgeous beach with calm aqua water. There are two beach bars and a lolo at the beach and chairs and umbrellas for rent. For the more adventurous, wander farther down the beach for areas where nude and topless sunbathing is acceptable. A long walk down the beach allows you to see the waterfront entrances to a few amazing beach mansions in the area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baie Rouge also viewed

St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
 
St Maarten-St Martin, Caribbean
Saint-Martin, St Maarten-St Martin
 

Been to Baie Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baie Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.